Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
75% would recommend it to a friend
Spacious apartment, great location
Myself and my partner chose this over a hotel room.
It was a lot more spacious and only a few minutes walk from the town and a short walk to the lake.
Reasonable for the price
This place was pretty cheap for a holiday let.
The size was fine for a family of four. It was a bit tired visually but the landlady said it would be redecorated later in the year. There was a washing machine but it was disconnected - a bit inconvenient with 2 kids getting grubby. Other than this everything else was in working order and mostly clean. One of the reasons we picked this place was the gym membership but when we asked about this on arrival we were told this was no longer offered which left my wife unable to continue her training for competition. As most people never made use of this feature it probably won't affect others. Despite being told the ceiling was pretty sound proof there was a lot of noise transferred from the apartment above (TV, walking around, talking etc). Not a major issue but with 2 kids it meant bedtime took a bit longer. For the money it was reasonable value and functional.
Response from hotel
I am sorry you were not happy with our accommodation, when you stayed at Easter. I am really surprised you thought the apartment was tired as we make improvements every year, the 3 piece leather suite in the lounge is only 2 years old, the furnishings are all good quality solid pine as is the kitchen, bathrooms have been replaced in the last 5 years and both are fully tiled. Our beds are good quality as is our bedding, in fact the photos on the web site I think do not do this apartment justice, and I am surprised you booked to stay here when you could see exactly what you were getting, when you disliked it so much. I am sorry we could not offer you use of the leisure center, as the center that we had membership with has closed, and the only other place available is 3 miles away, and would cost us over £2000 a year for membership, and as so few of our guests ever wish to use it we don't think it would be worth while, as we would have to increase our tariff, and we feel our guests would prefer to get good quality accommodation at a very reasonable price. We offer our guests the cheapest accommodation for a one or two night stay in Windermere, we may be the cheapest but we are far from the worst. We do not advertise a washing machine, and as most of our guests stay only one or two nights, we do not think it is worth it, as very few of our guests want to wash clothes during there short stay. There is really only so much we can offer our guests for our extremely reasonable tariff, again all I can say is I am sorry you did not like it.
Our accommodation was everything we was looking for .
The hotelier was very helpful in all our needs .enjoyed our stay and would return .
Really well placed for the centre of town, but we didn't realise it at first, and went all round the one way traffic system. Apartment was great. Fully equipped with everything we needed. Very clean. Lots of hot water. Owner very friendly but left us alone after initial introductions and didn't impose. Would definitely stay again. Excellent value for money.
Lovely, well located and cosily warm apartment.
Very friendly and welcoming owners who had even put up a Christmas tree and decorations for us. There is a convenient small co-op at the end of the street.
Response from hotel
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, and do hope you will visit us again sometime you would be very welcome, it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. Happy new year to you all.
Kind regards, Irene.
It was very cold.
Heating could have been better.
Response from hotel
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. The gas central heating was on all the time you were here, and turned up to maximum, the max temperature is set by gas safe. We put it on well before you arrived to make sure it was nice and warm when you arrived, and you never mentioned that you felt it was not warm enough. The weather that night you were here was -4 and cold even for us, colder than Moscow. For a one night stay on a Saturday night at Christmas time, in a two bedroom apartment for 4 people with two bathroom's lounge and full kitchen, at £20 per person, could you have got better value for money anywhere else in Windermere? I know guests like you who come from very warm countries feel the cold here, but I am afraid we cannot give you Singapore temperatures. Sorry but the cold and rain is what makes England a green and pleasant land, so they say?
Nice enough - Would go back again
Was a good place to stay.
Very close to town centre/ cafes etc. Warm and clean enough. Kitchen could perhaps be a bit more stocked and organised (cutlery drawer is a bit mis matched and cluttered). There was a bit of a cooking smell in the kitchen/living area but nothing drastic. Could not find any baking trays to put stuff on in oven. Overall a good place to stay. Pool etc are about a mile away so that should be made clearer when booking.
Generally good but a couples do issues
The owner spend far too long showing us around the apartment and basically complained to us about all the problems previous guests had caused.
Although the apartment was warm, clean and well equipped the decoration was dated and tired and quality of fixtures basic. However, the shower was excellent. There was also a very unpleasant smell in the apartment - definitely not 4 star accommodation.
Response from hotel
I am sorry you were not happy staying here. You stayed in apartment no 3 for one night last weekend, and paid £110, for a two bedroom apartment, one double and one twin, for 4 people, with a large lounge with open plan dining area and fully equipped kitchen, with cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, etc, you were also supplied with washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, tea towel and dish cloth, and tea and coffee making facilities, you had free use of leisure center , with swimming pool, etc. bath and hand towels also supplied, TV and DVD player. Free Wi-Fi. This apartment was refurbished last year Our bed linen is Bedeck. The photos on the web site would have showed you exactly what the apartment looked like, can't understand why you booked if you did not like them?. The guests who were in the apartment before you had cooked some very smelly fish and I had an awful job to get rid of the smell, although I had scrubbed the kitchen and left all the windows and doors open all morning, plus spraying the apartment with fabreze, the smell was still slightly there when you checked in as I had allowed you to check in at lunch time instead of 4 pm our normal check in time,I had to close the windows early. I have no control over what kind of food guests cook here. This early check in allowed you to cook lunch and dinner here saving you a lot of money having to eat in restaurants. I did say you had to give the front door an extra push before locking as a previous guest had strained the door by not listening to my instructions of pushing up the handle before turning the key, hardly complaining of other guests? a look in our guest book would show where hundreds of previous guests had left comment's saying how much they had enjoyed staying here. A one night stay on this night at the local Y.H.A for a room with two sets of bunk beds, shared bathroom and no towels supplied, would have cost you £119 and this is a non profit making organisation. I think perhaps your expectations are a little high.
A wonderful place to stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this apartment and found it to be spotlessly clean and cosy.
The rooms are tastefully furnished and well-equipped. The owner was extremely helpful both before our arrival and during our stay.
We could not have wished for a more prefect location in which to enjoy the pleasures of Windermere.
Response from hotel
Thank you very much for for your lovely review, it was lovely to have such nice people stay with us, and we do hope you will come again, we would love to welcome you back.
Irene and Tony.
Excellent value for money
Apartment clean with everything needed for stay.
Friendly welcome. Great value - able to get an apartment for cheaper than most hotel family rooms. Very comfortable