No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road,Barrow-In-Furness,Cumbria , Barrow-in-Furness, LA13 0PA
Abbey House Hotel & Gardens is more than just a luxury Lake District hotel, Set in 14 acres of landscaped grounds on the doorstep of the Southern Lake District, Originally built for the Vickers Shipyard as a home to Commander Craven, Abbey House Hotel & Gardens is now a stunning, award winning wedding venue.

The newly created and rossette accredited "Oscar's" offers award winning food and fantastic service for all to enjoy.

Lovingly restored through a multi million pound refurbishment in its Centenary year, Abbey House Hotel & Gardens is truly breath-taking from the moment you turn into the driveway to the imaginative contemporary interiors and stunning accommodation suites.

The perfect place to celebrate your most special occasions or simply dine and stay, whatever your occasion, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Please note the hotel is very popular with functions and weddings which may include music until late or fireworks.
Picture of Abbey House Hotel, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent impression on arrival through the long impressive driveway. The staff were so cheerful
This hotel is quite magnificant. The food is out of this world from the cooked breakfast to the fillet steak in the dining room and we finished it off with small fish and chips for lunch. Quite lovely!!!

Reviewed by
laura robertson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
A place with character and history, comfortable room and very well presented. Sumptuous buffet breakfast

Reviewed by
Maria M

From Australia
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
We stayed over for one night and would definitely stay again as hotel lovely and set in lovely grounds. Staff were friendly and helpful. We dined in the restaurant and had drinks In the bar which were both enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
C Hill

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
You will not be disappointed if you stay at this beautiful hotel, the staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic and the rooms were beautiful, would stop again

Reviewed by
D Major

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Lovely stay recently at Abbey House in Barrow. Great mix of original features and contemporary décor. The grounds are just beautiful, wish we had had time to go for a walk. Staff very efficient and what cocktails!!! awesome!
if we are in that part of the world again will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbey House
Very nice hotel, lovely grounds -clean comfortable room. Only disappointment was the chaotic breakfast service, as experienced by friends as well. So was not a one - off - bad morning. Pity, as everything else was very good.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed in the standard rooms in the seperate house in the gardens, we liked this, just watch your fingers in the sliding mirrow doors to bathroom and toilet. The food was excellent, and staff helpfull.
We did get some noise from the wedding party, by the time we went to bed it had gone quiet.Will go again, lots to do, we went up Black Combe, it was covered in purple heather, and visited the zoo.

Reviewed by
Pat W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for an occasional overnight
Overall really good considering the price. Staff helpful and friendly. Food not great. I had a full English and it was at best average. Wifi shockingly bad coverage but free. Beware v poor EE signal so no 3/4g. Would stay again but avoid restaurant.

Reviewed by
Lionel J

From Bourne End, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend this stunning hotel
We stayed for one night at the Abbey House Hotel as we were visiting the nearby South Lakes Animal Park. The hotel décor and gardens are really stunning, we were given the Lutyens Room in the main building which was beautiful, with a very quirky bathroom! The staff were pleasant and helpful both at reception and at breakfast, which had a fab cooked menu to choose from as well as a continental buffet - the Eggs Benedict were delicious, as were the cocktails in the bar! The only minor gripe was that the room was extremely hot as there was no air con, perhaps swapping the duvet to a summer weight duvet would be better? Other than that no complaints, would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Rachel C

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel!
The hotel is stunning! We stayed in the winter suite which is divine. We ate in oscars restaurant for breakfast which has a cold buffet and got breakfasts, we also had tea there one night which was gorgeous and it's very reasonably priced. The staff were great too, very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. I cannot fault this hotel, it was brilliant throughout and we were sad to go home!

Reviewed by
H St Clair

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next