No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chimney Corner Hotel

2Irish Tourism board Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
630 ANTRIM ROAD , NEWTOWNABBEY, BT36 4RH
Orginally built as a nineteenth century coaching house, the Chimney Corner Hotel continues to offer guests a warm personal welcome. Only fifteen minutes from Belfast International Airport and Belfast City Centre, and within easy reach of all ferry terminal, the Chimney Corner is the perfect location for individual guests or conferences and seminars.

Chimney Corner Hotel guests have long recognised the good value the hotel has to offer; that’s why they keep coming back. All 62 rooms have en suite bathrooms along with direct dial telephone, television, radio, trouser press and coffee/tea making facilities.

But the Chimney Corner is about a lot more than great value accommodation. Here guests can combine the demands of a working day, with the pleasures of a full service restaurant and an outstanding night club.
Picture of Chimney Corner Hotel, NEWTOWNABBEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Very pleasant, fairly average in terms of room size and facilities.

Reviewed by
S Bevan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy
The hotel is old and needs a major refurbishment. I ordered a medium steak and I had it served well done which I was not happy with. And the £15.50 was very tough.

Reviewed by
P Gwanzura

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hair raising - - - - - - Not
When contacted reception to ask if hairdryer was available we were told that due to health and safety issues all hair dryers had been removed from rooms. No hair dryer available for guests. Similarly the room did not have remote control for TV and when contacted reception staff did not bring to room but rather asked that we call down to collect. No lifts and we both suffer poor health so this was inconvenience.

Reviewed by
J Bardon

From downpatrick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent cheap hotel
This hotel is a no frills place, it's an good place to crash have a bar meal and a pint. Room was very clean but basic but that's reflected in the price.

Reviewed by
E Almack

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay at the Chimney Corner Hotel , well situated for Newtownabbey, , Belfast and the coast. I just wished the WiFi connection had been better: I could only connect in the entrance lobby, but apart from that a comfortable and friendly place .

Reviewed by
Suzanne A

From OXFORD, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very good value for money and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
karen c

From Limavady, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value at the Chimney Corner Hotel
I was looking for a hotel in the centre of Belfast, but was not inclined to spend £100 for a budget hotel. So I settled for this hotel on the outskirts. It is linked to central Belfast by the M2 motorway and took less than 10mins to get to the centre of the city. The rate for a double room was a very competitive £37. I found the hotel extremely clean, quiet and the staff were very friendly. The meal in the hotel was excellent value and tasted great. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Graham H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy night!
Firstly the positives, good sized room with large bathroom, sheets and towels spotlessly white, reception staff more than welcoming. Negatives, although a non smoking room there was an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke in the room and the corridor, quite overwhelming on entering the room - I did report this on checking out and it was noted. The hotel and rooms need a good makeover, for example the tiles date to the 70's and carpet and furnishings show wear and tear. All this when only staying one night can be put up with for the price paid so near to Belfast but what was unacceptable was the level of noise on the corridors from midnight to after three in the morning, lots of people returning to rooms talking and shouting, probably didn't help as my room was near one of the staircases going up to the bar, even had one man outside my room talking on his mobile with some unacceptable language for about 15 minutes at 3am! As a woman staying on my own I never open my door for any reason at night so was not going to challenge any of the obviously drunk hotel guests. Maybe this was a one off bad night but it would put me off using it again.

Reviewed by
MARGARET B

From Londonderry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More than basic at a basic price.
Plain but functional - everything I needed, the wifi was even almost fast and lots of eateries in Glengormley just down the road if you didn't fancy the hotel restaurant's decor. And a real pub in easy walking distance. And exceptionally helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Antony C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised at the standard of accomodation at such a low cost .The room was clean and spacious .There was a decent sized ensuite bathroom with a full sized bath .The reception was manned all night and we received a wake up call at 5.30 We ate lunch in the restaurant .The food was well cooked ,well presented and tasty.The waiter was attentive and pleasant.We even took the opportunity to sit out on a sunny afternoon in the pleasant secluded garden at the back of the hotel.Situated only 20 min from ferry.All in all a very pleasant experience.We would be happy to return and happy to reccommend

Reviewed by
a campbell

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next