Reviews - Ravensdene Lodge Hotel


55 Consett Road, GATESHEAD, NE11 0AN

Price From 73.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (27)

59% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Ostler

  • November 2015

Poor rooms , noisy worst nights stay, awful customer service following stay

Staff on reception were fine and helpful in terms of where to go.

However in the room we were presented with plastic quilts and had to request twice for covers to be put on, the television did not work and lampshades were stained. When we returned after our night th were some noise but being 26 myself I accepted this. What I do not accept is for this to continue until 6am with a group in and out of rooms shouting, banging doors etc and one man incessantly knocking on a door, including ours. Staff members in the morning were polite and agreed with us that it was acceptable and gave us details for a complaint. That's where the helpfullness ended. Failed responses to emails, false promises on phone calls and then when the manager did call me back she felt that it was just a lively night in the hotel, even though their cameras don't pick up sound, and that if I wasn't happy I should have left earlier I explained I had been drinking and live 4 hours away to be told I should have got a taxi and paid for another hotel. Disgusting customer service. The beds were also like camp beds with the springs popping being able to be heard. I wouldn't recommend to an enemy. Not sure what was worse the night or the managers attitude following the stay

  • P Kleber

  • October 2015

One of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in

My wife and I left at 4 o clock in the morning because of noise in room and in the hallway shouting running up and down.

Complaining to staff didn't sort it out as they were drinking with some of them in the bar. Couldn't make a cup of tea as kettle was full of green slim. Offered another room with camping beds in it . And two-week's later still have not been in touch with me after several phone calls and daughters had a room opposite us room not very clean and shower not working properly.

  • Joanne S

  • September 2015

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in!

This hotel is in great need of modernisation.

But firstly it needs to know cleanliness. From the moment you walk in the reception area it smells like the sewers and the further you go into the hotel it gets worth. The bedrooms were shocking, big cob webs, Mold on walls, carpets that haven't been hoovered never mind carpet cleaned ever in their life time. You felt as if you had to walk around in shoes as your feet felt like they were getting dirty. The double bed looked more like a larger single or 3/4. The shower head wasn't even fitted on the wall, just dangling over the soap container. I will not be staying here again or recommending it to anyone else.

  • E Grant

  • July 2015

You get what you pay for

We stayed here as it was relatively close to a 40th party we were attending in the suburbs, the fact it was cheap was a bonus.

It is hard to say anything positive about this hotel, other than it probably would have been quite nice back in its day, but today it just looks tired and dated. Upon arrival music was blaring and there were some interesting characters getting hammered in the hotel bar. It's at this point that I realised there are some things in life which can be *too* cheap, and hotels are certainly we were pretty much heading straight out, we thought we'd grin and bear it as to be fair the room was clean albeit cheaply furnished, tired and dated. I had to go back down to reception to ask how to lock the door from the outside as there was a special knack to it (in my opinion to stop drunks locking themselves out in the middle of the night, referring back to my 'interesting characters' remark above). I thought it strange this hadn't been mentioned in check in, but it just goes to show the general lack of interest in their customers. When we returned back to the hotel about 1am, the bar was full of drunks, one of whom then smashed a window of another guests room in a fit of rage. I think that sums up the sort of people using this hotel... When we checked out early the next morning the receptionist took our key in silence, never once asking us how our stay was or even saying good morning. We had a free continental breakfast with the room but our opinion of the hotel was by this point so dire we couldn't face eating there, and waited on the roadside at the front for a taxi.

In short I would say if you're a group of lads who like drinking and fighting, then stay here. Every other sort of party avoid like the plague... I wish we'd have paid double for a 'normal' hotel.

  • Helen C

  • July 2015

Avoid ! Avoid! Avoid!

Rude or incompetent staff.

Tired and dated decor. Dirty/ mouldy shower, damaged room fittings, TV that can hardly be heard, partly obstructed fire exit routes, windowless bathroom with no working light , unlockable room door, etc..

Health & safety concerns as night staff unable to find contact numbers for managers and unable to assist with simple tasks e.g. locating and changing a lightbulb, so how would they cope in a real emergency ?. Three rooms were booked , one was unusable due to some of the aforementioned defects so three family members had to share a room booked as a single. After being made to feel like a liar by the rude morning male receptionist we managed to get a discount for the unslept in room but not for the single that had to sleep 3 in N.B. Luckily the single room had several beds in. The only positives were the large car park and clean crisp white bedding.

  • angela doolan

  • June 2015

overnight stay

We stayed overnight and wish we would have stayed longer the staff were friendly and helpful the food was great I would recommend the hotel to others x

  • J North

  • May 2015

Nice hotel

Nice big room, both the 2 double beds were very low and not exactly comfortable, definitely need new better mattresses.

Bathroom big and ok.

  • Russell M

  • March 2015

Ideal for business

My colleague and I stayed at the hotel recently and were pleasantly surprised.

Accommodation is ideal for accessing Team Valley where we were working. Food was excellent and superb value for money. Staff were all polite and helpful.

  • N Hamada

  • February 2015

Ravensdene Lodge Hotel

Nice little hotel, with spacious rooms and polite helpful staff

The only two things I take against is there was some for of machinery noise at night which later stopped and the room door was a bit loose and not securely looking

  • Alan W

  • February 2015

Overnight stay

Accommodation was fairly basic but adequate.

Perhaps when a couple book into a room a second chair could be provided rather than having to lie on the bed. It was quite noisy during the night with guests arriving back late and talking which I appreciate is not the hotels fault but gave us a disturbed night. We had a meal which was reasonable and the price good.