No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chimney Corner Hotel

2Irish Tourism board Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
630 ANTRIM ROAD , NEWTOWNABBEY, BT36 4RH
Orginally built as a nineteenth century coaching house, the Chimney Corner Hotel continues to offer guests a warm personal welcome. Only fifteen minutes from Belfast International Airport and Belfast City Centre, and within easy reach of all ferry terminal, the Chimney Corner is the perfect location for individual guests or conferences and seminars.

Chimney Corner Hotel guests have long recognised the good value the hotel has to offer; that’s why they keep coming back. All 62 rooms have en suite bathrooms along with direct dial telephone, television, radio, trouser press and coffee/tea making facilities.

But the Chimney Corner is about a lot more than great value accommodation. Here guests can combine the demands of a working day, with the pleasures of a full service restaurant and an outstanding night club.
Picture of Chimney Corner Hotel, NEWTOWNABBEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best suited for younger people.
The hotel is ok for basic accommodation, needs refurbishing.Our room was at the front and car park and road noisy it was especially noisy on the Saturday night due to night club. We did not sleep until 4 am. Car doors banging and shouting outside window. There was also people up all night going in and out of rooms near ours banging and shouting on other nights. Broken glass in car park.

Reviewed by
M Annan

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst hotel ever
Absolutely dreadful hotel, unclean room, faulty hotel equipment and rude hotel manager and reception staff, will never stay here again, advise to anyone, avoid at all costs

Reviewed by
t relph

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant for the price
People at reception were very helpful, even printed out my boarding pass. Bed was a little bit hard but that is personal preference. I am 6 foot 2 and I had to bend down for the shower, that was my main issue with the place but for the price, I can put up with it. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
P Williams

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything that was needed was provided. Fault was that it is very close to the motorway so with the window open it is quite noisy. It was a vry hot night the night we stayed. The breakfast was very good,

Reviewed by
Eileen M

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First overnight stay in Belfast
Staff at Chimney corner were courtious without being overly friendly. Very happy with room, Clean and spacious and quiet at night. £37 although i'd forgotten this didn't include breakfast. I was checking out when reminded that breakfast was £5. I had a brilliant day and evening in Belfast city centre. I walked 20 mins from hotel to get the 1c hourly bus on a saturday through Glengormly into the city. lovely wee family pub 3 mins walk from hotel called the Crown and Shamrock. Its been in the family for some 200 years. The Lady owner was lovely and helpful about the buses.
Would not hesitate to come back to belfast. Chimney Corner Hotel is perfect for getting back over to Larne to catch the ferry back home to Scotland.

Reviewed by
Robert Henderson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place and lovely people,Jim who worked in bar and restuarant is a credit to this hotel.
Once again its the people who make a visit special,Jim was great as were the lovely ladies on reception.I would stay here everytime i come to belfast.So welcoming . Thank you

Reviewed by
den morgan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New mattresses please
The mattress was that old and lumpy it was like sleeping on a sack of coal - not good

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this hotel was booked just as a get away with my husband for our anniversary the rooms were clean although there was a strong smell of dampness in the room i had to open both the bedroom and bathroom windows and spray stuff to try and get rid of it we went to the hotel bar for a quick drink before they closed which was a nice bar with friendly staff and people in it when the bar closed the barmaid told us we could go to the residence bar if we wanted so we decided to go for a quick drink the resident bar was a mess there were lots of guys (when i say loads there was at least 15 at 1 stage) running around the bar with no shoes on like they lived in the place, to me it seemed more like a halfway house for theses people we where only there 10 mins when another 2 groups of them came to check in they were noisey to say the least with all sorts of delivery men coming and going with food for them i would definately not stay here again and neither would i recomend it to any of my friends or family

Reviewed by
a lavery

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice loved the freeview television had a good choice enjoyed my stay nice clean room and bed

Reviewed by
alfred blodwell

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad word to say about this place, staff were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was good. The rooms are quite dated but clean and tidy. We arrived at about 9am, check in not being until 1pm but they were kind enough to find us an empty room straight away . Location isn't great, not much around. If using taxi I would recommended using the hotel approved service as much cheaper than others. Very pleased with the hotel, you can't go wrong for the price. There is a bus stop with buses to Belfast right outside

Reviewed by
Leah B

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next