Reviews - The Suffolk Hotel, Golf & Health Club


Fornham St. Martin,Bury St. Edmunds,Suffolk, Bury St Edmunds, IP28 6JQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (78)

29% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • kevin dale

  • October 2015

The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel

Flies around breakfast area weren't too hygienic.

  • Martin R

  • October 2015


The hotel was long overdue a refurb with a foul smell and dirty appearance throughout.

  • Mark S

  • July 2015


The room was in poor condition with mould on the walls, cracked and flaking paint on the ceiling, filthy carpets and torn furniture.

there was mould in the shower.

  • c taylor

  • July 2015

The Suffolk Hotel Golf & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel

Hotel needs a complete revamp smells damp in certain areas.

Bar area ok but lifts out off order. swimming pool ok but the showers in the changing area are disgusting I couldn't bring myself to get in them covered in dirt and mould health hazard floors to and from pool disgusting you wouldn't walk around in bare feet you might catch some thing. Wouldnt go back.

  • Linda P

  • June 2015

Nice and quiet location but tired and dissapointing accommodation .

Badly marked carpet, tired bathroom and thin partition walls between rooms. Lift out of order and a mediocre breakfast. Very impersonal.

  • D Kerr

  • June 2015

Very Nice

Stayed here 4 times in the last year.

Staff always exceptional although hotel could do with a little updating.

  • N Goerick

  • May 2015

Needs a Refresh

Lift didnt work, paintwork shabby, carpets worn, plumbing noisy, no work done for at least ten years and it is showing.

Food was overpriced and poor quality with very long waiting times.

  • Deborah S

  • May 2015


This hotel has huge potential to be lovely.

Sadly it is in need of some major tlc. Initially we were given a room on the lower floor. The stairway down smelt of damp and needs redecoration and this theme continued in the room. Luckily the customer service is very good and we were able to move rooms but could only be offered a twin. If you have a fear of birds then this is not the place to stay, there are hundreds of crows nesting in the trees and the continual sound of their call. It reminded us of the horror film "The Birds"

Swimming pool although a good size is dark with little natural light and again needs some attention. The spa and the Therapists were lovely. A very special thank you to Kerry who came in to work on her day off to enable myself and a visiting friend to both have treatments.

  • paul aldridge

  • March 2015

had a good time

We enjoyed are stay.

the room was nice and the people nice. we went to see our son in the RAF and got a taxi back to the hotel then on to honnington and we believe the taxi driver ripped us off 35 pounds. wanted To get a price first. but the hotel spot on for the money

  • L Cowley

  • March 2015

Tired but excellent staff

We stayed just one night for business and I will start with positives check in easy nice upgrade on room, staff very helpful and welcoming.

1 man in particular on bar serving food, on reception answering phones, nothing was too much trouble he was so lovely. The golf course looked beautiful but not the purpose of our stay and the lawnmoeer at 7.45 am was not my favourite a lie in would have been. Hotel tired and in need if modernisation paint work patchy and cracks but we did pay £80. I wouldn't have paid more on reflection of maintenance required. Bar meal was great enjoyed it very much the breakfast was not so great juice jugs needed a wash and not on a chiller so warm and continental side lacking and been stood again on table no refrigeration. Cooked breakfast been in warmers to long and lacking great service though fantastic staff.