Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Morningside Hotels > Best Western Braid Hills Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Braid Hills Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
134 Braid Road , Edinburgh, EH10 6JD
The Victorian BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel is perfectly perched in a fantastic location, with wondrous panoramic views across Edinburgh and beyond to the Firth of Forth and the Hills of Fife to prove it! In its own grounds with ample FREE parking, this hotel offers class and comfort in spades... with the added bonus of having one of the world's prettiest city centres on its doorstep.

For seclusion and character few hotels come close, though Edinburgh's Royal Mile, Prince's Street shops and countless tourist attractions are just a quick Piper's march away. For meals and mingling, we have a choice of restaurants and bars. Plus, five golf courses lie within one mile of hotel (which is to be expected as the game itself was born in this very city!)

Please note that although we have no lift, luggage assistance available on request... just say the word!
Picture of Best Western Braid Hills Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean comfortable bedrooms.breakfast very good,plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
graham r

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double room was very small and in desperate need of a overhaul, bathroom was really disgusting and shower had no power. The only good thing about the hotel was the outside decking area. We will not be back.

Reviewed by
Edward Mann

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Easy to find and pleasant staff on arrival. Stair access and long corridors with no lift.
Evening "parties" created a little noise below the room, but didn't finish very late. However, due to the increased number of guests parking was extremely difficult and no alternatives obvious.
Also requested feather pillows as we do not like synthetic ones and although promised were told that there were none available which was a shame, so nights sleep was not as good as it could have been. Bathroom window did not close so room was a little cold and water power was very poor for the shower. Did not spend any time in the reception areas, but it did look very nice.

Reviewed by
NICOLA P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok - good welcome and reasonable food - but a few details need attention
Very nice friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were a very good size and clean if a little shabby (bathroom floor lino due for renewal). The food was good for this type of hotel - not a gastro experience, but well cooked and good value.
If there is one thing they need to change it is the pillows. They are awful - thin and rubbery - I woke up feeling like I'd been in a fight (and lost!). Take your own if you're planning to stay there...

Reviewed by
Neil C

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room and overcharged
I have stayed with you before. This time the room I had was poor quality and in particular very tired in appearance with a noisy poor electric shower squeezed in a small area over the bath. The over charging due to the Edinburgh festival is also a joke. I will avoid business trips at that time of the year in the future.

Reviewed by
p knight

From Henley in Arden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place
Having booked a deluxe room for a birthday, I had a great experience in the Braid Hills Hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. We enjoyed it a lot, specially with the great location in Edinburgh. The only downside i can think of would be that there is a bit too little parking.

Reviewed by
Wouter S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dissappointed customer and guest.
we booked a deluxe, spacious double room only at a price of £245.00, for a two night stay.
we were allocated room 306, on the third floor, it was a double room with a dorma window, we hadt to duck if we looked out the one window looking over the car par, when I asked if this was a deluxe room, I was advised that it was a freshly decorated room, with a view of Edinburgh Castle. we could see the Castle in the distance. I feel that we were mislead when I booked the room, very disapponted and we wont be recommending to any of our family and friends to use the hotel, or infact use Late Rooms . as a customer i have to trust the information I am given on line when booking a room, I feel on this occasion very let down, and we did not get a spacious deluxe room as I was lead to believe when booking the room via Late rooms.

Reviewed by
Julie McNeil

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, lovely views but rooms in need of a refurb.
It's a shame that the room was in need of updating - tatty decor etc - because this hotel has a lovely reception area, is well located, opposite a pretty park, walking distance from Morningside shops, with ample parking and on a main bus route into the city. The room was a real let down though - very dated, mould on the windows and overlooking the bins and a weedy bit of garden.

Reviewed by
Emma H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city break!

Reviewed by
Justin B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very enjoyable stay. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and superb location for visiting Edinburgh and Pentland Hills.

Reviewed by
r rees

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next