No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bennetthorpe , Doncaster, DN2 6AD
The Earl of Doncaster Hotel is superbly located within 500 metres of Doncaster Racecourse and the Town Centre, offering free on-site parking. This impressive Art Deco, 4 Star, Classic British Hotel, has beautifully designed executive bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a magnificent Ballroom that epitomises all the character and charm of the hotel. The hotel offers luxurious, contemporary accommodation, with spacious en-suite, air-conditioned rooms throughout. The hotel’s restaurant - Cafe bar Concerto, offers an impressive environment in which to enjoy champagne Afternoon Tea or an A la Carte, locally sourced Menu. The Function suites are perfect for special occasions or corporate gatherings from 2-350. The newly refurbished Ballroom is easily transformed from facilitating the most formal conference into an impressive banqueting venue for the most prestigious event. The Earl – one of Doncaster’s best kept secrets.

Picture of Earl of Doncaster Hotel, Doncaster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay for a wedding
The suite was freezing and it was impossible to heat it so we turned the heating off after 4 hours of it allegedly being at 30 degrees C. The bed was comfortable and the television was big enough to see from it. There was evidence of the occupants before us on the floor and on the settee that hadn't been cleaned away. There was no fridge and the lights were so dim I had to use the torch app on my phone to see the heater controls with all the room lights on. We had lunch shortly after arrival and when I ordered 'Escalope of Pork Cordon Blue' I got Queen Scallops in a tomato sauce??? My wife had completely finished her meal before my replacement arrived but that was probably my own fault as the waitress was upset enough without me making a fuss.. The buffet at the wedding was fine but there were no condiments either at point of service or on the tables, strange? Breakfast the next morning was just OK but plentiful. At check out no-one asked us about our stay or looked like they even cared.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Earl of Doncaster Hotel
Booked as family but were on different floors. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Other family booked and rooms were very different for same price paid.

Reviewed by
C Duff

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely Art Deco hotel
The hotel was lovely and only a 5 minute walk to the racecourse. Comfortable beds and a spot on breakfast . A top 4* hotel.

Reviewed by
J Hamilton

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
We regularly stay in 'nice' hotels for weekend breaks, while the Earl of Doncaster is a modern hotel it didn't live up to what we were expecting. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable, however there was layers of dust inside the wardrobes, the doors to the balcony couldn't be opened as the balcony hadn't been finished with guard rails, there's no opening windows so no fresh air, the shower head is the wrong fitting for the size of cubicle (sprays to the side rather than on you), complimentary tea/coffee was minimal, overall a little disappointing.

Reviewed by
D Moore

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super hotel will definitely return in the future

Reviewed by
David L

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent art deco hotel
This was our second trip to the hotel, and hope it wont be our last.

Reviewed by
J Kempster

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful on the inside!!
My husband and I drove past the hotel twice whilst looking for it as the outside is very understated and does not scream 'Hotel'. Inside, wow! It is a beautifully clean hotel decorated in an art deco style and no attention to detail has been spared. Our room was a double executive and it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linen was of a high standard. Our bathroom was large and had both a sink and a stand alone shower. Toiletries were beautiful too. We did not eat at the hotel as we had already made plans but if the rooms and the service in the bar & reception are anything to go by, Im sure the meals will be beautiful too.

Reviewed by
L Keogh

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night family visit
Arrived at 2.15, check in straight forward, friendly staff, had to wait ten mins as booking through Late rooms.com the hotel hadn't registered I needed a twin and not a double. Staff were apologetic. The room was very clean and had a nice view over the park. All the complimentary requirements were in place. Breakfast in the morning was very good and reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel if you are happy to pay a little more over and above others in the town for that extra comfort and splendid décor.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Excellent Earl
We stayed at the Earl of Doncaster Hotel as we were going to Doncaster Races. As well as being well located for the races (within easy walking distance) everything about the hotel - staff, décor, food, service was brilliant. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody planning to visit Doncaster.

Reviewed by
Colette M

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly contemporary hotel
Rooms are excellent, by far the best hotel in the UK that I've stayed in in a while. Friendly and extremely helpful staff.

Reviewed by
L Atherton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next