No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bartley Lodge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cadnam New Forest, Hampshire, SO40 2NR
Nestled in the medieval hamlet of Cadnam yet only minutes from the M27, this luxurious Grade II listed hotel offers secluded New Forest accommodation with elegant dining, free Wi-Fi and parking. Tucked away at the end of a long meandering drive, this classic hotel provides a warm and welcoming haven from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Originally built as a hunting lodge in the mid-18th Century, it is well-known by historians as the former home to the famous geologist Charles Lyell. The refined grace of its historic past combined with 8 acres of beautiful grounds, help to cultivate a heady atmosphere of enchanting romanticism and genteel grace.

The Hotel offers 40 en-suite rooms, each immaculately maintained and above all, exquisitely comfortable. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, every room comes fully-equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV with Sky Channels, complimentary toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also offer spectacular views of the surrounding grounds and woodland. The Hotel is committed to preserving the rich heritage of the New Forest and encourages others to do the same. Such a stunning landscape would not exist if not for the keepers, agisters, verderers and the crown. In tribute to their work, the Hotel has named each of its room types after them. So, whether enjoying the luxurious grandeur of the Crown Rooms, the spacious Verderer Rooms, the delightful Agister Rooms or the cosy Keeper Rooms, travellers of all kinds are sure to appreciate the spectacular history of their surroundings.

The AA Rosette Crystal Restaurant serves delicious meals using local produce in a beautiful dining room overlooking the gardens. In the summer months, guests can appreciate the cool breeze as the French doors onto the garden are opened whilst in the winter a roaring log fire keep everyone warm and cosy. Providing an authentic New Forest experience, the award-winning chefs are committed to using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce wherever possible. There is also a comfortable lounge area, a terrace and a traditional bar area each of which is perfect for enjoying pre and post-dinner drinks with friends old and new.

There is plenty to do when you stay at Bartley Lodge. Take a moment to relax in the Hotel's ornate, heated, indoor swimming pool. The stunning location and impeccable service also make for a great venue for weddings and other celebrations. What’s more corporate customers are sure to appreciate the peaceful atmosphere and the Hotel’s five flexible meeting rooms. The hotel hosts weddings and private functions with music throughout the year. Please note disruption is kept to a minimum.

The Hotel is situated by the village of Cadnam, not a five minute drive from Junction 1 off the M27 and with ample free on-site parking it is both convenient and accessible. The nearest city is Southampton, just over a 15 minute drive away and it offers fantastic rail links to the rest of the country. There are local train stations at Totton and Ashurst, both just a 10 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Heathrow is a 75 minutes by car or there’s the smaller Southampton Airport just 15 minutes away. The New Forest is a renowned for its beautiful landscape and diverse wildlife; as such it offers plenty of opportunities for walking, cycling, nature treks, bird-watching and horse-riding. The hotel can be found in Cadnam, a quaint hamlet with many friendly pubs as well as the Cadnam Cricket Club. Just a short distance away, visitors can discover Furzey Gardens, Minstead Church, the Rufus Stone (which marks the spot where King William II is said to have been killed by an arrow in 1100 AD) and the village of Lyndhurst with its shops and museum. A little further afield and there is a whole host of other attractions including the Beaulieu Motor Museum, Bucklers Hard, Paultons Park and Peppa Pig World in Romsey, Exbury Gardens and Marwell Wildlife, all of which make for a fantastic day out. Southampton, Winchester and Bournemouth are all just a short drive away as are the beaches at Mudeford and Highcliffe. There’s even the market town of Lymington, where visitors can catch a ferry to the Isle of Wight.

Picture of Bartley Lodge Hotel, Hampshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel staff and food will be staying there again
Friendly , really lovely hotel and comfterble rooms

Reviewed by
amanda prowting

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seek an alternative.
The good bits first - quiet location, free wifi, very helpful staff. That's it. Now for the rest. The décor is unbelievably dated. The bedrooms are in desperate need of modernizing/fefurbishment. The plumbing in the en-suites is noisy and antiquated. The bar is tiny and grubby. The "lounge" is impersonal. The buffet breakfast was fine. The dinner menu looked limited and expensive - I didn't bother.

