No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABBOTS MEAD HOTEL

2AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
9-10 St. Julians Friars , SHREWSBURY, SY1 1XL
Abbots Mead Hotel, is a Shrewsbury town center hotel situated close to the river Severn and within easy walking distance of some great restaurants which this delightful market town has to offer.you can enjoy the luxury accommodation only found in a privately run or family run hotel of this class and visitors are made welcome by your hosts: Barry, Eileen and AndrewThe Hotel has its own private car park, Free Wireless broadband connection,All major credit cards accepted.

The Abbots Mead Hotel has now been upgraded from a 4 star guest house to a 2-star AA Metro Hotel, which is a town or city centre property providing full hotel services, except dinner, close to a range of places to eat.

Discount available for all guests at local gym
Picture of ABBOTS MEAD HOTEL, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbotsmeade hotel
All round lovely experience.
The family and their team were very welcoming, and made you feel relaxed.
The food was beautiful, we had the full english breakfast, and there was plenty on offer.
We like coming through to Shrewsbury, and we will definately be booking up with friends in the near future.

Reviewed by
Laura P

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class stay ,easy to find with directions supplied by the owners. Close to the town centre and places to eat. Breakfast first class as was the service.

Reviewed by
Keith D

From Walsingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy B&B
Friendly, family-run hotel. Comfortable in an unassuming way: slightly shabby in places, but everything worked and was properly serviced by the friendly housekeepers. I had room 9 (small single room, with big, comfortable bed) which was right at the top and very quiet once the nearby pub had closed -- apart from the over-enthusiastic loo plumbing, both in my room and next door! Proper opening windows, with fittings for secondary glazing for the winter, I think. (I like windows and hate air-con. The rooms have radiators.) Plenty of eateries within a few minutes' walk. Parking easier than I'd expected, thanks to friendly help from the manager. Brilliant breakfast! Good power shower. Nice garden. I'll go again, if in the area. And did I say they were helpful and friendly?

Reviewed by
Nick C

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly. Room great. Plenty of places to eat nearby in the evenings. Near center.

Reviewed by
S Renshaw

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisey and dark
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful man on reception and I was optimistic about our stay. However, our room was a big let down. The room was below the stairs and reception at basement level which meant it was very dark and cool even though it was the longest day of the year and beautiful sunshine! The tiled floor in the room was freezing - wouldn't like to experience that in winter! There were cheap and nasty air freshners around the room which made me feel sick (and I'm guessing it was to mask the smell of damp as there was a dehumidifier in the corner.There were hairs in the bathroom on the toothbrush holder. The worst part was the noise! We were back late from a wedding so were hoping for a lie in on the Sunday but being below the stairs and reception meant we were woken by what sounded like a heard of elephants on the very squeaky floor boards from 7am onwards! Breakfast was ok - nice and hot but meat wasn't very tasty.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth G

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel nice staff very helpful given a map of the town, breakfast very good excellent service

Reviewed by
garry w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Choice
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the town centre, everywhere is accessible by foot, but there are some hills.
The hotel is clean and tidy although the car parking is limited.
The Breakfast was enjoyable and plenty.
We will be staying again.

Reviewed by
Stephen Haigh

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Weekend Break
We had a two night (Fri/Sat) stay. We were given room 12 on the second floor at the front of the hotel. The room was clean and well maintained. It's not a big room by any means but was more than suitable. Beds were comfy which makes a nice change.There was some noise from outside later at night but there's not much the hotel can do about that. Location is excellent. Bang in the centre, with plenty of places to eat and drink close by. Breakfast was excellent on both days and the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is definitely somewhere I would use again.

Reviewed by
Karl Smith

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful family-run hotel with sunny back garden.
Excellent location for riverside walks and shopping.
I'll be back.

Reviewed by
Jenny E

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place down a side street
Once we found it down what is now a cul-de-sac we were not disappointed. Two old houses joined together provide good value-for-money accommodation with friendly staff and a pleasant atmosphere. Our room was quite small but had everything we needed and it was made up every day. Breakfast was what we would expect and served in a well appointed dining room; and there are good eating places nearby for evening meals. There's parking at the front but one night it was full and we had to use the public car park just round the corner. Yes, we would stay there again if we were looking for a pleasant, no frills base for exploring Shrewsbury and the surrounding area. Ironbridge is just a short drive away and well worth a ride out.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next