No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
63 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AF
*Have a drink on us** with selected BB rates. Enjoy a free drink per person per night until end August 2014. Book our Special Offer room types. SEE EXCLUSIONS BELOW.

Just 100 metres from Chester Rail Station, the Westminster has free Wi-Fi and a contemporary bar and restaurant. A grand, wooden staircase and a stained glass window are features of the Best Western.
Local and regional dishes and a full English breakfast are served in the Best Western Westminster Hotel's air-conditioned bar and restaurant which features a bold and modern decor.
All rooms have a traditional colour scheme and feature dark wood furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in each room.
The historic Grosvenor Park and the River Dee are less than 700 metres from the Westminster Hotel. Chester city centre is less than 10 minutes’ walk away and canal-side pubs and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The M53 motorway is 5 minute’s drive away.
Car parking is available at our Sister Hotel The Queen, £10.00 per night Mon-Thurs and £15.00 per night Fri-Sun. Ample on road parking and low cost pay and display right next door (free 6pm-9am).

Picture of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 207 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend visit
found the hotel,good location to visit city centre.
room was clean, warm.
breakfast was o.k, service a little slow with toast and coffee.
Car parking can be an issue, allow £10 for a couple of days.

Reviewed by
ANTHONY GLOVER

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated
Our room looks nothing like the picture, could do with being updated, quite dark,
not too happy about being woke up with what sounded like the hoover being done very early in the morning. But staff very friendly

Reviewed by
S Nicklin

From St Neots, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I arrived at the outside of this hotel I thought wow, and the reception was very nice as well. But when I got to my room I was a little disappointed,the bathroom could do with updating and the room as a whole was a little small.

Reviewed by
R Pentecost

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very central and handy for the station
after reading some of the negative reviews on the site i was a little apprehensive about the hotel but once we arrived it soon went away, we were greeted by a friendly man on reception, I had requested a room at the back of the hotel which we were given, the room was very clean, maybe not the biggest but fine for what we wanted. The bed was comfy, clean bedding and an adequate bathroom. The breakfast was very good although at the busiest times you could find yourself without some items but they were soon replaced by the efficient staff. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
HELEN C

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel experience
nice clean complex which has everything for someones needs in a hotel

Reviewed by
J Climo

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Western Chester
Staff were very helpful and polite.
Had to ask to have a room change because the first one was tiny and supposed to be a double, there was no problem with changing, and was moved within minutes.
The overall experience was good at this hotel and would recommend it for short stay.

Reviewed by
K Stewart

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
3* hotel. Staff were very helpful. Room functional and food okish.

Reviewed by
Thomas M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok. Rooms need modernising.
After a long drive we arrived a little earlier than expected (1.30pm). On arrival I was greeted by a not so friendly "jobsworth." I asked if it would be possible to check in now or would I have to wait until 2pm? To which I received a cold reply of "Your room will be ready at 2pm." I asked again, "As it is quite a walk to the centre, could he please ask someone if our room was ready? We may as well check before we leave." Again a robotic cold reply of "Your room will be ready at 2pm." In total I asked 5 times and received the same cold answer . At no point did he ring housekeeping and check if our room was ready. This was not a warm greeting. No consideration is given to how far we traveled or what kind of journey we had. It's a pity that this member of staff was totally rude and unwilling to help as the rest of the staff that we met was very nice and pleasurable to talk to.
The room that we had was very clean and had everything that we needed. The room was quite small and a bit dark. I think less advertising on the T.V and give the rooms a coat of white paint to brighten things up a little. On the whole it was a pleasurable stay. The pub next door does a great breakfast for £5.00 so if you miss the hotels breakfast you can go next door.

Reviewed by
K Spurr

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, very close to train station and city center

Reviewed by
Craig T

From Llandudno Junction, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Was suprised hotel was so close to rail station which we could see from the exit. We were given a warm welcome by the gentleman on reception.Our room on the first floor was cosy clean and warm was appreciated being the first day of very cold windy weather Breakfast was good with a selection of hot and cold food. The staff were all pleasant and helpfull City centre aprox 10 min walk buses available from station to centre £1. Enjoyed our stay and would stay at the westminster again.

Reviewed by
D Francis

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next