No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
63 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AF
*Have a drink on us** with selected BB rates. Enjoy a free drink per person per night until end August 2014. Book our Special Offer room types. SEE EXCLUSIONS BELOW.

Just 100 metres from Chester Rail Station, the Westminster has free Wi-Fi and a contemporary bar and restaurant. A grand, wooden staircase and a stained glass window are features of the Best Western.
Local and regional dishes and a full English breakfast are served in the Best Western Westminster Hotel's air-conditioned bar and restaurant which features a bold and modern decor.
All rooms have a traditional colour scheme and feature dark wood furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in each room.
The historic Grosvenor Park and the River Dee are less than 700 metres from the Westminster Hotel. Chester city centre is less than 10 minutes’ walk away and canal-side pubs and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The M53 motorway is 5 minute’s drive away.
Car parking is available at our Sister Hotel The Queen, £10.00 per night Mon-Thurs and £15.00 per night Fri-Sun. Ample on road parking and low cost pay and display right next door (free 6pm-9am).

Picture of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 207 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great second stay.
this was the second time we have stayed at the best western Westminster hotel on both occasions we have been very impressed with the high standards of cleanliness and service. we have had two breakfasts and one evening meal in the restaurant and on all occasions found the food and service to be of a high standard.

Reviewed by
colin d

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wine dine and dream
Overall it was value for money. The waiter on the evening was great but the menu a little limited but enjoyed what I had ,even though if there had been a larger choice I wouldn't of chose it. Our room 107 was set up as a twin although requested a double and had an unpleasant smell when we entered. We were awoke early as the room, situated above the boiler house, was so hot.
The location of the hotel is great and within a short walk into town. We would stay again but not in that particular room.

Reviewed by
Andrew Payne

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Break
Value for money , the deal we got was like a 2 for 1 offer really without losing any quality. We can only praise the staff , the hotel is being upgraded ongoing very comfortable relaxed feel. We would book again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Philip A

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was very nice, staff very polite and helpful. We had the evening meal with wine and breakfast deal. Food at dinner was lovely top restaurant quality. Breakfast was also good, although only complaint would be we was not offered toast only tea/ coffee by waiter, we assumed there was no toast except we noticed as we were leaving one table being handed toast by a waitress. Overall very nice hotel we would stay again if in town.

Reviewed by
c Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute deal with first class service
booked on a very last minute deal which was simple to use, hotel in great easy to find spot ,check in simple and sorted within minutes .everything explained simply,room was clean and very comfortable.my only let down was on the deal we booked which is the room and meal deal,we booked the deal with 3 course meal included, read the menu in the room got quite excited at some of the choices then went down for our dinner only to find the deal is a set menu which is not mentioned when booking,and although it was a nice menu it was not food I would normally choose.i don't like sea food or tomato soup,but they did give us a starter from the original menu,after asking which was very nice of them,a chicken salad,and a bacon and black pudding salad,both very nce and tasty.

Reviewed by
k jensen

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Ideal location, hotel is clean and comfortable and perfectly located for a Chester city break. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great value and highly recommended

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Break
My partner and i stayed at this Hotel over the recent bank holiday weekend. I have stayed in this hotel before. It was a few years ago when i attended a 4 day course there. I am gld to say that i noted improvements with the rooms/bathroom. It was a very comfortable stay. I appreciated that the gentleman on reception and the gentleman on duty at the bar in the evening were very helpful and polite. The cooked breakfast was excellent with a good range of foods to chose from.
The hotel is handy for the railway station and for walking a short distance into town.
The only down side, and i know this cannot be the Hotels fault, if you stay in a room to the front of the hotel you may find it a little noisy with people who have had one too many drinks staggering/shouting their way home in the early hours of the morning. Ask for a room to the back of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is situated in a great location, just across from the train station and 10 minute walk into town with a nice few bars on the way! As it was my birthday we were upgraded which was a pleasant surprise.

Reviewed by
S Lockwood

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for weekend break, short walk to canal and attractions

Reviewed by
Len A

From Notts, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT STAY
We booked a deal on line for £99 we had a good choice of 3 course meal which was lovely a bottle of wine, 2 free drinks vouchers and bed and breakfast. we were greeted by a lovely gentleman on reception shown to our room and it was big enough for a night the bathroom was newly decorated plenty of good quality towels plenty tea coffee milk and sugar on a tray shower and shampoo gels we could not fault the hotel all meals were really lovely, we will visit again.

Reviewed by
J ASHURST

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.