Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Keswick Hotels > The Skiddaw Hotel [Lake District Hotels Ltd]
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Skiddaw Hotel [Lake District Hotels Ltd]

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
31 Main Street , Keswick, CA12 5BN
Located in the heart of Keswick, with dramatic fells and lakes on the doorstep, the Skiddaw Hotel offers a window into the bustling Keswick life. It’s easy to see why people choose to relax and unwind here. This warm and hospitable hotel has a welcoming lounge bar and conservatory that overlooks the bustling main street. Upstairs the Latrigg Lounge is ideal for residents – a peaceful place from which to observe the town below. With 43 modern bedrooms it is the perfect base for your visit to the Lake District.

Dining in 31 The Square restaurant, guests can enjoy a personal service and a first class meal created from some of Lakeland’s finest ingredients. Why not try our cheese board which features our very own soft Damson cheese from the local Thornby Moor Dairy.

The Greta Suite provides the perfect venue for a variety of special events whether a beautiful wedding, anniversary, birthday bash or funeral tea. It is also popular venue for meetings, conferences and exhibitions.

Features

The Skiddaw Hotel offers 43 modern bedrooms with flat screen TV’s and tea and coffee making facilities. Furnished to a very high standard, the hotel offers a variety of rooms to suit all tastes, large family suites, plus the addition of the cosy self-catering Cottage Suite adjacent to the hotel. There is free Wi-Fi, and free parking next to the hotel too. Guests can also benefit from free use of leisure facilities, including an indoor and outdoor pool, tennis courts, a sauna and a hot tub at our sister hotel less than 10 minutes’ drive away.

Surrounded by the picturesque lakes and mountains of the Lake District, Skiddaw Hotel is a short walk from Derwentwater and many other famous walks and locations in the area are easy to reach.

Dining

A full Cumbrian or continental breakfast is the perfect way to start the day, made using locally sourced ingredients and can be served in the main restaurant or conservatory. The 31 The Square restaurant serves menus featuring local produce and is renowned for first class service and cuisine. Guests can enjoy their meals in the spacious, air-conditioned restaurant that perfectly complements the stylish accommodation. All dishes are freshly prepared by the head chef using the finest ingredients to give that special flair and individual appeal.

Popular with locals and guests alike, the lounge bar serves refreshments on a daily basis including full afternoon tea and the modern conservatory is the perfect place to enjoy the sights and sounds of the market square.
Picture of The Skiddaw Hotel [Lake District Hotels Ltd], Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Great location, right in the heart of the town, we had a refurbed room at the front which we couldn't find fault with it was really nice. Didn't eat in the hotel but we had breakfast, service was very good and the staff very friendly. Would recommend staying at this hotel.

Reviewed by
Kathryn P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lake luxury

Reviewed by
lynne r

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was nice and warm and lovely christmas decorations.

Reviewed by
John H

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Skiddaw hotel
Enjoyed it bar service does struggle when busy with just one staff member when serving coffees but enjoyable stay second stay

Reviewed by
Dean Hale

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't normally bother with reviews but it wouldn't be right not to share the customer service. Truly exceptional, with nothing too much trouble. Lovely staff and very helpful.

Reviewed by
GRAHAM C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite simply the friendliest, most helpful and cheery staff I've ever encountered. Our room was very clean and decorated to a high standard. No scenic view from the window but given the hotel's town centre location it was only to be expected. We took advantage of a residents discount for dinner and had an excellent 4 course meal for £20 a head before retiring to the public bar to listen to an entertaining singer/guitarist.

Reviewed by
John Lavelle

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Enjoyed a weekend stay at the Skiddaw Hotel in September 2013. Booked a single room which was large enough for one person with a queen size bed and enough room to move round the bed. The bed was very comfortable and and furnishings were excellent. The bathroom was a good size, very clean and shower was great. The one and only criticism I had was that the Wi-Fi didn't work in may places. I could only pick it up in the dining room.
The staff were very polite, helpful and courteous.
I have booked to stay again in October!
I have stayed in may places in Keswick over the years and this is by far the best. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Michael D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

By far the best thing about the Skiddaw Hotel is the staff. From the moment we arrived, staff were incredibly friendly, and little touches such as being able to give us our room key without even telling them the room number, to the most enthusiastically friendly cleaners ever seen, made us feel warmly welcomed.
The room was nicely furnished and felt very clean and comfortable, however is a bit on the small side (so not perfect if the Lake District weather gets a bit too much for you and you want to stay inside). There were the usual tea and biscuits provided, along with generously stocked toileteries in the bathroom.
The rest of the hotel was packed with character (much more traditional than the modern feel of the bedrooms) with pictures from Keswick from many years past. The bar and conservatory made a nice place to relax after a long day, and the staff were very accommodating and friendly.
Definitely would recommend!

Reviewed by
E White

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Skiddaw Hotel Keswick

Reviewed by
S Carr

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but overpriced
Old fashioned rather outdated accommodation. Noisy location. Staff friendly and helpful. Far too expensive for what it was.

Reviewed by
j neaves

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next