No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lake House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Waterhead Waterhead Bay, Ambleside, LA22 0HD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Countryside & Romantic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering
stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. The establishment is centrally placed ideal for exploring the whole area. Lake house has various styles and sizes of accommodation to suit every need, all rooms are en-suite and have flat screen t.v, DVD player and music system and tea and coffee facilities.
Some rooms have a lake view at a supplement. Guests staying at Lake House have the use of the restaurant (evening meals)at The Regent, which is just 400yards away.



Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals & fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views.
Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it
yourself style!! Across the road from the Lake House is the boating jetty from which you can take a steamer to Bowness-on-Windermere and around the
Lake. The centre of Ambleside is a five minute walk or so into town. Sailing and cruises are available at the beautiful Lake Windermere, just 100 metres from the hotel.

Please note this hotel is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.

Please note that this property is regrettably not suitable for children.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Lake House , Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Very nice hotel Clean/tidy and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
J Daji

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay at Lake House
Polite, efficient staff, great location, lake view, clean & comfy room, lovely breakfast, good parking.
Only slight problem was that some of the buttons on the TV remote control didn't work. Should've mentioned it as we left really, but with such a great view of Waterhead, we shouldn't really have been watching TV!

Reviewed by
Lee W

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exelent

Reviewed by
R Amatt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thoroughly enjoyable
Excellent room and very helpful and friendly staff. Wiuld certainly come again

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Night Stay Superior Double Room
Location as expected with Ambleside a short 10 minute walk away. Hotel in elevated position allowing views of Windermere and the langdale pikes in the distance. Self service breakfast enjoyable. The Superior room allocated was at the front of the hotel allowing views as mentioned. The room was clean and comfortable. No issues. Made for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
A Berry

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Have stayed here twice in the last month, excellent service and cleanliness. would love to have room overlooking lake, but always seem to book too late

Reviewed by
j arrowsmith

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect retreat
We stayed at Lake House in Ambleside for 3 nights registration was straightforward and we were informed when breakfast was served, where the computer was and a section of DVD's available to watch. From there we were directed to the rear of the property to the Hideaway rooms which were ideal. We had room 20 and it was tastefully decorated and had a good sized en-suite . It came with the usual television but also a fan and an umbrella which came in handy as it was raining n our arrival. Around Lake House were several restaurants and pubs each serving good food.
Really enjoyed our stay and will look to book the Hideaway rooms again

Reviewed by
Andrew Imrie

From Sunbury on Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every respect.. W ill definitely recommend and return.

Reviewed by
John Sissons

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I booked only the day before for our wedding anniversary through late rooms. The hotel was excellent and the staff very efficient and upbeat! the views from the breakfast room was wonderful. Had bed and breakfast only with was excellent and lots of variety. have booked again to stay in late July as soon as we returned home, the only downfall was that we were in room 14 and some of the other rooms had fantastic views.

Reviewed by
j arrowsmith

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Had a good weekend, nice a relaxing. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
D Henderson

From Larbert, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next