No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ravensdene Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
55 Consett Road , GATESHEAD, NE11 0AN
The Ravensdene Lodge Hotel is in a perfect location situated 5 minutes from both Newcatle City Centre and Metro Centre. Whether arriving by road, ferry, train or plane getting to us couldn't be any simpler.

At the heart of the transport links yet set in a leafy suburb we can provide the best of both worlds. For business visitors , the Team Valley Estate is conveniently situated 2 minutes away. At the Ravensdene Lodge we take great pride in the food we offer. From the breakfast buffet with fresly cooked full English breakfast to a late night snack, you can be assured of our commitment to quality and value for money at all times. It is a perfect venue for a business gathering. Whether you require facilities for a small conference or a large presentation you can be assured of our best.
Picture of Ravensdene Lodge Hotel, GATESHEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay at the Ravensdene Lodge Hotel
Greeting at reception was very warm. The hotel room was clean but bed not the comfiest (i am a fussy sleeper though so a tough call). The carpet was dated and stained but the room was clean. Breakfast was continental but sufficient (all self service). Only used the hotel as an overnight sleeping base.

Reviewed by
s fletcher

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Ravensdene Lodge, Gateshead
This was a standard 'commercial' hotel which catered mainly for one night stay guests who were on business.
The rooms were clean, but very basic and lacked some home comforts such as an easy chair to watch televisison and toiletries such as hand soap.
The public areas were rather drab and dark and annoying wide screen televisions showing football on all the time.
Breakfasts were advertised as inclusive continental which were limited. For an extra cost of £7.00 a day a full English was available and the quality was good. The booking website needs to be amended as the wording implied that a full English breakfast was included in the nightly cost. Because I was staying 7 nights the management agreed to include a full English breakfast in the original price, but it would have put me off staying there again if they had not.
The staff were excellent and extremely pleasant and helpful. However, the number of staff available at any one time was limited and sometimes it was necessary to hunt them down to get service!
I would be willing to stay at Ravensdene Lodge again, but accepting that it was not up to the standard that a regular hotel or bed and breakfast offered few home comforts and certainly no luxuries!

Reviewed by
Penelope Kendall

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairly grotty hotel, with paper thin walls and very little sleep!
Room was ok but radiator in bathroom was stuck on full blast in june.
Sheets were clean but bedspreads were grubby and stained.
TV in our room did not work. Free tea and coffee though!
Obviously a party hotel, with a big spit and sawdust bar area. We were kept awake from 2.30 am until 5.00 am by party people in the room next door. Also people screaming and running up and down corridor all night.
Breakfast was included and was cereal and toast ( fine) but all breakfast tables were dirty and uncleared when we went down halfway through breakfast period.

Reviewed by
c amos-hirst

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, good location, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
k parker

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointed, stay here as last choice

Reviewed by
david m

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night only
On arrival the first thing that was said to me was - "don't leave anything in your car" which was a little worrying. As it was, all went well.
My only real comment is - PLEASE invest in some new mattresses, the ones in my room were very thin and very well worn. Other than that, for the money I paid I can't argue.

Reviewed by
D Neil

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average for a party-er!
This hotel was a bit scutty. The room seemed spotless but as our stay progressed we figured out a few things such as our shower didnt work properly and the cleaners hardly cleaned your room. But the hotel is for young people who are solely there to party so there was lots of noise til late at night. One woman banged on my door cos I had my telly on when I got in fr town at 2am yet there were people all over the hotel we could here really drunk, laughing, fighting, etc. but that's what you'd expect from this sort of hotel. Just expect the worst. One thing that annoyed us was when we got our breakfast we were in a conservatory infront of all the room windows and one guy threw up right out of his window while we were eating then wiped his mouth on the curtain. It was disgusting!!!

Reviewed by
S Passey

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
Good accommodation and good food

Reviewed by
Anthony Musselwhite

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but basic
You get what you pay for. A tired room that could do with a good dusting. But it was quiet whilst I was there and comfortable bed. Very thin walls so quietness depends on neighbours. Breakfast was real disappointment. Very little choice for a continental breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Webb

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable price
Me and my friend needed a hotel prior to a night out in Newcastle. We chose this one... £50 for a night on a Saturday. The room was clean, the bed was probably the comfiest I've ever been in... And we had everything we needed. Only downside was the rudeness of the reception staff. Teenage girl on her phone not really bothered about us at all...

Reviewed by
Scott E

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next