No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cotswold Gateway Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
216 The Hill , Burford, OX18 4HX
The Cotswold Gateway Hotel is at the heart of the Cotswold Countryside at Burford with its beautiful setting in the Windrush Valley with antique shops and other interesting shopping.
Picture of Cotswold Gateway Hotel, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just had an excellent stay at the Cotswold Gateway Hotel. Staff were really friendly and the food was excellent. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting other places in the area with Oxford and Cheltenham only a short drive away. I will certainly be returning to this hotel in the future. The room I stayed in was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Reviewed by
Susan Bispham

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect base for Cotswold experience
Excellent customer service in charming hotel. Annexe rooms are a bit small, but main hotel is excellent. Good breakfast too!

Reviewed by
John Stephenson

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent three day Break.
We were made very welcome and were very comfortable. We enjoyed our annual trip to the Cotswolds to celebrate our Anniversary.

Reviewed by
Eric Hewinson

From Casnewydd, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay. So friendly and helpful.
If and when we go back to the area would not hesitate to stay there.

Reviewed by
Ralph Graham

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for one night with a work colleague.Nice room with plenty of character and nicely furnished, The hotel itself has a nice period atmosphere which really reflects the beauty of the nice Cotswold village (Burford). Dinner was excellent and the breakfast just great.

Reviewed by
Gianpietro V

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little place
Very lovely rooms and amenities, good value for money and very pleasant atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful when I arrived and even showed me to my room which was a nice touch. The room was lovely, the food in the bar and in the restaurant for breakfast was lovely. A great place to stay if you want to explore this part of the country. It really is a gateway to the Cotswolds!

Reviewed by
S Faul

From West Wellow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great friendly reception staff, showed us to our room personally...in the annexe, a lovely modern room,really comfortasble bed, spotlessly clean with a large en-suite bathroom. We had our evening meal in the restaurant, nicely presented wonderful quality and not too pricey A bonus in that we were only staying for the Friday night and there are many hotels which insist on a minimum two night stay.
We would recommend this hotel unreservedly and will certainly stay again the next time we are in Burford.

Reviewed by
David Martin

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For a pub the food was outstanding. The rooms were fairly small but cosy and clean. The decor downstairs in the pub/dining area was slightly dark and dated but all on all this was a nice place for an overnight or weekend stay.

Reviewed by
Melissa H

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
As the title suggests, it was a last minute booking, the only 3 star plus hotel we could find in Burford, that ticked all our boxes was 'The Cotswold Gateway Hotel'. We were a bit apprehensive at first, never having stayed at this particular hotel, and it being only 3 star. However, we needn't have worried. The food was great, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the room very clean and acceptable. This hotel would be our first choice, whenever we visit the Cotswolds from now on.

Reviewed by
TERENCE CARPENTER

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next