No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Inn on the Lake Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Watling Street,Shorne , Gravesend, DA12 3HB
The Inn on the Lake is a privately owned modern seventy-eight bedroomed hotel with a fine restaurant and first class conference and banqueting facilities. It is rated four crown by the English Tourist Board. The hotel has direct access from the A2 London to Dover road but is set back in twelve acres of peaceful woodland with two fine lakes. It is within one hour's drive of the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports and Central London, and just ten minutes from both the City of Rochester upon Medway and the Dartford Tunnel link with Essex and the M25 motorway around London.

There is parking for over 250 cars.The Inn on the Lake is set close to the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent with attractions including Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum.Other sites of interest in Medway include the World Naval Base, Fort Amhurst and the Royal Engineers Museum. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury.

Every Saturday throughout the year a dinner dance is featured in the Lakeside Restaurant. Stars such as The Supremes, The Searchers, Ben E King and Boney M have recently performed here. Please phone for a 'What's On Guide'.We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe.We offer extremely competitive group rates with reductions for children and Sunday night stays.
Picture of Inn on the Lake Hotel, Gravesend at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no complaints
All good no complaints. Slept well even though I was in a room alongside the busy road.

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Everything was perfect

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too much pine!
OK I guess at the price for the area. The bedroom was perfectly comfortable and spacious and being at the rear of the hotel, the view of the lake was lovely and road noise not a problem. Breakfast was also ok and porridge was a nice extra. My only comment would be that the decor is starting to look a bit 1970's - too much pine cladding everywhere and pine furniture in the bedrooms. For an overnight stay fine.

Reviewed by
Frank N

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Nice clean room with nice food. A wider selection of food would be nice. Nice location and convenient location.

Reviewed by
surita p

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing selection
I chose this hotel as the selection in the area is quite poor and having stayed previously considered that I knew what I was getting. However this time around I found the hotel lacking in several areas. I found that the reception was quite poor at times and not inviting. I had cause to go back to the reception a couple of times and on at least one occasion I had to wait a while to be attended despite there being staff in the reception whom appeared to be more concerned with cleaning the gravel in a fish tank than helping. I tried to eat in the restaurant but saw nobody for about 10 minutes so ate in the bar. The food whilst appeared to be good quality had been overcooked and considering paying hotel prices not what I would have expected.
The rooms look dated and could do with a revamp.
The internet was down, and despite putting a request for a room with Wi-fi, the coverage if the internet was function was patchy and only available on one particular place in the room.

Reviewed by
Anthony R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a pleasant stay
Have stayed here several times now, everything is simple from booking through to parking and room access. Reception was friendly and helpful with a lovely big smile, breakfast was nicely cooked of a good standard and the waitress could not do enough for you. Evening meal was very good and the prices fair.
Only down point which was always mentioned by several other people in the bar was the very rude and dis-interested Lad in the bar, everything was far to much trouble for him and he was more interested in watching the TV, actually upset one couple with his sullen attitude that they walked out the bar.

Reviewed by
S Harris

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Right next to M2 - very noisy
We got a good deal for this hotel - but what we didnt know was that the rooms were right near to the very busy M2. You can have quiet rooms but they weren't offered when I booked AND they cost £10 more. Rooms Ok, comfy beds, but the restaurant is always closed on a Sunday so had to go out for an evening meal. Would maybe stay here again but next time will ask for a quiet room.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Not The Ritz but excellent VFM. I can't see how they do this for the price they charge. Stayed here many times before and will do again.

Reviewed by
K Fay

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Christmas visit to family and friends in Kent.
Have stayed at this hotel few times in the past, but it has gone downhill since. Room was acceptable and the bed comfortable, but only one chair and one side cupboard. Food just OK due to expect financial cutbacks and the previously good staff have also left the hotel. Convenient to visit family in Kent, but will look elsewhere in future for a better hotel. Seems most customers are contractors or various construction workers. Breakfast was OK but not exceptional, items missing or not replenished, unlike other hotels we have previously stayed. Sad really, because used to be much better in the past. Now average and not so good for tourists, more suitable for workmen staying overnight. Would not recommend to friends. PS Maybe certain rooms could be reserved for leisure tourists only and a more upmarket style breakfast for tourists, sadly lacking here. Workers generally have left early in the morning with only a basic breakfast. Tourists want more than basic and to take their time and plan their day. Maybe then more will return in the future.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Rooms and Good Food
Our room was very clean and we could not fault it, apart from road noise from the A2 when we opened the bedroom window. The food served in the bar was very good value for money and the breakfast was also good. The only downside for breakfast was that it took two goes in the toaster to get a piece of bread properly toasted.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next