No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Alicia Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
3 Aigburth Drive , Liverpool, L17 3AA
A truly unique hotel full of charm and character. Outside you will find a typically English, beautifully restored former cotton merchants house, inside you will find a superbly refurbished hotel, perfectly complimenting the outside with its welcoming relaxed atmosphere and comfortable modern interior. With 41 individually designed bedrooms welcoming both leisure and business guests we truly are a hotel with personality.

The hotel is ideally situated, a short 5 minute drive to the city centre & within easy reach of all major motorway links as well as being set in the beautiful and tranquil Sefton Park. Our beautiful glasshouse overlooking the park serves a high standard of cuisine and the tastefully decorated Edwardian bar leads onto our Italian styled gardens.

With ample secure FREE PARKING, FREE WIFI and friendly staff making The Best Western Alicia Hotel the ideal base for business or pleasure.
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Alicia Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another hotel that doesn't value customer service or why people stay in hotels.
This hotel seemed good to start with, good price and a seemingly nice location. Then I checked in.... The room was OK but the radiator wouldn't turn off so I cooked. The windows opened but due to this room facing the road the noise was too much so I had to close it. Even with the single glazed window closed the road noise was still quite bad. Dinner was a mistake - deep fried goodness but when you get king prawns and mushrooms that are crispy all the way through you know someone in the kitchen should not be allowed to cook.
It seems to be a popular hotel for people flying out on holiday the following morning early and whilst I know some people forget they are in a hotel and decide to hold conversations in the hallway at 3:30am you don't expect the staff to be wishing the guest "Have a great flight" at 4:00am outside the hotel reception doors in the street as the taxi pulled away.
My advice is to avoid this hotel if you value your sleep. I have a general rule about Best Western hotels due to a past bad experience and decided to give this one a try after 10 odd years of avoiding them. It was a mistake I won't be making again.

Reviewed by
Jamie Glasspool

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New year's eve stay
Great overnight trip hotel staff friendly and accommodating

Reviewed by
Nicola T

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were extremely helpful, very polite and professional.

Reviewed by
Marie Shannon

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN The Alicia Hotel
Tiny room in a part of hotel that was not refurbished in the fire exit entrance-
Over priced. Had no control of the heating and was not warmer enough. Old fashioned decor

Reviewed by
Jonathan w

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN The Alicia Hotel
Excellent stay.

Reviewed by
k boulton

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

STH
Booked hotel to be near to Lark Lane to meet up with family. Good location - Sefton Park on the door step. Very welcoming staff and a nice relaxing breakfast overlooking the park.

Reviewed by
S Hillam

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful location & attractive hotel in Sefton Park
I was pleasantly very pleased and surprised with the quality and comfort of this budget-priced hotel, just out of the city centre.
Positives -
A warm welcome in an attractively decorated reception
A very good price for my single room
A free upgrade to a double room
Excellent evening meal with perfectly cooked lamb
A very quiet and peaceful location
A few negatives -
I didn't appreciate having £80 taken from my account on arrival, immediately after the receptionist said no money would be taken
Equally I don't think it was necessary to stamp in red 'credit approved' on a sheet I had to show tithe dining staff before I could order a meal (was that really necessary!)
I was left alone in a dining room with no staff, music or other diners for over 20 minutes, despite requesting service, because staff had forgotten to say the dining room had changed for the night
I imagine this cannot be changed, but my basement room could only be accessed by the lift & I do not like using lifts (no stairs to a number of bedrooms)

Reviewed by
Heather S

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed bag
Stayed for one night and it blew hot and cold I'd say. First impressions were pretty good. Lovely building in a good location opposite the park and a swift check-in from a pleasant and courteous receptionist.
The deal said I had booked a room at £60, reduced from £200. It was a single room, very small with not much room to manoeuvre around the bed. Bed itself had a dip in the middle. Wasn't the greatest night's sleep of my life. And, when taking a shower, you waited the best part of 5 mins when waiting for the hot water to appear! Certainly never a £200 room. And, even for the price I paid, still disappointing. Although no issues with cleanliness.
Having been at the football, I thought I'd sit up afterwards in the bar for a while. Waited an age to get served until realising that the chap on reception, was actually the barman too. (And everything else it would seem). The pint I ordered was lukewarm and not the best. And £6.75 for a rum and coke is nothing if not extortionate! Be warned! However, the gentlemen behind the bar/front desk, did spend a good bit of time chatting and being extremely courteous.
Breakfast in the morning was very good. Lovely conservatory restaurant looking out over the park and a good selection of quality breakfast items on offer.
Overall, very mixed. Loved the location, the politeness of staff and the quality of food. But room and bar standards were disappointing.

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed Review
The staff were both friendly and helpful. When we arrived there was a problem with one of the rooms in that it was already occupied. this resulted in my husband and I getting an upgrade to a better room.
The standard double room was very small. It was situated directly above the wedding venue. This meant that it was rather noisy and this was compounded by wedding guests passing the room all night .
The breakfast was adequate but it was not clear whether one could have ordered something not on the buffet e.g we saw someone being served boiled eggs and were unaware this was on offer.
The main attraction of the hotel were the friendly helpful receptionists

Reviewed by
M MALCOLM

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely horendous have sent a complaint to hotel will send a copy to you
Tiny run down old fashioned room. Above kitchen extract noisy all night. Food terrible in edible steak and pint full of floaters.

Reviewed by
P Nelson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next