Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Bournemouth > Bournmouth Hotels > The Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
14 Burnaby Road, Bournemouth, BH4 8JF
The Riviera Hotel has a peaceful location, looking out over the trees of Alum Chine to the bay. With free Wi-Fi and free parking, leisure facilities include a hot tub, sauna and indoor and outdoor pools.

Every bedroom is well-equipped, featuring tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV, work area and private bathroom. Many also have a balcony with sea views.

The Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments Alum Chine is just a few hundred metres from the clean, sandy beach. Bournemouth pier is a mile away along the seafront.

The Cunarder conservatory restaurant has views over the bay and serves modern British food and home-made cakes, using local produce. The Art Deco-style Aquitania Bar offers regular, free entertainment. The hotel also has a poolside barbecue every weekend, depending on the weather.

As well as our studio gym, a wide range of health and beauty treatments are offered to help guests unwind in the hotel spa. The hotel games room includes a pool table, darts and video games.
Picture of The Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights stay in February 2015
Approach to the hotel wasn't easy, needing to follow sat nav, felt it was tucked away abit, but within easy reach of the beach. Staff pleasant on arrival, checked in easily. Room was a little dated. All in all, we had a good weekend away and found the three star hotel a very relaxing atmosphere.

Reviewed by
P Stringer

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Better than expected for the price room was comfortable clean and homey. The only minus is that you had to ask for a bath mat, I think that they should be standard, the pool area modern and enjoyable. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Halina Skinner

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in Alum Chine and very much a hotel for the more mature clientel
Receptionist was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and fairly quiet, with a good bathroom and usual facilities etc. Went to bar for a beer and had to find someone to serve me and a few others waiting. 99p for a pint of Fosters on a colourful star stuck to the bar probably tells you all you need to know. Was ok, but not that fussed about staying there again.

Reviewed by
David R

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
My son and I travelled to Bournemouth for a uni interview and at last minute decided to travel the night before. Booked this hotel through laterooms.com and was very pleasantly surprised for the price. The room was basic but had everything you needed and was very clean indeed. The 11am checkout was also a bonus.

Reviewed by
D Quinn

From Bwcle, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice clean and helpfull staff
would defiantly stay again

Reviewed by
k Taylor

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in a quieter part of Bournemouth
This hotel is situated in Alum Chine. A very pleasant 20 minute walk along the sea front into Bournemouth. We deliberately chose Alum Chine to stay as Bournemouth as become rather popular with stags and hens and we had 2 very peaceful nights here and pleasant walks to and from the BIC. A lot of the hotels in Alum Chine have been demolished and despite suffering a devastating fire nearly 20 years ago, the Riviera is one of the few remaining large hotels in this part of Alum Chine. The rooms were very clean, quiet, and staff helpful, efficient and friendly. Breakfast was lovely. Recommended.

Reviewed by
REBECCA LAWRENCE

From Much Wenlock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin. - check if there's a Jazz evening on for entertainment ( wednesdays)
3*** AA hotel, matched it's grading for me.
Attentive staff, good proportioned rooms, function rooms and facilities.
I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a double room, with balcony and sea view.
.........and fantastic......on Wednesday nights there is a jazz night in the basement suite and I spent all night in the company of a19 piece jazz band, 16 of them ladies ! (Gojo - Girls Only Jazz Orchestra) - Brilliant.
Early breakfast (7.00am for workers) was accommodated for by night porter and chef, so all in all good times.
Only disappointment was that in room 104, there is a bath with shower, but shower is directly off normal mains, so pressure wavered a bit, and strangely, the shower curtain had been measured and fitted too short, so it didn't drop below edge of bath, consequently water run off the shower curtain onto the bathroom floor !!! (Doh!)

Reviewed by
Steve F

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, Hotel. Clean, PetFriendly
Last minute booking. Friendly welcome, petfriendly. Lovely evening meal and breakfast

Reviewed by
J Gurr

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
The hotel is a bit far out of town but we were pleasantly suprised with the quality and service

Reviewed by
Peter Forrest

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
We often travel to Bournemouth to visit family. We have tried several 3 star hotels around the Westbourne area of Bournemouth. This is the first one where we have left saying that we would have no hesitation in booking again for our next visit. Unlike other 3 Star Bournemouth hotels we have stayed in, this hotel had a family room and en-suite which was large enough that my wife, 10 year old daughter and myself, did not feel at all cramped. The hotel reception staff were very friendly, the bar/lounge was very comfortable and at breakfast the dining room and service was excellent. Overall I considered our stay, be it only one night, represented excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
John Foster

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next