Reviews - Ravensdene Lodge Hotel


55 Consett Road, GATESHEAD, NE11 0AN

Price From 99.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (29)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Joanne S

  • September 2015

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in!

This hotel is in great need of modernisation.

But firstly it needs to know cleanliness. From the moment you walk in the reception area it smells like the sewers and the further you go into the hotel it gets worth. The bedrooms were shocking, big cob webs, Mold on walls, carpets that haven't been hoovered never mind carpet cleaned ever in their life time. You felt as if you had to walk around in shoes as your feet felt like they were getting dirty. The double bed looked more like a larger single or 3/4. The shower head wasn't even fitted on the wall, just dangling over the soap container. I will not be staying here again or recommending it to anyone else.

  • E Grant

  • July 2015

You get what you pay for

We stayed here as it was relatively close to a 40th party we were attending in the suburbs, the fact it was cheap was a bonus.

It is hard to say anything positive about this hotel, other than it probably would have been quite nice back in its day, but today it just looks tired and dated. Upon arrival music was blaring and there were some interesting characters getting hammered in the hotel bar. It's at this point that I realised there are some things in life which can be *too* cheap, and hotels are certainly we were pretty much heading straight out, we thought we'd grin and bear it as to be fair the room was clean albeit cheaply furnished, tired and dated. I had to go back down to reception to ask how to lock the door from the outside as there was a special knack to it (in my opinion to stop drunks locking themselves out in the middle of the night, referring back to my 'interesting characters' remark above). I thought it strange this hadn't been mentioned in check in, but it just goes to show the general lack of interest in their customers. When we returned back to the hotel about 1am, the bar was full of drunks, one of whom then smashed a window of another guests room in a fit of rage. I think that sums up the sort of people using this hotel... When we checked out early the next morning the receptionist took our key in silence, never once asking us how our stay was or even saying good morning. We had a free continental breakfast with the room but our opinion of the hotel was by this point so dire we couldn't face eating there, and waited on the roadside at the front for a taxi.

In short I would say if you're a group of lads who like drinking and fighting, then stay here. Every other sort of party avoid like the plague... I wish we'd have paid double for a 'normal' hotel.

  • Helen C

  • July 2015

Avoid ! Avoid! Avoid!

Rude or incompetent staff.

Tired and dated decor. Dirty/ mouldy shower, damaged room fittings, TV that can hardly be heard, partly obstructed fire exit routes, windowless bathroom with no working light , unlockable room door, etc..

Health & safety concerns as night staff unable to find contact numbers for managers and unable to assist with simple tasks e.g. locating and changing a lightbulb, so how would they cope in a real emergency ?. Three rooms were booked , one was unusable due to some of the aforementioned defects so three family members had to share a room booked as a single. After being made to feel like a liar by the rude morning male receptionist we managed to get a discount for the unslept in room but not for the single that had to sleep 3 in N.B. Luckily the single room had several beds in. The only positives were the large car park and clean crisp white bedding.

  • angela doolan

  • June 2015

overnight stay

We stayed overnight and wish we would have stayed longer the staff were friendly and helpful the food was great I would recommend the hotel to others x

  • J North

  • May 2015

Nice hotel

Nice big room, both the 2 double beds were very low and not exactly comfortable, definitely need new better mattresses.

Bathroom big and ok.

  • Russell M

  • March 2015

Ideal for business

My colleague and I stayed at the hotel recently and were pleasantly surprised.

Accommodation is ideal for accessing Team Valley where we were working. Food was excellent and superb value for money. Staff were all polite and helpful.

  • N Hamada

  • February 2015

Ravensdene Lodge Hotel

Nice little hotel, with spacious rooms and polite helpful staff

The only two things I take against is there was some for of machinery noise at night which later stopped and the room door was a bit loose and not securely looking

  • Alan W

  • February 2015

Overnight stay

Accommodation was fairly basic but adequate.

Perhaps when a couple book into a room a second chair could be provided rather than having to lie on the bed. It was quite noisy during the night with guests arriving back late and talking which I appreciate is not the hotels fault but gave us a disturbed night. We had a meal which was reasonable and the price good.

  • Anthony T

  • February 2015


Floodlight lit room, leaky tap/shower attachment, pathetic dribble from shower, wifi not working in room as stated in advertising.

No offer of a room change, but another man next day did!

  • R Lant

  • January 2015

Not as bad as you think

The staff were excellent, cannot fault the service at all.

The room however was not very clean the television did not work and the shower only had two temperatures scolding or freezing. We ended up with double the amount of beds to people, there was limited rooms available online and between we booked 2 double rooms 1 single room and a room that slept 3, as this was all that was available to cater our group of 8. When we arrived each room had at least 3 if not more beds in, we could have all fit it two rooms feel like we may have paid more that needed.