No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Inn on the Lake Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Watling Street,Shorne , Gravesend, DA12 3HB
The Inn on the Lake is a privately owned modern seventy-eight bedroomed hotel with a fine restaurant and first class conference and banqueting facilities. It is rated four crown by the English Tourist Board. The hotel has direct access from the A2 London to Dover road but is set back in twelve acres of peaceful woodland with two fine lakes. It is within one hour's drive of the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports and Central London, and just ten minutes from both the City of Rochester upon Medway and the Dartford Tunnel link with Essex and the M25 motorway around London.

There is parking for over 250 cars.The Inn on the Lake is set close to the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent with attractions including Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum.Other sites of interest in Medway include the World Naval Base, Fort Amhurst and the Royal Engineers Museum. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury.

Every Saturday throughout the year a dinner dance is featured in the Lakeside Restaurant. Stars such as The Supremes, The Searchers, Ben E King and Boney M have recently performed here. Please phone for a 'What's On Guide'.We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe.We offer extremely competitive group rates with reductions for children and Sunday night stays.
Picture of Inn on the Lake Hotel, Gravesend at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too clinical
Hotel too large for anything other than a clinical feeling. Breakfast was very disappointing. Not impressed having to make our own tea, in a tea cup,having to make our own toast and not enough staff to deal with the number of guests.

Reviewed by
J Hurley

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Your basic hotel that's been around for some time I would asume in the 70s it would of been the place to stay. The rooms are big and the bed was very good but a bit dated. The bathroom was ok but only just, old bath with chipped surface old type of shower and still a very faint smell of cigarets. Again the bar was old in style but the drinks where not over priced and the bar stafe welcoming. The only big problem was breakfast on Sunday morning the hotel was full but that's no reason for them not to be able to cope the hotel no how many guest are in the hotel and should plane for it. We left after a 25min and had breakfast on the way home.

Reviewed by
N Payne

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money, very clean but a little dated.

Reviewed by
R Goldie

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean tidy cheap
Room are spacious and clean handy breakfast from 0630 cheap price m2 quite even tho is a stone's through Away

Reviewed by
j hall

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bad parking and chargable £10.00

Reviewed by
J RIDGWAY

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior Room
Def go for a superior room as much quieter than ord room.
Hotel a little dated & tired but still okay.

Reviewed by
Trevor D

From Portree, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Base for London
We stopped at the Inn on the lake to vist our daughter who works nearby, we also caught the train into London and spent the day sight seeing, we were pleasantly surprised with the room, it was large, clean and tidy with a full size bathroom, we paid a little extra and booked a lakeside room, glad that we did as the rooms on the other side of the hotel face the busy A2 road, so we had a much prettier and quiter outlook, there is a bar that serves meals and drinks, we did not eat there but instead went in to nearby Cobham for a pub lunch, there was a good choice at breakfast and the service ans food was very good, we will almost certainly stay there again especially now we know the local area as there are lots of places to go.

Reviewed by
P Bates

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice settings. Value for money
Staff were friendly and helpful . The hotel is set in lovely surroundings which are peaceful and relaxing . This hotel has a lot to offer in the way of organised theme nights It has a lovely function room . The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable . I would recommend this hotel has being good value for money

Reviewed by
P Upchurch

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel, if I am in the area I would love to stay again.
Very accommodating staff, and better beds than Premier Inn.

Reviewed by
P Cantwell

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price
First the good points. Great size room for the price. Nice and clean. Service was good at reception and breakfast. Enjoyed my continental breakfast and the full english breakfasts looked good - served individually and efficiently. Pay the extra for a room overlooking the lake otherwise you may have a problem with traffic noise from A2. Good location on A2 but make sure you follow instructions or use sat nav to get there. There was a 21st Birthday party going on when we arrived but it didn't disturb us and music subsided by 12.00 and no rowdiness of guests.
The quality is reflected in the price - we had a cracked washing bowl and the loose fitting wall attachment holding the shower meant a bit of engineering required to get the shower in the right position (room 56). In most hotels you will have glasses - plastic or glass for use in the bathroom and the main room but there were only two in the bathroom. There were 6 milk cartons for coffee/tea so enough for a hot drink in the evening and the morning without having to contact reception - even plusher establishments fail to do this sometimes.
When it was built this establishment would have been superior to a Premier Inn or Travel lodge but over the years the lack of maintenance shows - but I must stress this is reflected in the price and no complaints about cleanliness - the cleverest touch is the full length mirros which definitely make you look about 3 inches slimmer than you really are.

Reviewed by
Kenneth H

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next