No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lake House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Waterhead Waterhead Bay, Ambleside, LA22 0HD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Countryside & Romantic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering
stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. The establishment is centrally placed ideal for exploring the whole area. Lake house has various styles and sizes of accommodation to suit every need, all rooms are en-suite and have flat screen t.v, DVD player and music system and tea and coffee facilities.
Some rooms have a lake view at a supplement. Guests staying at Lake House have the use of the restaurant (evening meals)at The Regent, which is just 400yards away.



Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals & fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views.
Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it
yourself style!! Across the road from the Lake House is the boating jetty from which you can take a steamer to Bowness-on-Windermere and around the
Lake. The centre of Ambleside is a five minute walk or so into town. Sailing and cruises are available at the beautiful Lake Windermere, just 100 metres from the hotel.

Please note this hotel is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.

Please note that this property is regrettably not suitable for children.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Lake House , Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, only a short walk from town centre. Not suitable for people with walking problems as access is via steep steps or driveway. This is the only downside to the hotel though.

Reviewed by
A Hughes

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meh

Reviewed by
M Higgins

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for couples
Really enjoyed our stay here. We were in the hideaway rooms which were good, clean & in a great location. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. We would stay here again if visiting Ambleside.

Reviewed by
Christopher C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous views, very friendly helpful staff
We will definitely stay here again, beautiful views from our room, very comfortable bed, clean and spacious room, lovely little touch was the heated bathroom floor, we had breakfast in our room only because the views were too good to miss.

Reviewed by
p donnelly

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome Break
Lovely hotel with a spacious room with a good view. It was very well situated being opposite the ferries and only a short walk into Ambelside.

Reviewed by
S Lucas

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, very highly recommended!!

Reviewed by
J Earnshaw

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake house
Excellent, friendly accommodation. Ideally located near to a couple of nice restaurants.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake house lodge
We stayed the night there an really couldn't. Fault it , room was very nice an clean , had a great view of lake ect , breakfast was very nice , staff friendly and polite , probably best place so far we've stayed in

Reviewed by
Keith Boreland

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short midweek break
Friendly welcome, excellent accomodation and close to the Lakeside.
Although this was Bed and Breakfast - the sister hotel close to the waterside (Ther Regent)offered excellent service and food - great value

Reviewed by
Anne G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was buffet style and the food tended to be overcooked.
Room was ok but noise from other bathrooms extreme at times.

Reviewed by
E Treasure

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next