Thrums Edinburgh

3

14-15 Minto Street, Edinburgh, EH9 1RQ

Price From 107.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (9)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • s counsell

  • January 2015

New year we city

The hotel was perfect for is, somewhere clean and specious to rest our heads after busy days exploring, around a 30 minute walk to the centre but for just 1.50 you can catch any 10 minute bus journey.

I would highly recommend a stay at the thrums

  • Lynn S

  • August 2014

Central and quirky!

A quirky hotel.

We had a good sized comfortable room. Had problems with the temperature of the shower for which we were given a reduction in price as a gesture of good will. Excellent location, city centre walkable.

  • K Furlong

  • August 2014

Helpful Staff

My stay at the The Thrums covered 4 nights.

It is ideally situated to the South of the city - close enough to access offices, restaurants and shops but far away enough to offer a relaxing environment. There is a small amount of road noise, but not enough to disturb me. The room I had was huge and the standards of cleanliness were very good. The room was well equipped and the bed comfortable.

I have marked down the standard of the room however, as I was not and am still not convinced of the locking system used. The same key is used for the front door, and your room door. Some would call me paranoid about my safety...however even when the gent on reception assured me that only my key would unlock my hotel room door, I was still not convinced and as a result I slept poorly during my stay. I would have been much happier with a chain or additional lock for my door (or if I'd been brave enough to try my key in another room door to see if it opened!). Due to my being unconvinced about the lock, when my business trip was extended, I chose to book a different hotel. However, if you are happy with the locks (or understand that it does actually work, which I don't!) then it is a great hotel. The gentleman on reception was more than helpful, delivering breakfast to my room early in the morning as I was up and out each day before breakfast began - excellent service and he catered to my diet needs perfectly (vegetarian, but lactose intolerant also).

  • George B

  • June 2014

The worst place to stay in Edinburgh

As soon as we arrived at Thrums we realised we had made a big mistake and immediately told them we did not wish to stay there.

They informed us that they needed 7 days notice. So we bit the bullet and stayed there for the 4 days as arranged through Late Rooms. It is a ghastly place. The paint is peeling off the outside woodwork. The plant urns/pots had either nothing in them or were filled with weeds. The grass needed mowing. In all it looked dreadful. We were shown our room which very basic with a small double bed and a single bed. There was an old fashioned wardrobe with only hanging space. There was nowhere to put the rest of our clothes. The loo (toilet) was blocked and the boy who came to clear it said he was fed up doing so and had complained to his boss that something needed to be done about it. We could not charge the razor as the plugs did not work. The hair dryer did not work.(they did lend me another one). It was all too much and the whole thing was very uncomfortable. The various b & bs that we have stayed in have all been cheaper and far more comfortable with home cooked food unlike the terrible 'dining room' in Thrums with everything packaged and cheap bread for toast. I feel I would like to ask for some if not all of our money back and report the place to the Tourist Board. It is definitely not a hotel to my mind but is what I would call a boarding house. We did not talk to anyone else staying there. We could not wait to leave the place. It was the most depressing awful place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stephen C

  • May 2014

Good value for money

We needed basic over-night accommodation with off-street car-parking in the vicinity of University of Edinburgh Pollock Halls residences where our daughter is staying.

Thrums Hotel was excellent value for money in a very convenient location with good off street parking. (Our critical requirement.) Staff were friendly and helpful. Charming Georgian setting. The room was fairly basic but the beds were firm and the shower/toilets were clean. Although the windows/cills were rather dirty this was not significant to the stay. Breakfast was prompt and £5 supplement for a decent cooked breakfast was very reasonable.

  • anne b

  • August 2013

Holiday heaven

Great place to stay, about 15 min walk to the centre the road go straight into Edinburgh, the welcome was warm and friendly, they when out of their way for my husband, he only eats weetabix and they when out to buy them for him excellent service..

We had a great time, would stay again.

  • L Hawkins

  • August 2013

disappointed with the quality.

Very drab room.

Bathroom clean but smelt fusty and damp. Clean towels each day but one day the towels were damp.Very small dinning room, far to cramped for the number of people. Breakfast poor two slices of toast were given to us one white one brown, we were not given any choice as to what preferred.

  • alyson payne

  • July 2013

disappointment

hotel in need of face lift and also a bit grotty especially the smaller room of the two we booked breakfast a disappointment a very basic continental.

Acooked breakfast was £5 extra which was not mentioned when booking

  • R Ford

  • June 2013

Good for city break

Very pleasant hotel.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. Location was good for visiting the city, just a 20 minute walk to the centre. Car park made this a good choice for us. The room was basic but clean and tidy. Nothing fancy but great for the price we paid.