No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lake House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Waterhead Waterhead Bay, Ambleside, LA22 0HD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Countryside & Romantic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering
stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. The establishment is centrally placed ideal for exploring the whole area. Lake house has various styles and sizes of accommodation to suit every need, all rooms are en-suite and have flat screen t.v, DVD player and music system and tea and coffee facilities.
Some rooms have a lake view at a supplement. Guests staying at Lake House have the use of the restaurant (evening meals)at The Regent, which is just 400yards away.



Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals & fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views.
Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it
yourself style!! Across the road from the Lake House is the boating jetty from which you can take a steamer to Bowness-on-Windermere and around the
Lake. The centre of Ambleside is a five minute walk or so into town. Sailing and cruises are available at the beautiful Lake Windermere, just 100 metres from the hotel.

Please note this hotel is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.

Please note that this property is regrettably not suitable for children.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Lake House , Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake house
Excellent, friendly accommodation. Ideally located near to a couple of nice restaurants.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake house lodge
We stayed the night there an really couldn't. Fault it , room was very nice an clean , had a great view of lake ect , breakfast was very nice , staff friendly and polite , probably best place so far we've stayed in

Reviewed by
Keith Boreland

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short midweek break
Friendly welcome, excellent accomodation and close to the Lakeside.
Although this was Bed and Breakfast - the sister hotel close to the waterside (Ther Regent)offered excellent service and food - great value

Reviewed by
Anne G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was buffet style and the food tended to be overcooked.
Room was ok but noise from other bathrooms extreme at times.

Reviewed by
E Treasure

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lake house
Lovely rooms and good customer service. Had to move rooms however, due to boiler room noise. Fantastic views from breakfast room

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake house
Because of a Motorway accident (not ours) we were delayed considerably. A telephone call to the hotel explaining the problem resulted in a very late arrival going entirely smoothly. We had a typed greeting with instructions on how to gain access to reception and our room.

Reviewed by
W Putman

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel position
Having stayed all over the lake district at varying types of accommodation, I think this hotel is up there with the best. Good value for money, good size rooms, great breakfast and dog friendly. It also has a sister hotel over the road near the lake which you can get discount off the bar meals and restaurant. All in all two nights away at a good hotel

Reviewed by
M Watts

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not such a lake view
We stayed in room 16 of the hideaway. You couldn't really see the lake because of the trees, but we liked the privacy of having our own entrance. The room is clean and spacious but quite basic, I was expecting a little bit more to be honest.
During the stay my nightwear went missing (probably mixed up in the laundry) I am still awaiting to see if they send them back, but when i spoke to them they were pleasant and said they would look for them, so fingers crossed. We had a pleasent stay and no real problems.

Reviewed by
Mariann F

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake House
Great place to stay. Loved our time there

Reviewed by
D Quinlan

From USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Very nice hotel Clean/tidy and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
J Daji

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next