No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lake House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Waterhead Waterhead Bay, Ambleside, LA22 0HD
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering
stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. The establishment is centrally placed ideal for exploring the whole area. Lake house has various styles and sizes of accommodation to suit every need, all rooms are en-suite and have flat screen t.v, DVD player and music system and tea and coffee facilities.
Some rooms have a lake view at a supplement. Guests staying at Lake House have the use of the restaurant (evening meals)at The Regent, which is just 400yards away.



Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals & fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views.
Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it
yourself style!! Across the road from the Lake House is the boating jetty from which you can take a steamer to Bowness-on-Windermere and around the
Lake. The centre of Ambleside is a five minute walk or so into town. Sailing and cruises are available at the beautiful Lake Windermere, just 100 metres from the hotel.

Please note this hotel is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.

Please note that this property is regrettably not suitable for children.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Lake House , Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break
Very comfortable & relaxing B&B. Beautiful views out over Windermere. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
John B

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay at Lake House.
The property had been recommended by friends.
Live up to reviews and recommendations.
Excellent stay.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to visit

Reviewed by
Daniel N

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great and relaxing stay
A great location overlooking Lake Windermere - a beautiful view from our bedroom window. Everything about the stay was fantastic - from the clean and spacious room, to the helpful and friendly staff. Food was great too. Would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Currie

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location disappointing room
The location of this guest house is excellent due to its elevated position and proximity to Lake Windermere and the town of Ambleside. However a narrow, steep drive makes access tricky especially if turning left onto the drive from the main road.
Our room was never warm enough throughout our stay despite turning the radiator to maximum. It seemed to us that one radiator was not enough to heat the room adequately. Consequently we were not totally comfortable which is not what we expected from a 4 star rated accommodation. There was a considerable amount of banging and drilling to disturb our peace on arrival for which no explanation or apology was forthcoming.

Reviewed by
C Lacey

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant!
The room was very clean and spacious, the bed was extremely comfy. The ensuite was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and friendly and had good knowledge about the local restaurants and things to do near the hotel. Good location of hotel, lovely views from the room of the lake. If you like watching DVDs excellent selection to choose from in the reception with no charge. Absolutely brilliant!

Reviewed by
Kirsty Fannon

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake House
Excellent accommodation! Very comfortable and clean. Stylish rooms. Lovely staff. Perfect!

Reviewed by
judith crombie

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A genuine bargain
Stayed out of season so extremely good value Room was clean and spacious location is outstanding and the breakfast is excellent. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Barry O

From Cheddar, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake House
Great place to stay - good location too.

Reviewed by
Chris Yarrow

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Could not really fault it. If I was being "picky" I would say it was slightly expensive but then again not by Lake District standards

Reviewed by
Beverley Holroyd

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next