Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Cleator Moor Hotels > The Ennerdale Country House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ennerdale Country House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Main Street , CLEATOR, CA23 3DT
Only a 10 minute drive from Ennerdale Water, on the famous Coast to Coast Walk, the Ennerdale Country House Hotel is a Grade II listed building nestled within five acres of tranquil landscaped gardens and Italian fountains.

As you walk through our large beautiful hallways, you will pass by painstakingly restored original fireplaces and ceilings, and you'll begin to realise that this is only the start of an experience you will never forget.

With 30 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms, all individually designed, the Ennerdale is ideal for business and leisure guests visiting the many attractions of the Western Lakes and the West Cumbrian Coastal towns and villages.
Picture of The Ennerdale Country House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, CLEATOR at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was amazing, staff very friendly and helpful
restaurants lovely with excellent choice of food.
room was just perfect exactly as the review said it would be

Reviewed by
neil flatman

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful dinner service, alright location, decent room
The dinner service was god damn bloody awful. Waited to be seated but got ignored so sat ourselves down, continued to be ignored, got given water and no menu or suggestion of drinks. Asked to move to an empty un-set table behind us but got refused, told it was "reserved" (it was just easier for her to say no). The staff have a weird way of saying 'is that a problem?' When obviously, since you're asking in the first place, it's a problem. Breakfast on the other hand was fine and service was friendly and fairly swift once 2 more staff members came in.
Location: you'll have a blast if you like being near the sellafield power station, or hate the honeypot sites of the lakes. Hearing the cars rushing by through the old pulley windows is like an alcoholic parent veering the 'aeroplane' every time during dinner consequentially resulting in social services knocking on the wooden hatch. This is of course sarcasm; the landscape of the ennerdale lake is lovely, a 40 minute drive away...

Reviewed by
Ellie A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous place
Amazing historic building, beautiful gardens and rooms. Could do with fans in bedroom in the summer months though....too hot and the room I had (12) was right next to main road with lorries thundering past till the small hours. Having said that, i've requested my usual room for peace and tranquility overlooking the gardens for my future trips.

Reviewed by
Janice B

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Really nice and comfortable with great service and lovely breakfast. Would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
Rachael B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ennerdale hotel
Really enjoyed our two nights here. Great food at fair price, friendly staff, lovely grounds and fantastic breakfast

Reviewed by
andrea l

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break for myself and wife.
Lovely hotel. However in arrival the adjacent door to our room wouldn't lock, staff kindly moved us to a better room with four poster. But some bulbs were not working, bathroom floor tiles were filthy and shower wall was also badly stained. Staff were excellent as was the food, compliments to the chef.

Reviewed by
Kevin Mcnamara

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very peaceful
Nice quiet hotel with large clean room, only cost £50 on laterooms so was well worth the money

Reviewed by
A Simpson

From , England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Grounds
The accomodation was spacious, clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly.
The steps in hallways and stairs would benefit from insertion of a contrasting edging strip.
.

Reviewed by
terry S

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An average stay
After reading other comments via trip advisor I arrived open minded but was quick to appreciate the comments made about the hotels tired apprearence.
When pulling up on the car park I didn't even recognise the hotel from the pictures at first as these are taken from the back off the hotel.
It's a shame because this hotel has alot of pertential, it is a lovely building set in lovely grounds but just needs a little love and attention. The outside needs a good repaint, furniture in the room was tatty and ripped covered with dirty doilies .
Overall the room was ok, I managed to get a good price and therefore wasn't too disappointed.
I would have been though if I had paid the original asking price.
I stayed here for a special occasion with my partner as it was the cheapest available in the area offering a four poster bed with jacuzzi bath ( which we didn't end up getting)
The breakfast was delicious though. Staff were very friendly and polite although we didn't have much need if them once we had checked in. I emailed the hotel a few days before our arrival to request a later check out time and I had an almost immediate response which was fantastic and they offered me an extra hour for no additional charge which I thought was very kind.
This hotel allows dogs too which I'm all for being a dog owner myself but was a little horrified to open the small balcony/varander doors in the morning and find a rather large price of poo on the floor. Well at least I presume it was dog poo! It had been there for some time.
So overall, it was ok, but we travelled for over 3 hours to get there and unfortunately I have to be honest and say it wasn't worth the drive. We probably would not return .

Reviewed by
J Fynn

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
good

Reviewed by
chakrit u

From holland villas London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next