Reviews - St Mellons Hotel


Castleton, Cardiff, CF3 2XR

Price From 164.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (95)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M George-Briant

  • April 2015

Appalling service

From the front desk to the restaurant it felt as if very little training had been to any of the staff.

At check-in there was almost no information given or offered in relation to any of the services offered across the hotel. No mention of a bar/restaurant tab created, and then no checking of the room details when ordering food. The restaurant staff seemed to have had very little training and certainly not much evidence of experience. I was seated and drink order taken, drink delivered from bar in very quick time. Then had to wait 15 minutes before a food order was taken, with no explanation or apology, then waited a further 15 minutes for the starter (which had no sign of appearing) before cancelling my order. During that time, the 4 other tables had received equally slow service with no apology. For most of that 30 minutes I was sitting there, there were no staff to even inquire or catch the eye of. I walked out of a restaurant for the first time in my life but in order to cancel I had to go into the kitchen where the waiting staff seemed to be hiding. Shockingly poor service, clearly I will not return and will not recommend this tired-looking, low-speed-wifi, poorly managed hotel to anyone.

  • B Evans

  • April 2015


This was our second stay at the hotel, very clean, organised and relaxed stay.

The room was a good size, and had a lovely en suite. The windows open a decent amount to let plenty of fresh air in which was lovely. A very pleasant stay, I would stay again.

  • Tom N

  • April 2015

Wonderful value for money

The hotel was lovely, the scenery was beautiful.

The use of the swimming pool gym made the stay all the more pleasant. The staff were friendly enough and the rooms were spotless. Although the bath tap didn't work and the there was scuffs to the walls in the bathroom, but I simply cannot complain considering the tiny price tag. Wonderfully comfortable bed with a lovely view. Would recommend.

  • Andrew R

  • March 2015

Only so-so. Book if on a tight budget

Setting was pleasant - lots of greenry you would find in a golf course realted hotel.

Room was in an out-buidling, vastly in need of a lick of paint. Hot water was non-existent and it took until 10pm that evening for it to return after an engineer was called out. Room telephone wasn't working and nobody came to fix or replace it, despite front desk being told twice. Had to arrange room service with my own mobile phone, calling their main phone number. Food was pleasant enough, but the glass of wine I ordered arrived 90 mins after I finished my meal. I turned it away. The bath was in need of replacement and I saw unpleasant brown staining showing through the joins in the wall tiles, as well as the corner of the bath. Gym facilities were adequate, but most of the equipment is actually rusting. Despite being Spring the room was cold and the heating couldn't warm it up enough. Didn't sleep well as the bed was too hard and the pillows were more like flat cushions, so I woke up at 5.30 with back / neck ache. Breakfast was average. I had to ask one of the staff to show me to a table, as I was being ignored. She was clearing a table away and when I asked to be seated she simply dusted toast crumbs off the table and told me to sit there.

Perhaps an unfortunate chain of events leading to a below par review, but things like the state of the bath and the attitude of some of the staff makes it seem the hotel is what it is for a reason.

  • Diane D

  • March 2015

Family stay

pleasant and quiet hotel in country surroundings.

Looking forward to the refurbishments next year, some parts looking tired, plans will give the hotel an exciting lift. Excellent location for close to Cardiff. This is our 2nd time at the hotel and we will use it again!

  • P Gomersall

  • March 2015

Nice and Quiet.

Staff and food were very good, but shower had a issue with pressure an heat in the morning.

But overall a nice place to stay.

  • Larraine G

  • February 2015

Chill out and enjoy the view with a complete relaxing feel to your stay

Staff attentive but not overbearing, food was lovely with great service.

Comfy room but TV too small. Our room overlooked the beautiful fountain with blue lighting in the evening, looked soooo nice. Fantastic value for money and will be back soon.

  • N Clarke

  • February 2015

A quiet retreat near the city of Cardiff

We were welcomed very warmly.

This was in spite of out late arrival (11.00pm). Our room was warm and spacious, but in some ways rather "unloved": the curtains would not pull until my husband repaired the tracking, there were signs of previous damp ingress on the ceiling, a handle on one of the drawers was missing, the light bulb on one of the bedside lamps didn't work, the taps in one of the sinks dripped and there was no bar on the toilet roll holder. Our room needed some loving care.

  • P Millar

  • January 2015

Peace & Charm

We had a lovely room at the front of the hotel looking over the parklands.

Even better - you could open the window & enjoy fresh air. Because to the rural setting it was quiet, even with the window open. (Another tiny plus point - the fan in the bathroom went off after about 30s after you left. Some seem to stay on forever...annoying in the middle of the night!). We enjoyed using the leisure facilities - decent pool (if a bit nippy). Really enjoyed our meal too - the staff provided just the right amount of attention. All in all, very enjoyable stay.

  • ian m

  • January 2015

One night stay

Good value for money.

Excellent staff and friendly and helpful. Rooms are very "tired" with little ambience.