No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Cushion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 High Street , Chipping Norton, OX7 5AD
A warm welcome to the Crown & Cushion Hotel. In an area steeped with history the Crown & Cushion is a relaxing home away from home. Originally a 15th Century Coaching Inn - the Crown and Cushion is now a proud 40 bedroom hotel right in the heart of the Cotswold's. In the past the Crown and Cushion was owned by the legendary drummer Keith Moon from 'The Who' and his legacy of decadence lives on today.

A New Era in now here, under new ownership, it would be an understatement to say, the locals have seen a vast improvement in standards, service & attention to detail as well as a re-decorate and freshen up. As well as boasting 40 en-suite bedrooms there is a cosy, traditional bar, bistro restaurant, comfortable lounge, alfresco dining on our the floral terrace, private dining room (up to 16 guests), 160 guest function suite (with own bar & separate entrance), 2 further conference rooms, health club - pool, gym, squash court and WiFi available in the hotel grounds.

So why not come in, relax and let the surrounding peacefulness of the countryside take you away.

Dogs are allowed at a cost of £5.00 per dog per night.
Picture of Crown & Cushion Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 100 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms to the front a lot of road noise and just enough in room ie: coffee/shower gel

Reviewed by
Michael s

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality accomodation at budget price
had a cracking stay at the crown and cushion...very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and decent room ..

Reviewed by
s rowlson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be so much better!
I stayed for 5 nights, along with colleagues (in separate rooms!) There was no hairdryer, no hotel information booklet, no toiletries in the room. The bedclothes were very thin - and the radiators in the room didn't seem to work. I called reception on the first night and the receptionist very kindly brought an electronic heater up, which I kept for the rest of the week. That was great. However, the walls were so thin, on several nights the neighbouring people kept me awake until the early hours shouting at each other - despite having had the staff ask nicely that they keep the noise down. The breakfast items had clearly sat on the buffet for some time. On the final morning the hotel decided to change the breakfast arrangements, but didn't tell anyone - so we got the the restaurant and waited for 30 minutes - completely ignored by the waiting staff - until one of us had to go to reception to find out what was going on. Seems that they had decided to take the buffet away and cook breakfasts to order. Needless to say we were late out.

Reviewed by
Tammy M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was good value for money

Reviewed by
L Godfrey

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointing
Receptionist very polite and helpful. Room very small and looked tired the net curtains dragged on the sill Bed comfortable but the pillows quite hard Shower was very good however no shelving inside cubicle to put soaps and shower gels on,the bathroom clean the sitting area had full compliment of refreshments but the tray with kettle on had no nearby power socket so we had to put in on the table where the tv was not really practical When we arrived we asked about the restaurant and was told no need to book when we got down there half an hour later they had no room for us and on enquiring perhaps later? was told they were fully booked and advised to go to bar which we did to be told no spare table they all seemed to have reservations on them We were flabbergasted and luckily the receptionist came into the bar and we spoke to him and they squeezed us onto a table for two . They tables remained empty and only started filling up when the local dominoes club arrived as we were finishing our meal!

Reviewed by
Patricia C

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel building with great potential .
Lovely old building let down with lack lustre service . Waiting staff at breakfast sullen and unhelpful . Room could have been laid out much better ( had to put the kettle on the floor to reach a plug !) . A welcome pack telling you some of the hotels history would be nice.

Reviewed by
R Presslee

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friday 19th september 2014
Booked 3 rooms for 6 members of a wedding party to stay in on the way to a wedding in the Cotswolds staff were very friendly and accommodating even allowing us to check out late at no extra cost. Having the pool was also a bonus, would not hesitate to book this hotel again..

Reviewed by
michael davis

From leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Lovely stay the staff were brilliant as was the food and service

Reviewed by
Richard close

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap room, cheap service
For a late booking for a bank holiday we got a bargain of only £140 for two of us, two nights with breakfast.. Room was absolutely fine. Service was awful and practically non-existent. Food in the main restaurant was awful. Breakfast was fine, and meals in the bar were good pub grub. They just didnt seem to know what they were doing service wise which meant an incredibly long delay to get drinks; no local knowledge of the area to help us with walks (the information office being closed in the town, on weekends!).

Reviewed by
Penny A

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful Staff
A short stay, accommodation good, evening dinner and breakfast cooked to order.

Reviewed by
S Hoy

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next