No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alvera Court

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
76 Kings Road, , , Harrogate, HG1 5JX
Alvera Court is ideally situated directly opposite the International Conference and Exhibition Centre, with a short stroll to the town centre, the bus and train stations. We are a fine Victorian residence, built in 1901, which has been completely renovated and tastefully modernised while retaining all the charming architectural features of the Victorian era.

Privately owned and managed we offer an extremely high standard of service, individual attention, and a desire to please. In our grounds, we have private parking for your car. We also offer free permits to park your car outside our building in parking bays. If you travel in anything other than a car please park in the parking bays at the front and we will give you a permit.

Offering twelve individually decorated non-smoking bedrooms, all accessed by stairs to two floors. All the rooms are en-suite, a few with a bath as well as shower, all have complimentary toiletries.

Each room has controllable central heating, remote control freeview LCD colour television, many widescreen, direct dial telephone, Laptop / Tablet internet connection free WI - FI , hair dryer, alarm clock radio. A welcome tray of tea, coffee and beverages, with a bottle of water to refresh you.

The pillows and duvets are non allergenic to assist you to have a superb night's sleep. Access at all times, once checked in. We regret that we do not accommodate children under 12 years old.

Check in time is 3pm until 10pm. Latest check in is at 10pm as we do not have a night porter. Checkout on the morning of departure is 10am. We are a totally non smoking establishment.
Picture of Alvera Court, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

alvera
Nice and clean with very friendly staff and a very short stroll into town.

Reviewed by
a turner

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alvera Court, Harrogate
We stayed here on 29/03/2014 - lovely place, really welcoming and a nice feel about the place.
Room was very clean and bathroom spotless.
Breakfast was 8am - 9 am which we thought was a little too early but all same breakfast was nice.
Would stay here again

Reviewed by
H Lynch

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay at a lovely hotel
We found the room to be clean and warm, with cosy furnishings, would recommend the breakfasttoanyone, overall a lovely welcoming experience.

Reviewed by
p hamlett

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay here was lovely the owners were very friendly and the room was warm cosy stylish and very clean, we loved it and the food was excellent and very well presented, we would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
E Nelson

From Blacburn, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed for one night but lovely evening and accomodation.

Reviewed by
P Griffith

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked our one night stay shortly prior to travel. We read other reviews before we chose this hotel.
These are what helped to make our choice and I must agree with most other comments.
The room and general areas are spotlessly clean, being October the heating was on and everywhere was beautifully warm (not hot) we were told there would be lots of hot water and there certainly was, fantastic powerful shower and a lovely hot big bubbly bath. Delightful toiletries and soft towels. The room was certainly comfortable and we both slept very well. Like others breakfast at 8.00 on Sunday morning was hard to get out of bed for, largly because it was so comfy.
We did use the car park and were grateful to be able to leave our vehicle there whilst we shopped.
The downside of checking out at 10.00 on Sunday morning is that Harrogate town doesnt open until 11.00 so if you do want to visit the town when you check out bare in mind nothing is open. Breakfast coffee is of excellent quality so waiting in a coffee shop isn't really necessary. We walked around the park until 11.00.
That said both Colin and Brenda are excellent hosts whom are helpfuland welcoming.
Would I stay at Alvera Court again? Yes definitely.

Reviewed by
Pam M

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was close to town centre. Friendly owner,advised about parking within Harrogate.

Reviewed by
M Macarthur

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay, and were made to feel very welcome at the hotel

Reviewed by
N Evans

From Dolgellau, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break
Two nights ideal, probably wouldn't stay longer.
Times for breakfast very restrictive and far too early on a Sunday morning when a lie in would be appreciated. Checkout at 10am with extension request beyond that at a cost of £20 is particularly mean.
Room lovely, breakfast good but rushed. House very clean and presentable.
Better deals elsewhere for what was effectively a b&b @ £80 per night.

ManagementResponse

“Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your cooked breakfast which was cooked freshly for you and the room which of course you liked. Our breakfast times are the same as most of the accommodation providers in Harrogate. I can understand your requirement for a lie in on Sunday, but that was also the day you were departing and another guest requiring that room, who can of course arrive early and wish to obtain access to the room on arrival. The late checkout cost is a cost to hold cleaning staff after their time to clean up the room for the next guest, I feel that is a reasonable amount to pay them. We are a B & B that is also stated on our description, our prices are competitive for similar accommodation in Harrogate,.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location, clean and friendly
We stayed at Alvera Court for 3 nights. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. Colin was a very chatty and friendly man. Parking is available at the hotel but we parked on the street and Colin gave us a parking permit which was very useful. Our bedroom was nice and bright and the bathroom was good and clean with a great shower and constant hot water. A short walk into town and all the facilities. Harrogate is a great place to visit and Alvera Court is a good choice if you are looking for a traditional B&B. We had a great weekend.

Reviewed by
K Aggett

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next