No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Martelli

Via Panzani 8 , Firenze, 50123
Hotel Martelli is one of the few hotels that retains the typical Renaissance atmosphere of the past. Previously owned by the legendary Medici dynasty, the hotel offers refined ornaments such as frescoes, antique furnishings and accessories that complete the high ceilings, a characteristic of the years of Florence’s splendor.
Located in a very central area, on the main road leading from Santa Maria Novella to the awesome Duomo di Firenze, Hotel Martelli is the ideal starting point to discover the wonderful city of Florence.
The hotel offers a warm and friendly service, privacy, security as well as a helpful staff that could advise you on the best way to visit this beautiful city.
Breakfast room is large and comfortable, common areas are private and reserved with wireless internet access (at a charge), all decorated in Classical style that creates a special atmosphere and give you the chance to make a real step back in time!
Picture of Hotel Martelli, Firenze at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run - the other way
The location itself is perfect but everything else is s a huge disappointment.

Reviewed by
B York

From Stavanger, Norway
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not as picture
just entering you know that what you paid for is not what your are getting. I would say is a 2 star, we asked for a room for three and it was three beds all pushed in to fit us in, dark, plain and just beside the towel closet so at 6 am they woke us up with all the moving around.
the pictures have nothing to do with the place. never going back .

Reviewed by
silvia d

From Colombia
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was poor. Cold and only a noisy fan to control heating. Poor standard of decor.. Outlook onto narrow lane with little light. Drain in shower needed repair. And nowhere to put soap or shampoo..would not recommend, even at the low price.

Reviewed by
Mairi B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard hotel-pay for what you get
We got a good deal for what we thought was 4* but when we got there was actually 3*. Wrong info on late rooms. Other than that everything was average but the convenience factor was the main bonus,being located centrally.
Great for a 2 night stay if you want to save money. Door handle in our room was a bit of a challenge. Would've preferred bottled toiletries than sachets, perhaps spare towels than the tea-towel spares (had to use this on my hair). There was no cups or glasses, even plastic would've done. And no tea/coffee making facilities but perhaps that is the italian way.
One of the receptionist male was not great with his attention to service , twice was on his mobile an didn't seemed that bothered in helping us with our questions. Others were fine and more helpful. Personally wouldn't stay here but would say if you need a clean convenient place to stay then this is not so bad.

Reviewed by
N Ali

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to beat in the centre of Florence
Our stay at the Martelli was excellent. The staff were terrific - very warm, friendly and welcoming. Our room was large and well equipped. It was also beautifully quiet even though the hotel is on a very, very busy street five minutes from Santa Maria Novella in one direction and the Duomo in the other - a perfect location. The hotel is in a fascinating old building and has some really attractive features. We were really happy with our stay in a hotel offering outstanding value for money in a generally very expensive city centre.

Reviewed by
Grahame M

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, not overly priced!

Reviewed by
Frances W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint florentine hotel
The hotel is superbly situatited between the train station and the city center. Although a slight modernisation would not go a miss (plumbing especially) it has the features typical of the city. Friendly helpful staff. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
T Young

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean , secure , accomodation.Very friendly , profesional staff

Reviewed by
MICHAEL B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quirky
The hotel was very easy to find
Breakfast was ok coffee was just from big urn. Not the normal italian quality.
Our room was fab and all decorated with freezes that make it look like the inside of a palace.
On the downside it was very noisy at night and the hotel opposite took laundry delivery at 5-am that sounded like a football match.
Real pity spoilt stay felt so tired,perhaps another room not 47.
Lovely city .

Reviewed by
K Blake

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the wi-fi
I was very disappointed to find out that the 'free wi-fi' as advertised on their website was not free at all. It was something like 16 Euros for 24 hours. When I complained to the staff at the desk they said I had to speak to the manager, and he/she never appeared. Otherwise, this hotel was generally good value for money.

Reviewed by
Frances O

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next