Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Fornham All Saints Hotels > The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Fornham St. Martin,Bury St. Edmunds,Suffolk , Bury St Edmunds, IP28 6JQ
Situated only 5 minutes from Bury St, Edmunds, The Suffolk Hotel,Golf and Spa is the complete package. From pampered days our Elemis Spa, relaxing in the Leisure Club, dining in our restaurant to challenging your abilities at golf on our 18 hole Championship Golf course, you will find that the Suffolk Hotel and Spa is the perfect place for the whole family.

A warm welcome and a fantastic location are the first two things guests will notice about the Suffolk Hotel and Spa. Located on the outskirts of the historic town Bury St. Edmunds, the hotel has first-rate facilities including a golf course, a leisure club with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and our Inspired spa which is Bury St Edmunds only stockist of Elemis.

The conference amenities include flexible conference and function suites, all with natural light and Wi-Fi access. Our professional but friendly service also makes us very suitable for weddings and all celebratory events.

We can package together Golf inclusive breaks or tempt you to indulge on a Spa Weekend.

Our great locations means that we are an ideal base for exploring Bury St Edmunds, East Anglia and the surrounding counties, including the sights of historic Cambridge, Newmarket Race Course and the nearby Ely Cathedral.

Picture of The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel, Bury St Edmunds at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be so much better
"you do look a bit rough" is not the sort of thing you expect to hear from a receptionist when checking in even if you are in damp waterproofs! Well I'm afraid that is a phrase that can also be used to describe The Suffolk Hotel, ruff!
That however is not the whole story because this hotel could be so much better if it was given a good coat of paint, the carpets professionally cleaned and a general spring clean! because underneath it all I think there is a decent hotel trying to break through.
The bar area is in the best shape as this is where the members of the adjoined golf club drink (who were a nice friendly bunch).
The restaurant can only be described as tacky, the chairs are all covered with white nylon as though there is a wedding on or about to be on or just finished and no one has cleared up.
The food was okay, breakfast you have a small selection of cold item and a hot buffet, lunch is not served in the restaurant just a bar menu that is quite nice if a bit over priced (keeping prices high for the golfing crowd?) Dinner I only experienced on the first night and the starters would have been great had I been in the mood for fish, however I wasn't and was only left with the fennel an pomegranate salad that didn't have any pomegranate in it and very little fennel but a lot of salad leaves and 2 tinned cherries and some cheese also no comment from the waiter on this change!
This was followed by a nice sirloin steak which I found out half way through the meal was their last steak, even though I had been the first person in the restaurant that evening. I realise time are a little tight but to put out a dinner menu where you do not have more than 1 portion of over half the menu is stupid to say the least.
Would I stay here again possibly but I would make sure that I had some food with me because I wouldn't use the restaurant again!

Reviewed by
Andy Baker

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but in need of refurbishment
Chose it because it was cheapest, on a special last minute deal. Everything was OK but the fabric was getting a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was Ok but nothing special, glad we did not pay full price.

Reviewed by
Cliff H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive for a room with no A/C
Some dust after work changing locks and hole in bath panel

Reviewed by
Bob F

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suffolk Hotel Golf and Spa
Nice venue.Good service and good food.Quiet and peaceful

Reviewed by
C Adams

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional accomadation and helpful staff
Easy to find with Sat Nav. Good car park. Functional hotel with large rooms.
Signs to rooms and facilities could do with a few additions to make it easier not to get lost!
Overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't stay again
This hotel has gone down hill in the last few years. It's dated, grubby and badly maintained. The staff appeared to be just hanging around and sounded like they didn't want to do their jobs. The bar and bar service was ok and the view over the golf course was nice. The rest of the grounds are overgrown and in need of some attention. The breakfast food had been sat out for a while. The staff were not well trained in hygiene and customer service. The room was old and dirty with stains, marks and chips on everything. A lot of the fittings needed replacing, especially in the bathroom. We were put in a room with an internal door to the adjoining room. This meant that all night we could hear the man in the next room which kept us awake. The swimming pool are was very mouldy with broken tiles and grates. The showers and changing rooms were much the same.
I regretted staying there and would recommend people to avoid staying there.

Reviewed by
Nicola G

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor standard of rooms flaking paint and in need of refurbishment. Would not stay again!!

Reviewed by
K Martin

From Bury St Edunds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Suffolk Golf and Spa
The room was disgusting and dirty, when we checked in our room cost £80 for the night and we had to call the night porter to move rooms as there were dead insects on our net curtains and hair in the bed, the night porter said there was nothing he could do and we would have to write to the General Manager, how can we have been excpected to sleep in this whole. We checked out the following morning at 8am as we were so unhappy.

Reviewed by
Catherine Kidson

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Improvement needed.
What at first appeared to be bargain ended up a major disappointment. Firstly the staff at the hotel could not be faulted as they were all friendly, welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately we were not informed that there was a wedding function taking place which meant noise levels were unacceptable up to 2.30am and again from 5.30am (this was after someone set off fire alarm at midnight). The function was probably also the reason why we waited an hour nearly for room service only for the wrong order to be delivered and poor quality food. The bed was uncomfortable with springs coming through. Breakfast was fine and again staff were good but after hardly any sleep it was hard to give a considered opinion. Shame as the setting was lovely and so were the staff.

Reviewed by
R Brazier

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient Accommodation
The accommodation was good value for money but the hotel had inconsistent services. The room was clean but a little dated in facilities, the noise from the upstairs room was annoying at times.
The breakfast food was good for 2 mornings but on one there was no fresh fruit. We ate in the restaurant one evening, one meal was good but a roast dinner seemed as if it had been cooked several hours previously. A group of 10 golfers changed the atmosphere in the restaurant when they arrived with their loud conversation and bad language.

Reviewed by
John Pallister

From Hassocks, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next