No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road,Barrow-In-Furness,Cumbria , Barrow-in-Furness, LA13 0PA
Abbey House Hotel & Gardens is more than just a luxury Lake District hotel, Set in 14 acres of landscaped grounds on the doorstep of the Southern Lake District, Originally built for the Vickers Shipyard as a home to Commander Craven, Abbey House Hotel & Gardens is now a stunning, award winning wedding venue.

The newly created and rossette accredited "Oscar's" offers award winning food and fantastic service for all to enjoy.

Lovingly restored through a multi million pound refurbishment in its Centenary year, Abbey House Hotel & Gardens is truly breath-taking from the moment you turn into the driveway to the imaginative contemporary interiors and stunning accommodation suites.

The perfect place to celebrate your most special occasions or simply dine and stay, whatever your occasion, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Please note the hotel is very popular with functions and weddings which may include music until late or fireworks.
Picture of Abbey House Hotel, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel
This was a stunning hotel and we was very welcomed by all the staff. The food In the restaurant was excellent and great value for money. We loved it so much we are going to get married there.

Reviewed by
m faulkner

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of Character
Excellent stay with friendly staff. The refurbishment has produced a venue which retains original character to a high standard. Lots of quirky, but good features. Only criticism is the shortage of a real bar area as this has been taken over by the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Michael T

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas at the Abbey
My wife and I stayed at the Abbey House Hotel Christmas Eve and Christmas day to enable us to visit family in Barrow. The main reception area, bars and public areas have all been recently refurbished. This has been done to a high standard, is absolutely beautiful and very sympathic to the character of the building.
We were also able to take our little cocker spaniel with us to stay and although not allowed in the main bar or restaurant due to most areas of the hotel serving food, she was able to join us for a drink in the smaller bar and made to feel very very welcome by all the staff.

Reviewed by
Luke R

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
M McFall

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbey House hotel.
Nowt wrong with this place at all over a 24 hour stay.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice of late booking Hotel

Reviewed by
J Cocks

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent impression on arrival through the long impressive driveway. The staff were so cheerful
This hotel is quite magnificant. The food is out of this world from the cooked breakfast to the fillet steak in the dining room and we finished it off with small fish and chips for lunch. Quite lovely!!!

Reviewed by
laura robertson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
A place with character and history, comfortable room and very well presented. Sumptuous buffet breakfast

Reviewed by
Maria M

From Australia
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
We stayed over for one night and would definitely stay again as hotel lovely and set in lovely grounds. Staff were friendly and helpful. We dined in the restaurant and had drinks In the bar which were both enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
C Hill

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
You will not be disappointed if you stay at this beautiful hotel, the staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic and the rooms were beautiful, would stop again

Reviewed by
D Major

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next