You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Earl of Doncaster Hotel

4

Bennetthorpe, Doncaster, DN2 6AD

Price From 109.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • nikita bearder

  • April 2016

Earl of Doncaster Hotel

Had a fantastic night away could not fault anything the hotel was gorgeous, clean and we felt very welcome food was incredible and Will certainly be staying again

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be of the highest quality.

It is incredible to discover that you found the art deco feel to be to your liking. We certainly do try our best to make every Guest feel welcome into our establishment.

Our Cafe Bar Concerto is popular with locals and residents, and we are pleased that you found the food to exceed your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to The Earl of Doncaster in the near future. Keep an eye online for the latest special offers and best available rates by visiting our website, facebook, twitter and other social media platforms.

Kind Regards,

The Earl Of Doncaster Team.

  • Julie Hughes

  • March 2016

Lovely friendly staff they had been extremely busy as Mother's Day but nothing was too much trouble.

Beautiful hotel very clean with amazing decor.

Extremely friendly professional and polite staff. My room was stunning and the bed very comfortable. Lovely facilities with plenty of tea coffee etc additional and luxurious bathroom products . Shower gorgeous hot and powerful . Had dinner and it was excellent in lovely surroundings with black and white films showing with soothing background music and stunning Art Deco dining room. I will Definately return for a leisure cost and would highly recommend a visit to anyone.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be of the highest quality.

Thankyou for your kind comments about staff's hospitality on Mother's Day. Although we did have an event on, we strive to treat each guests needs individually, and we are delighted to see that you found the staff to exceed your expectations.

We pride ourselves on offering a unique environment, and we like to make sure the establishment is kept well presented at all times. We have a Maintenance team that work hard to ensure the Hotel is consistently at its best.

It is nice to read that found your bedroom to have the required facilities. We like to offer an assortment of drinks to enjoy on arrival. Our The White Company shower accessories are popular with Guests, and it appears they have been with you too.

Our Restaurant offers a stylistic setting for Lunch, Afternoon Tea or Dinner, and it appears you very much enjoyed it. Your comments about the food will be passed back to the Head Chef, and hopefully we will be welcoming you back for another meal when you visit again.

Thankyou once again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to The Earl of Doncaster in the near future. Do remember to keep an eye online for the latest special offers and best available rates by visiting our website, facebook, twitter and other social media platforms.

Kind Regards,

The Earl Of Doncaster Team.

  • Ganna S

  • March 2016

Nice hotel

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be of the highest quality.

It is delightful to read that you found our Hotel to be nice and comfortable. We pride ourselves on offering a warm and welcoming service, and it appears that you very much found this to be the case. Hopefully during your visit you managed to find time to dine in our art deco Cafe Bar Concerto Restaurant, where we serve a variety of menus including our popular Afternoon Tea offering.

Thankyou once again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to The Earl of Doncaster in the near future. Do remember to keep an eye online for the latest special offers and best available rates by visiting our website, facebook, twitter and other social media platforms.

Kind Regards,

The Earl Of Doncaster Team.

  • Peter S

  • December 2015

Disappointed

The hotel was understaffed, the trainee on reception when we arrived did well to deal with an unexpected situation about payment, but she had no management back up.

The restraint was set up for a function, therefor not available. The room was comfortable, but why when there are two people arriving do they only provide 1 chocolate drink and 1 pack of biscuits.

Tea and cereal and toast was the offering for continental breakfast. No pastries (our delivery didn't arrive) no breads and cheeses and a poor selection of fruit. At £8.00 a day not very good. Overall a very below average experience, left feeling very underwhelmed. .

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be below your expectations.

It is concerning to read you found the Hotel both understaffed, and without sufficient Management. We rarely receive complaints about their being an insufficient number of staff as we keep all areas fully prepared and staffed throughout the day. Furthermore, we have at least one Duty Manager on shift as standard twenty four hours a day. However, as this was not evident, we will look into how we allocate staff moving forwards during peak time such as when you visited. Again, we would like to apologise if this caused any inconvenience, and it nice to see that the trainee Receptionist was able to deal with the payment problems that arose.

