No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey House Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road,Barrow-In-Furness,Cumbria , Barrow-in-Furness, LA13 0PA
Set in 14 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds, Abbey House Hotel is the jewel of the Furness peninsula.

Designed by world renowned architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, the hotel is situated between the towns of Barrow in Furness and Dalton in Furness. Built in 1914 the hotel boasts beautiful original features that have been lovingly restored.

A breathtaking building with ample parking and lovely walks through the grounds, the hotel has 61 bedrooms, Abbey Restaurant with extensive menu and a full wine list to choose from.

Abbey House is only 30 minutes from the heart of the lake district and is a stone`s throw from some of the lake districts top tourist attractions.

Please note the Hotel is very popular with functions and weddings which may include music until late.

Picture of Abbey House Hotel, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed in the standard rooms in the seperate house in the gardens, we liked this, just watch your fingers in the sliding mirrow doors to bathroom and toilet. The food was excellent, and staff helpfull.
We did get some noise from the wedding party, by the time we went to bed it had gone quiet.Will go again, lots to do, we went up Black Combe, it was covered in purple heather, and visited the zoo.

Reviewed by
Pat W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for an occasional overnight
Overall really good considering the price. Staff helpful and friendly. Food not great. I had a full English and it was at best average. Wifi shockingly bad coverage but free. Beware v poor EE signal so no 3/4g. Would stay again but avoid restaurant.

Reviewed by
Lionel J

From Bourne End, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend this stunning hotel
We stayed for one night at the Abbey House Hotel as we were visiting the nearby South Lakes Animal Park. The hotel décor and gardens are really stunning, we were given the Lutyens Room in the main building which was beautiful, with a very quirky bathroom! The staff were pleasant and helpful both at reception and at breakfast, which had a fab cooked menu to choose from as well as a continental buffet - the Eggs Benedict were delicious, as were the cocktails in the bar! The only minor gripe was that the room was extremely hot as there was no air con, perhaps swapping the duvet to a summer weight duvet would be better? Other than that no complaints, would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Rachel C

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel!
The hotel is stunning! We stayed in the winter suite which is divine. We ate in oscars restaurant for breakfast which has a cold buffet and got breakfasts, we also had tea there one night which was gorgeous and it's very reasonably priced. The staff were great too, very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. I cannot fault this hotel, it was brilliant throughout and we were sad to go home!

Reviewed by
H St Clair

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people. Clean rooms. Great food if a little slow to arrive. Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
m thomson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel would go back

Reviewed by
v griffin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
It was great. Wish we could of stayed another night. Staff and actual place was brilliant. 10 minutes away from Zoo, Franky and Bennies etc. Bar was a very nice place to chill out too! Being only 20 and 21 we where most probably the youngest there but we where still treated better than anywhere either of us have stayed before. Would and already have recommended this hotel.

Reviewed by
Andrew Wilmot

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was unacceptable.
The hotel itself was very nice and picturesque. The room was a bit disappointing. The lamp on the wall was missing, wall paper coming off the wall, the lamp shade was full of dust, bathroom floor was coming up, bathroom towel rail was rusty and room is over looked by the main corridor where I had to shut the curtains all through the day.

Reviewed by
N Gordon

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

refurbishment disappointing
Refurbished dining area is dark with low bench seats with high backs which are uncomfortable.The staff are all excellent and helpful.I felt that the price of the rooms was too high We stay there when visiting relatives in Barrow and enjoy bieng able to walk around the Abbey and surrounding area,

Reviewed by
J Bragg

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Abbey House Hotel this weekend. Lovely building to start with, staff were very friendly and the room was beautiful. Excellent value for money. Food was spot on and the free breakfast made the price even more unbelievable. Will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
S Hush

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next