No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarendon Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
74-76 Marine Road West , Morecambe, LA4 4EP
The Clarendon Hotel has been overlooking the spectacular sweeping views of Morecambe Bay towards the Lake District since 1893. It makes an ideal base for exploring the wonderful and varied areas surrounding Morecambe Bay. Our bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and offer a comfortable stay to those visiting the area. We also offer an excellent venue for conferences, functions and weddings (incl. Civil Ceremonies).
Picture of Clarendon Hotel, Morecambe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clarendon hotel
staff were very nice and helpful, the hotel is in a good location right on the sea front but is in serious need of updating inside, our room (17) their was paper missing on the ceiling, the window frames were rotten, the floor boards creaked and the beds are not the most comfortable. pity, with some decorating and freshening up it could be a really nice hotel.

Reviewed by
Michael Hollis

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Accommodation was quite good but the tv was out of the ark, could only get the original 5 channels.

    Reviewed by
    C Jameson

    From UK
    Who stayed in August 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Excellent value for money. I found the staff. Ourteous and helpful. The breakfasts were of excellent quality and the evening dining experience wass excellent.

    Reviewed by
    W Muir

    From Bournemouth, UK
    Who stayed in August 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    All our needs we're met and we are looking forward to staying again in the future

    Reviewed by
    jean seymour

    From ferryhill, England
    Who stayed in August 2014

    Group of women

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    had a lovely stay, staff were fantastic, room was large enough although furniture was a little dated

    Reviewed by
    A Meehan

    From Dundee, UK
    Who stayed in July 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Lovely stay at The Clarendon
    This is a lovely little hotel right on the promenade. Our room was just as advertised on the website, check in was easy and the staff were very helpful. This place offers good value for money and a nice breakfast into the bargain.

    Reviewed by
    Emma N

    From Bingley, UK
    Who stayed in May 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Overnight break on a long journey
    The hotel has an adjoining car park and although arriving later than expected (just after 9:00pm) there was still one space in the car park. Fortunately I only needed one space. There was plenty of space to park on the road outside the hotel on both sides of the road. The hotel was easy to find. Reception was pleasant and efficient; I was offerred assistance with my bag and therer is a lift to all floors. The lift is addapted so it is easy to reach the lift buttons from a wheelchair and the buttons are labelled in braille. The lift also speaks to you. It is a small lift so a wheelchair user would find it difficult to include a large suitcase or a companion but no doubt a mmember of the hotel staff could bring the luggage up seperately.
    The room when I first entered it smelt as though someone had been smoking. I could have made a fuss and had the room changed but I was too tired to bother. Unfortunately the window would not open to air the room; probably to prevent people 'accidentally' falling out. My room faced the sea front so no issues with the view.
    I like a firm mattress so found the bed rather soft for my liking. The shower was fine and as I prefer showers the lack of a bath was not a problem, but I do realise some people prefer baths and they should check this when booking a room. Hot drink making facilities were available and also a packet of biscuits.
    The television only had three channels available which is three more than I have at home. I have no idea how many should be available.
    The hotel restaurant closes at 9:00pm but I was not hungry so did not check this. There are several eating places within 100 metres of the hotel that are open later into the night.
    The hotel has a bar in the hotel but also has a pub in the hotel cellar which is accessed from outside the hotel. I preferred the atmosphere in the pub and had a very reasonably priced drink there. It was karaoke night when I stayed (Friday), but that is not every night.
    Breakfast was fine with a cheerful girl taking the orders and only a short wait for it to arrive. Empty plates were cleared promptly. Clearly not a five star eating establishment as I was asked if everything was fine. Top michelin establishments do not need to ask. However I was able to point out that the tea had not arrived and this was quickly rectified with an embarrassed apology.
    Checkout was slightly delayed as the receptionist was in a back room and did not notice my presence; there was no bell to ring to get attention. Could so easily be sorted.
    I never recommend things or places as I have found that can lead to problems. I describe what I have found and let people decide whether that suits them. I seldom stay at the same place twice as I like variety.

    Reviewed by
    Julius M

    From Waterlooville, UK
    Who stayed in May 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Very good service from a friendly caring staff

    Reviewed by
    Bert Leyland

    From UK
    Who stayed in May 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Comfortable and relaxing
    I hadn't been away on my own for a while. As I was on leave I decided that I would look for a hotel in Morecambe as I had visited many times in the past. The Clarendon was the only hotel that I liked after looking at the site and reading other reviews. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel; the rates were reasonable, the food was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and courteous; nothing was too much trouble for them. I will certainly be recommending to others. I am looking forward to booking another stay in a month or so.

    Reviewed by
    Gillian K

    From Bolton, UK
    Who stayed in March 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    A comfortable stay would imagine this was once a very opulent hotel a little tired now but clean wou

    Reviewed by
    Dave Lacey

    From Barnard Castle, UK
    Who stayed in February 2014

    View Older Reviews

    Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

    All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

    1 2 3 Next