No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cleeve Hill House Hotel

5AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Cleeve Hill , Cheltenham, GL52 3PR
Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, this elegant family run hotel offers stunning views towards the Malvern Hills, direct access to the Cotswold Way and yet is only 3 miles from Cheltenham,with its own car park. Within 1 mile of Cleeve Hill Golf Course club house, it is ideally situated for the race course and a selection of excellent places to dine. All rooms are en-suite and smoking is not permitted. You are guaranteed a warm welcome and complimentary tea and cake are offered on afternoon arrivals.
Picture of Cleeve Hill House Hotel, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
David L

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid!
What a beautiful little gem! I went to a wedding in Cheltenham with the reception in the middle of nowhere. I just picked this hotel for its location. As it was so inexpensive I really didn't have high expectations. However, it was absolutely wonderful. The hosts, the room, the food and especially the views all made it somewhere special. I stayed in the single room, it's not single by mean hotel standards. It was a generous double! It was only when I saw a double room that I understand their comparison. The doubles, with their four poster beds, sealed the deal for me. I will definitely visit again and stay at this beautiful little hotel.

Reviewed by
jayne fisher

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with good view to the Cheltenham landscape, friendly owners and comfy bed
The location is great for hiking. The back of the hotel is Cleeve Hill golf course. Looking out of the windows, we could see sheep and green landscape.
Breakfast was to a good standard and freshly made. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The room was of a good size and the bed really comfortable. Overall, it was a really enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
S Hong

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay attending local wedding
We were met by a gentleman who was polite and swiftly showed us to our room, giving us a quick tour he left us to it.
First impressions of the room were:
the wonderful view down into Cheltenham on a beautiful sunny day
The large size of the room, the ample tea coffee facilities in the room.
The ensuing bathroom was rather tired and very smelly, of stale urine. The paint was peeling around the skirting and there may have been some water problems. I didn't spend long in the bathroom. I couldn't smell it in the bedroom which was a relief.
Breakfast was ok, a selection of cereals and I think a continental offing, as well as cooked breakfast. My poached eggs were a little too watery runny. The glasses for fruit juice were tide marked from the dishwasher and didn't feel very clean. I'm sure a polish would have helped.
Overall, a convenient stay for a nearby wedding we attended, however i expected a little better for its 5 star AA rating....

Reviewed by
Shelley H

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a view!
Loved this place. Our room (8) had a spectacular panoramic view - I think we could see about 30 miles to the distant Malvern Hills. Very comfortable accommodations. Nice breakfast. Quiet.

Reviewed by
Alan R

From Clarksville, MD, USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a 1 night stop-over
Stayed for just the one night as we were going to a Christening the following day. We booked 2 rooms as our 18 year old daughter was also with us. The owner was very welcoming and offered us tea on arrival. We had a room on the top floor with a great view, however our daughters room was one level down and looked out on the back of the house - view not so good just a large hill. Not really a problem tho as we were hardly in the room. took a walk from the rear of the hotel onto the hill and surrounding area, really pleasant. Bathroom was ok but would have preferred a shower, did shower in daughters room, the water pressure was ok but not great. Found the room extremely hot during the night and would suggest the owners get fans for the rooms as it was difficult to sleep even with the windows open. Nice breakfast with everything cooked fresh. Nice that all the rooms were individual rather than a chain. All in all a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Annie M

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Made very welcome, spectacular views from bedroom, only one slight dissatisfaction, could be slightly more flavoursome sausages at breakfast, but otherwise absolutely no negatives.

Reviewed by
J Vivian

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Location
This guest house is in an ideal location . Beautiful views from the front of the hotel , and a pleasant public house a short walk away .Ideal for an evening meal and the guest house is close to Cheltenham . Access to lovely walks from the rear of the hotel. Very peaceful and tranquil experience. The only suggestions would be to provide a shower curtain to be able to use the shower attachment on the taps in this room?. Only a minor issue on a very pleasant stay in a pretty spacious room - perhaps Manfred and Jacky could make this available for future visits?.

Reviewed by
F PERRY

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location with stunning views and walks over Cleeve Hill from the doorstep.
A private hotel with attention to personal service. Friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
E Askew

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time visit
Hotel delivers well what it says it will in the description. Friendly greeting, comfortable room with all what we asked for. Ample breakfast and although some self service we were well looked after. Hotel in an excellent position & although we visited family this time we'll consider it as a base to explore the nearby hills. Quick & efficient departure process makes a nice change.Thank you.

Reviewed by
K Wilson

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next