Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Egham Hotels > Great Fosters Hotel and Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Fosters Hotel and Restaurant

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Stroude Road , Egham , TW20 9UR
Probably built as a Royal Hunting lodge and very much a stately home since the 16th century, Great Fosters is now a prestigious hotel. Set amongst 50 acres of gardens and parkland, the hotel is a Grade One listed building blessed with the grandeur of 16th century England and luxurious modern facilities. Its past is evident in the mullioned windows, tall chimneys, fireplaces and brick finials, while the Saxon moat, crossed by a Japanese bridge, surrounds three sides of the formal garden.

All the suites and bedrooms are individually decorated. The bedrooms in the Main House are adorned with tapestries and antiques, whilst the bedrooms in The Cloisters are more contemporary in style. The Coach House, recently refurbished in 2008, offers luxurious accommodation with the latest plasma screens, i-pod docking stations and fabulous bathrooms.

Picture of Great Fosters Hotel and Restaurant, Egham  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfull garden!!!! Rooms are modern and bed linen superb!
It is a lovely place in the countryside. Lovely terrace for tea overlooking a superb garden!
Unfortunatelly our bedroom was quite noisy in the mornings... Otherwise it would have been perfect!

Reviewed by
LUZ A

From BUENOS AIRES , Argentina
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Read the booklet in your room page for page, so you are aware of charges from drinking water in the fridge to an astonishing £15 per person for a buffet breakfast.
I was very disappointed to find there were no tea or coffee facilities in our room and further more if I was to order a tea to the room would be at an additional cost.(since my complain it apparently appears in the guest directory (unfortunately I din't think to search pages of information for a simple cup of tea!) that should you require a hospitality tray to call reception and one will be brought to your room free of charge.) This is not something I expect from a 4* hotel!
The bathroom was pretty plain and basic with mosaic tiles in the bathroom, and some were coming loose behind the taps.
I would not recommend this over priced hotel to any of my friends or family.

Reviewed by
laura b

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Fosters
This hotel and grounds exceeded expectations. It was not known to us, we sought a romantic break away, and it delivered on all fronts. The staff are excellent, the bar staff very good company and entertaining, and we left feeling we had been royally looked after. The setting is incomparable, beautiful 14th Century manor-style building, and picturesque grounds and lakes. We will definitely return.

Reviewed by
C Heighway

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience
Excellent all round, though the carpets outside the rooms were very stained

Reviewed by
Alexander Walder-Smith

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close attention to detail throughout - Fantastic
The Hotel itself is beautiful. The décor, furniture and rooms are all lovely. What really made it superb though, was the staff. All of the staff were attentive, polite, friendly and made the stay really stand out. Fantastic stay and will definitely return.

Reviewed by
J Geary

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Great Fosters was the best hotel I've ever stayed in the UK. It has welcoming and friendly staffs, a great building and its interior (which used to be a Henry VIII's hunting lodge), lovely English garden and surrounded in a forest. Also, it's just 40 mins train journey away from London.
I took my parents for a night and they absolutely loved the hotel. Winsor, Hampton Court Palace and Thorpe Park are nearby too.
Highly recommended for anyone who is looking for a relax stay with historical twist.

Reviewed by
A Tanaka

From Japan
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely luxrious room
Really spacious room, comfortable with two TV's a sofa and kettle etc... Very luxurious with robes and toiletries. Only minor downside was that whilst booking in we were asked what newspapers we would like for the morning, I requested one and then was disappointed that I was charged for it when checking out, you would have thought with the extremely high standards there that it would have be complementary.

Reviewed by
Melissa R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
Chose this hotel because the location suited my plans and it was reasonably priced at £130 for single occupancy and was then blown away by how excellent it turned out to be. Dreamy setting, rooms that have everything you need - decent tea and coffee with proper milk in the fridge, good toiletries, excellent bed and bedlinen, BOSE docking station.... I could go on. Super helpful and friendly staff and good food and wine that doesn't break the bank.....would be perfect for visiting London if you don't want to stay in the centre where 100 sq ft costs £250 a night!! An absolute gem and remarkable value at the price I paid....just hope they don't increase it on the back of such a glowing review!!

Reviewed by
simon cook

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful weekend
Can't express what a great relaxing weekend we had. the website and pictures simply do not do justice to the hotel. It is a very welcoming and calm atmosphere and a dip in the outdoor pool is the perfect way to unwind after a frantic week. The grounds are beautiful, we spent many enjoyable hours meandering through the well kept gardens and around the lake. Great value for money, very helpful staff and will definatly be returning.

Reviewed by
G Bryan

From London, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing experience
Felt lovely and peaceful beautiful room lovely bathroom made the room feel luxurious
And the thermostat made everything cosy

Reviewed by
f neal

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next