Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Fornham All Saints Hotels > The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Fornham St. Martin,Bury St. Edmunds,Suffolk , Bury St Edmunds, IP28 6JQ
Situated only 5 minutes from Bury St, Edmunds, The Suffolk Hotel,Golf and Spa is the complete package. From pampered days our Elemis Spa, relaxing in the Leisure Club, dining in our restaurant to challenging your abilities at golf on our 18 hole Championship Golf course, you will find that the Suffolk Hotel and Spa is the perfect place for the whole family.

A warm welcome and a fantastic location are the first two things guests will notice about the Suffolk Hotel and Spa. Located on the outskirts of the historic town Bury St. Edmunds, the hotel has first-rate facilities including a golf course, a leisure club with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and our Inspired spa which is Bury St Edmunds only stockist of Elemis.

The conference amenities include flexible conference and function suites, all with natural light and Wi-Fi access. Our professional but friendly service also makes us very suitable for weddings and all celebratory events.

We can package together Golf inclusive breaks or tempt you to indulge on a Spa Weekend.

Our great locations means that we are an ideal base for exploring Bury St Edmunds, East Anglia and the surrounding counties, including the sights of historic Cambridge, Newmarket Race Course and the nearby Ely Cathedral.

Picture of The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel, Bury St Edmunds at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luke's experience
was easy to find, the room we had was standard so we had the basic bits you would expect like tea bags, kettle, little shampoos e.c.t.The staff were friendly and give clear directions to the room, the facilities were good too. room services was quick, overall , good stay. quick mention, you can get wake-up calls but if you put the breakfast card on the door at the same time you can have breakfast in bed.

Reviewed by
l higgs

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Arrived at 5 pm on Tuesday to be totally amazed by the difference between the online photo of the Hotel and what I saw.........looks like it hadn't been decorated throughout since the 70's........furnishings in the reception and bar/ clubhouse where very dated .......my room was comfortable.....I looked out over the championship golf course......which again is in need of some major investment....as a golfer I was not impressed and the icing on the cake was a wedding had happen over the bank holiday weekend and the main area of the hotel had several tables still propped up with dirty linen on them......if you are thinking of having a Break at this Hotel.........Think Again......

Reviewed by
A Greer

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing, expected better !!!!!!!
Needs updating badly. Carpets dirty and stained. My disabled mother had her own room a few doors from ours and one evening the night porter checked a couple into her room number, they opened the door while she was in her nightwear and using her oxygen, I heard her shouting my name and she was in a terrible state, having a panic attack. When I reported this the following day, all they said was sorry but don't know how that happened.
The only positives were that the breakfast was quite good and was nice to be able to use the gym and pool/jacuzzi.

Reviewed by
J Cave

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Is is a groty little place. Terrible.

Reviewed by
James W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Potential
Unfortunately this hotel has seen better days, rooms are tired and in need of refreshment. Insufficient staff to run the hotel efficiently.
Very limited menu.
However still far better value for money than your Travellodge or Premier Inn's
Great leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be so much better
"you do look a bit rough" is not the sort of thing you expect to hear from a receptionist when checking in even if you are in damp waterproofs! Well I'm afraid that is a phrase that can also be used to describe The Suffolk Hotel, ruff!
That however is not the whole story because this hotel could be so much better if it was given a good coat of paint, the carpets professionally cleaned and a general spring clean! because underneath it all I think there is a decent hotel trying to break through.
The bar area is in the best shape as this is where the members of the adjoined golf club drink (who were a nice friendly bunch).
The restaurant can only be described as tacky, the chairs are all covered with white nylon as though there is a wedding on or about to be on or just finished and no one has cleared up.
The food was okay, breakfast you have a small selection of cold item and a hot buffet, lunch is not served in the restaurant just a bar menu that is quite nice if a bit over priced (keeping prices high for the golfing crowd?) Dinner I only experienced on the first night and the starters would have been great had I been in the mood for fish, however I wasn't and was only left with the fennel an pomegranate salad that didn't have any pomegranate in it and very little fennel but a lot of salad leaves and 2 tinned cherries and some cheese also no comment from the waiter on this change!
This was followed by a nice sirloin steak which I found out half way through the meal was their last steak, even though I had been the first person in the restaurant that evening. I realise time are a little tight but to put out a dinner menu where you do not have more than 1 portion of over half the menu is stupid to say the least.
Would I stay here again possibly but I would make sure that I had some food with me because I wouldn't use the restaurant again!

Reviewed by
Andy Baker

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location,Check -in quick & easy...Nice room with balcony & view over golf course. Only thing to let it down was bathroom was a little shabby,in need of a paint as were some other areas of hotel. Breakfast was nice,buffet style. We only paid £53.10 for a double room & breakfast so were happy with everything really for that money.

Reviewed by
D Jarvis

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but in need of refurbishment
Chose it because it was cheapest, on a special last minute deal. Everything was OK but the fabric was getting a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was Ok but nothing special, glad we did not pay full price.

Reviewed by
Cliff H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive for a room with no A/C
Some dust after work changing locks and hole in bath panel

Reviewed by
Bob F

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suffolk Hotel Golf and Spa
Nice venue.Good service and good food.Quiet and peaceful

Reviewed by
C Adams

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next