Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge Hotels > BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gonville Place, Cambridge, CB1 1LY
Let us be the architects of a wonderful stay here in centre of Cambridge! Overlooking a 25 acre open park, The BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel offers easy access to the impressive buildings and stunning designs that make this university city, with free car parking an added bonus for getting out and about to points of interest such as Anglesy Abbey and Duxford Imperial Museum (both just six miles away). Our accessible accommodation is an ideal base for your stay or event, so whether you want to tour on foot or by public transport (or online with free Wi-Fi!), you'll be perfectly placed to explore our wonderful surroundings. For entertainment value, Cambridge offer both! Pubs, restaurants and cafes cater for a wide range of tastes, and there are numerous nightlife opportunities all over the city from clubs and theatres to multiplex cinemas.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel-friendly, helpful staff and a great location, within easy walking distance of the centre of cambridge.

Reviewed by
karen f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
I enjoyed my brief stay. The accommodation was very comfortable and the breakfast good.

Reviewed by
John H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return to my university
The Gonville was all I expected from Best Western. Helpful staff, comfortable room and good bar and restaurant. Water not as hot as hot as it should be for a shower and on one occasion it was cold. In common with all the other Cambridge hotels in graduation week, very pricey.

Reviewed by
Peter Radcliffe

From Benmore, South Africa
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent city break
Only stayed one night but no faults to be found. Excellent service, room, breakfast & parking included - not to be sneezed at in Cambs!

Reviewed by
J Smyth

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An ordinary hotel in a superb location
Nothing special about the hotel except for its location near the centre of Cambridge with parking included in the price (not "free", of course!). That price reflects the location rather than the quality of the rooms.

Reviewed by
John G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't expect anything to eat
In the evening (around 7.30pm) I was advised that room service was not available as staff were "fully occupied" in the restaurant, and that it would be at least an hour before it might be re started.
In the morning we arrived at the restaurant at 8.50am for breakfast. Out order for hot drinks and food was not taken until 9.20am and at 9.30am we were still waiting. Not even a cup of coffee came. We left without the breakfast as we had an appointment to get to.
On leaving we were asked how our stay was and I expressed disappointment at the lack of breakfast and room service. An apology was given but no offer of a reduction on the bill.

Reviewed by
Teresa Carter

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Place to Stay in Cambridge
This was our second stay in just over a month. The rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable and the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and we couldn't have been made more welcome. We accidently left a camera battery and charger in our room during our last visit and housekeeping produced it for us this time. The food is good and the dining room a very pleasant place to eat. Best of all is the availability of parking five minutes walk from the centre of Cambridge.

Reviewed by
John N

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfy clean rooms, parking, close to city centre good location.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Quiet location next to a park and a short walk into the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Michael G

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise from traffic outside took some getting use to but that was outweighed by the convenience of being able to walk into the city centre. Free parking was also a bonus.

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next