Reviewed by
John Barrie C

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and helpful
Room was clean and comfortable
Service at breakfast was excellent as was the food
I would definately book again

Reviewed by
M Dawson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a beautiful place to stay
Booked online via another website and i couldnt of been happier with the choice of hotel. Turning up still in my work clothes later than most, i felt a little uneasy as the lodge isnt like other hotels ive been used to staying in. But instantly, the staff on reception made me feel very welcome regardless of my appearance. Pleasant, friendly and approachable staff made my stay very comfortable. My room, had everything that i needed. TV, radio, tea/coffee facilities, ensuite, wifi, adequate towels and a very comfy bed. Breakfast in the morning was just what i needed too. The option for all cereals but i couldnt resist a proper full english! Situated in stunning grounds, id highly recommend for anyone i knew to stay there and wouldnt hesitate to stay there again myself. First class.

Reviewed by
matt newman

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
This has the potential to be a great hotel. The building and setting is lovely, and very convenient for M27. However, it lacked the edge I expect for somewhere like this. Nothing major but small things like: receptionists on auto pilot and lacking personal touch; bar menu uninspiring and expensive (as a result walked though grounds to very good local pub - much better menu and cheaper); dirty food trays left in hallway for 11+ hours; breakfast not available before 7.30; loud, very intrusive music in all public areas (not fitting with type of hotel); etc. All easily fixed - though may need change at top. Even though I got a good deal on room via Laterooms I 't be rushing to return.

Reviewed by
Nigel L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

behind the facade
Sat nav took me to a stables behind. Beautiful building and grounds but the room was tiny and the shower poor. Food again looked nice but I was ill afterwards with no wine involved

Reviewed by
nigel e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience
Would certainly recommend. Clean, attractive country manor style hotel with an exclusive feel

Reviewed by
Scott H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly helpful staff and a great location

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Hassocks, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NIce enough but don't turn off the underfloor heating in the Bathroom!
We booked for one saturday night, Me My Wife and our 11 month old baby. Upon arrival the room seemed perfectly adequate. no more no less, but seeing as we'd booked late and the Travel cot was waiting for us set up we were very happy. The room, Room 7, was very hot, but it was a hot summers day so we assumed it would cool. I requested a fan from reception and when we got back to our room after taking the baby for a swim it was waiting for us. By now outside the heat of the day was fading but not in our room.
There was wedding reception in full flow during our stay which we would not have been an issue for us except the windows for our room which we'd have like d to open to cool the room while the baby was sleeping as the room thermometer read 30C, overlooked the yard/gardens where everyone was congregating. The level of noise they generated meant the windows had to remain shut.
Dinner was nice, and even trough we hadn't book the staff found us a table and high chair. The service was fine, steady and efficient.
After dinner, and with tusk cooling the evening considerably our room was still nearly 30C. At this point we discovered the bathroom floor was roasting. I asked reception 'how do you turn off the underfloor heating in the bathroom?'. 'Umm you don't have any'.
So the switch we found and turned off apparently did nothing and we had to sleep unto of the sheets with the windows shut and the fan on full.
Service at breakfast was slow and clumsy. The waitress kept telling every one how many covers there were back logged and why it was slow this morning, and griping about stuff to her colleagues. Honestly i don't care if you're busy or how many teas and coffees you have to get because there is a wedding party in. If you can't milk your cash cow thats your problem, don't make it mine.
The next day as we were clearing our room the baby was in the Bathroom splashing in a large puddle covering the bathroom floor. This had come out of the toilet and contained every thing you don't want your baby splashing in!! The underfloor heating switch that wasn't apparently turned off the toilets ability to flush! Great a sign would have been helpful. i.e. Don't turn off this switch.
We spoke to the receptionist, who throughout our short visit had been excellent- the stand out member of staff at this hotel- and after guiding the manager through the swamp in our bathroom we came to a mutually agreed course of action.
I would stay here again, but i'd check if there was a wedding in first, I'd want a room at the front of the hotel not the back and i'd want to see a sign next to the toilet switch confirming it would knacker the toilet to switch it off.

Reviewed by
N Rutherford

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barley lodge hotel review
Great place to stop after a great wedding me and my family went to

Reviewed by
Neil Mallam

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next