We are very sorry that the Restaurant was not available during your stay. On certain nights throughout the year we hold Events in our Cafe Bar Concerto, and this is what must have been on during your stay. However, you should have been able to relax in the Lounge Bar and be served a meal in there, and it is disappointing to read this was not

offered. This will be passed back to the teams to ensure they know the procedure for Residents who do not wish to attend our Events.

Your comments about only supplying one Chocolate Drink and one pack of Biscuits will be passed back to the HouseKeeping Manager. We really hope this was raised on the day so additional packets and sachets could have been brought to your room. Furthermore, your feedback on the Breakfast was saddening to read. We do offer a selection of bakery items as standard, as it is disappointing to read these were not available during your stay.

Thankyou once again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to The Earl of Doncaster in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Earl Of Doncaster Team.

  • Shaun Husband

  • December 2015

Fantastic

The hotel is stunning inside our room out of this world and the staff couldn't do enough to help you.

Thank you all.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be of the highest quality.

It is delightful to read that you found the Hotel and the Bedrooms to your liking. We truly do offer something out of the ordinary with our unique 1930’s art deco style. Your comments about the Bedrooms will be passed to our HouseKeeping Manager, whose staff we are sure will be excited to see how much you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments about the staff are also very kind. Our team here at the Hotel are very experienced, and extremely knowledgeable about the local area. Your comments will be passed to the relevant Manager at the Hotel.

Thankyou once again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to The Earl of Doncaster in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Earl Of Doncaster Team.

  • Louise R

  • May 2015

A great stay and very friendly staff

My colleague and I booked a couple of rooms last minute and were very pleased with how accommodating the staff were - in particular, Diane on reception, she was fantastic.

Extremely friendly and very helpful during our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and decorated tastefully. The food in the restaurant was good, however the service was pretty slow on one particular occasion, but the staff handled it very well and did not charge us for one of the meals and offered a couple of free drinks. Overall, I was very impressed with the Earl of Doncaster and would recommend it to people travelling to the area. Very good value for money too.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be of the highest quality.

I will be sure to pass on your nice comments about Diane. As for the rooms we are constantly maintaining their quality to make sure we meet and exceed our guest's expectations.

I would like to apologise about the wait you endured when dining in the Cafe Bar Concerto Restaurant. Hopefully the complimentary meal and drinks were enough to recover this service. Be assured I will pass this onto the correct people within the Hotel to ensure that our service is as strong as possible.

Thankyou once again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to The Earl of Doncaster in the near future, and do remember to keep an eye online for the latest special offers and best available rates along with our special offers on our facebook, twitter and social media pages.

Kind Regards,

The Earl Of Doncaster Team.

Regards,

Jonathan.

  • Julie C

  • January 2015

Excellent

Excellent cooked breakfast served by two waitresses that are a credit to the hotel.

  • Robert M

  • November 2014

Overnight stay for a wedding

The suite was freezing and it was impossible to heat it so we turned the heating off after 4 hours of it allegedly being at 30 degrees C.

The bed was comfortable and the television was big enough to see from it. There was evidence of the occupants before us on the floor and on the settee that hadn't been cleaned away. There was no fridge and the lights were so dim I had to use the torch app on my phone to see the heater controls with all the room lights on. We had lunch shortly after arrival and when I ordered 'Escalope of Pork Cordon Blue' I got Queen Scallops in a tomato sauce??. My wife had completely finished her meal before my replacement arrived but that was probably my own fault as the waitress was upset enough without me making a fuss.. The buffet at the wedding was fine but there were no condiments either at point of service or on the tables, strange. Breakfast the next morning was just OK but plentiful. At check out no-one asked us about our stay or looked like they even cared.

  • C Duff

  • November 2014

Earl of Doncaster Hotel

Booked as family but were on different floors.

Staff were lovely and very helpful. Other family booked and rooms were very different for same price paid.

  • J Hamilton

  • November 2014

A lovely Art Deco hotel

The hotel was lovely and only a 5 minute walk to the racecourse.

Comfortable beds and a spot on breakfast . A top 4* hotel.