Ravensdene Lodge Hotel

3

55 Consett Road, GATESHEAD, NE11 0AN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (43)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Robinson

  • September 2013

Fairly Good

Hotel was good, friendly staff, nice bar area.

  • Anthony D

  • September 2013

Value and Location!!

This isn't the Hilton, but in terms of what you pay, this hotel is excellent value for money.

Rooms are clean, stylish and spacious with twin double beds and a generous sized en-suite with bath and shower. There was also tea making facilities, a trouser press, a hairdryer and a television which were all in good working order. The bar area is large and comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere and also shows sky sports, and will stay open for residents only until you are ready for bed!. The staff were very friendly, informative and accomodating regardless of the nature of stay. The location is also great, costing only around £10 for a taxi to the Newcastle Gate area, which is great value when you consider the cost of a city centre hotel and what you get, The inclusive continental breakfast was sufficient but ordinary with toast, cereals, fruit juice, youghurt tea an coffee, however make sure you get there early enough as the self-service breakfast bar didn't seem to get replenished throughout the breakfast period. Apart from that, I would reccomend this hotel and will certainly be staying here again on my next visit.

  • s fletcher

  • September 2013

A short stay at the Ravensdene Lodge Hotel

Greeting at reception was very warm.

The hotel room was clean but bed not the comfiest (i am a fussy sleeper though so a tough call). The carpet was dated and stained but the room was clean. Breakfast was continental but sufficient (all self service). Only used the hotel as an overnight sleeping base.

  • Penelope Kendall

  • August 2013

Visit to Ravensdene Lodge, Gateshead

This was a standard 'commercial' hotel which catered mainly for one night stay guests who were on business.

The rooms were clean, but very basic and lacked some home comforts such as an easy chair to watch televisison and toiletries such as hand soap. The public areas were rather drab and dark and annoying wide screen televisions showing football on all the time. Breakfasts were advertised as inclusive continental which were limited. For an extra cost of £7.00 a day a full English was available and the quality was good. The booking website needs to be amended as the wording implied that a full English breakfast was included in the nightly cost. Because I was staying 7 nights the management agreed to include a full English breakfast in the original price, but it would have put me off staying there again if they had not. The staff were excellent and extremely pleasant and helpful. However, the number of staff available at any one time was limited and sometimes it was necessary to hunt them down to get service. I would be willing to stay at Ravensdene Lodge again, but accepting that it was not up to the standard that a regular hotel or bed and breakfast offered few home comforts and certainly no luxuries.

  • david m

  • July 2013

very disappointed, stay here as last choice

  • c amos-hirst

  • July 2013

Fairly grotty hotel, with paper thin walls and very little sleep!

Room was ok but radiator in bathroom was stuck on full blast in june.

Sheets were clean but bedspreads were grubby and stained. TV in our room did not work. Free tea and coffee though. Obviously a party hotel, with a big spit and sawdust bar area. We were kept awake from 2.30 am until 5.00 am by party people in the room next door. Also people screaming and running up and down corridor all night.

Breakfast was included and was cereal and toast ( fine) but all breakfast tables were dirty and uncleared when we went down halfway through breakfast period.

  • k parker

  • July 2013

nice hotel, good location, friendly staff.

  • Jayne Smith

  • June 2013

Saturdays is hen and stag nights

Do not stop at this hotel on Saturdays unless you are on a hen or stag night.

We left the hotel at 4:10am due to the noise. We were not informed that the majority of people who stay on weekends are on stag and hen nights out. Phone in the room did not work so could not complaint to reception so got dressed and left. Spent the next 4 weeks making verbal complaint and although sympathetic after 4 weeks asked me to put it in writing and when I did, even though they had intimated they would give me a partial refund they refused.I had to make all phone calls. Only time I got a call back was when I left my work phone number and said ring before 4.30pm and they rang the number during the evening. Very good at talking but no action. Said they couldn't refund as I had not given them the chance to rectify the matter. Also told me there was no noise. Would you get up at 4:10am and drive 2 hours home on a whim. Also, was informed to read reviews in future when booking hotels. Nice.

  • S Passey

  • June 2013

Average for a party-er!

This hotel was a bit scutty.

The room seemed spotless but as our stay progressed we figured out a few things such as our shower didnt work properly and the cleaners hardly cleaned your room. But the hotel is for young people who are solely there to party so there was lots of noise til late at night. One woman banged on my door cos I had my telly on when I got in fr town at 2am yet there were people all over the hotel we could here really drunk, laughing, fighting, etc. but that's what you'd expect from this sort of hotel. Just expect the worst. One thing that annoyed us was when we got our breakfast we were in a conservatory infront of all the room windows and one guy threw up right out of his window while we were eating then wiped his mouth on the curtain. It was disgusting!!.

  • D Neil

  • June 2013

one night only

On arrival the first thing that was said to me was - "don't leave anything in your car" which was a little worrying.

As it was, all went well. My only real comment is - PLEASE invest in some new mattresses, the ones in my room were very thin and very well worn. Other than that, for the money I paid I can't argue.