No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today.

A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds.

So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.

Dogs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
lovely four poster room, really clean good breakfast and dinner staff were perfect

Reviewed by
Paul F

From UK, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown and Cushion Hotel
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Room were clean and tidy. They had shower but not practical to use. The bed is a bit soft for us, but bedding was cleaned. Not keen on buffet hot breakfast when served to order much better. Choice of continental good. Overall stay good.

Reviewed by
harry edwards

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was better than we expected, large clean and comfortable. A bit of a hike from reception but not a problem. The buffet breakfast would have been perfect if the food had been a bit hotter and the water for tea had been hot. Possibly a staff training issue. The staff were all polite and friendly. We would stay again

Reviewed by
D Parry

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
no complaints rooms were nice clean warm nicely decorated, the staff were very efficient dinner and breakfast very good

Reviewed by
M L

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 28
Only to add that I would prefer a room where I can control the temperature. The added electric heater in the room, to off set the central heating when not on, was a little suspect given the 2 scorch marks on the carpet it had left by previous occupants. The bath had scour marks where it had been scrubbed over the years so the surface wasn't smooth. I also would not prefer to have a shower where I have to hold the shower head.

Reviewed by
Suzette Pancoust

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, cosy and friendly.
We were delighted with our spacious room although it was a long way from the main hotel and there was no Wifi access in the room because of that. Supper in the cosy bar was excellent both in quality and value and the bar staff were very helpful. Sadly breakfast seemed to have insufficient trained staff on duty to replenish the food as necessary so there was a lot of waiting around on both mornings. We will however be happy to stay again as it is a very friendly hotel and suits us well.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms to the front a lot of road noise and just enough in room ie: coffee/shower gel

Reviewed by
Michael s

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be so much better!
I stayed for 5 nights, along with colleagues (in separate rooms!) There was no hairdryer, no hotel information booklet, no toiletries in the room. The bedclothes were very thin - and the radiators in the room didn't seem to work. I called reception on the first night and the receptionist very kindly brought an electronic heater up, which I kept for the rest of the week. That was great. However, the walls were so thin, on several nights the neighbouring people kept me awake until the early hours shouting at each other - despite having had the staff ask nicely that they keep the noise down. The breakfast items had clearly sat on the buffet for some time. On the final morning the hotel decided to change the breakfast arrangements, but didn't tell anyone - so we got the the restaurant and waited for 30 minutes - completely ignored by the waiting staff - until one of us had to go to reception to find out what was going on. Seems that they had decided to take the buffet away and cook breakfasts to order. Needless to say we were late out.

Reviewed by
Tammy M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality accomodation at budget price
had a cracking stay at the crown and cushion...very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and decent room ..

Reviewed by
s rowlson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was good value for money

Reviewed by
L Godfrey

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next