No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today.

A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds.

So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.

Dogs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little find
A wonderful, proper rural hotel with character. Lovely staff on the desk, great rooms, each individual. Nice atmosphere. Will be staying again.

Reviewed by
T Rose

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable but in need of cosmetic improvement
As others have noted, the hotel would benefit from redecoration and new carpets - but I have seen much worse elsewhere.
A definite positive was the bed - probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in

Reviewed by
Tim B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
Lovely room and great service.

Reviewed by
Helder S

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom we stayed was a little tired, but clean. Staff friendly. Food in the restaurant very good. Would stay there again. Good location to visit the various cotswold villages and towns.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Complaints
Really enjoyed my stay room was very nice and warm staff very professional and breakfast and dinner very good

Reviewed by
Louis P

From UK, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold
The hotel was lovely couldn't thought it. The only thing bad about our stay was the heating wasn't working and the mini heater we had in the room was broken! The fact it was -10 outside didn't help either but was a lovely stay other than that

Reviewed by
Connor G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Towards the North Pole!
It was a grand, clean, well appointed room with a four poster bed but, alas, no curtains to keep out the draft. It was a long journey upwards down many corridors and the temperature gradually got colder. Radiators vanished or failed to work. On the coldest night of the winter so far, the heating in the room matched the 'stately home' furnishing bar a coal fire! An electric heater was feeble though, by the second night, it gained strength and warmed the room. Sleeping was like a fitful doze in a fridge only stiflingly warm under the blankets. However, all this improved by the second night.
My friend's bar meal was not exactly gourmet. Not expected to be. But he did expect the pie to be moist and the dessert to have crisp pastry. My choices were better, more mundane but well enough! The fire in the bar was a delight. The service excellent.
It is very centrally placed and useful for looking round Chipping Norton and going to the delightful theatre for the pantomime.
On the whole, except for the bitter cold, it was decent value for the money and comfortable and the service was good. The swimming pool might have served better as an ice rink on this occasion!

Reviewed by
D Burrow

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend trip
This is the second time we have stayed at the Crown and Cushion, and a couple of things let it down. There was no soap in the bathroom and when we asked, we were told that it had been on order since Monday (this was Friday). Boots the chemist was two doors away, could have bought some. The other thing that let it down was the breakfast was not very hot. Last time it was cooked as we ordered. This time it was on a hot plate, and it wasn't a success. Having said all that, we couldn't fault the dinners that we had on Friday and Saturday evenings nor the service that we had.

Reviewed by
Janette Chapman

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
We stayed for 2 nights last weekend...room looked tired, bathroom had mould on the ceiling, no toiletries in the bathroom, not even soap...There was a lot of noise at night from people outside or coming up the stairs...breakfast below average...sliced bread for toast, dry pastries, no yoghurt, no lattes available only coffee from an urn. We did have dinner both nights, food was really nice and staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
C Bartram

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
lovely four poster room, really clean good breakfast and dinner staff were perfect

Reviewed by
Paul F

From UK, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next