You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - BW Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster

3

City Road, Chester, CH1 3AF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (79)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • julie p

  • October 2014

my second time and it keeps getting better - cant fault this place

  • stuart e

  • October 2014

Dated

Hotel could do with a refit.

Interior is very dated and tired. Felt more like an old peoples home than a hotel. Staff were friendly and the food was good.

  • Andy King

  • October 2014

Great for 1 night or 2 nights, however expect parking fee sting from hotel

The cost for the room is about right, considering location/building age and comfort, however breakfast is extra,too expensive for quality, we stopped in wether spoon pub (10 min walk) or supermarket on way out of town, the stinger that bugs me most though that was not advised well before booking was the parking fees, £15 a night to use the hotel parking is scandal, I expect this in London not Chester if I knew this before it would have effected my choice, parking should be free for residence, I only recommend if you arrive by train or coach but make cheaper arrangements for breakfast.

  • mary o

  • October 2014

Lovely

  • Hanna M

  • October 2014

Good value, tiny room :)

Hotel in general - well-presented, bit past its best but still quite nice.

Biscuits on the reception desk, which was a nice touch. My room (#123) - I had to give the door a bit of a kick before it would open, then entered the tiniest room in the world. My single bed was immediately to the right of the door (i.e. behind it as I entered) and there was approx 1.5ft of floor space between the bed and the parallel wall, for access. All perfectly clean, which was nice. Bathroom had a great shower; however the toilet flush stuck and I had to go into the cistern and prod stuff at 4am, which wasn't ideal. I did tell the hotel of this fault as I left. The window was open when I arrived, but I only know that because I got quite close to it (netting and heavy curtains obscuring view). Since I got back late and there was roof access to my room via the window, I was very glad I closed it as someone could easily have got in. Maybe not such a good idea to leave windows to easily-accessible rooms open before guests arrive. Overall, a decent room for the price. Tiny though. I wouldn't have been happy to stay if I disliked small spaces..... I think the hotel needs to mention this in its advert. I suggest the following wording (feel free to adapt this): "This room is compact but does have everything you'll need for a great night's stay. If you feel that you might need more space, please let us know and we'll see if it's possible to upgrade you."

I'd probably stay again, to be fair.

  • Simon N

  • October 2014

A bit of a mix up with the room but staff couldn't of been any better about it.

Ended up having one of the best hotel stays I've ever had and I wasn't even drinking or having one of those nights away (you all know the ones!)

See you next year.

  • A Fisher

  • October 2014

Poor city centre hotel

Very small room with very basic features located at the top of some stairs with only a small high level sky-light.

It was located in a part of the hotel that looked like it was formerly staff live-in accommodation over a back-room stairwell. Decor and cleanliness passable, but rather tired. Sky-light had never been cleaned inside or out. Poor value for money and well below normal city centre large hotel group standards. We paid £89 for a double room without breakfast - the Premier Inn opposite charges less and offer a better standard of accommodation. I didn't feel ripped off, but I felt disappointed at the quality of the room allocated. The hotel was fully booked for the night (Pride event and Chester Marathon weekend) so there was no point requesting a room change. Had I been staying more than one night I would have probably found other accommodation elsewhere or asked to change rooms.

  • victoria p

  • October 2014

great nights sleep!!

me and my partner stayed there for a night out and found the gentleman on reception helpful and friendly and the room was lovely not massive but enough room for us both and very cosy breakfast buffet was well worth the money and the waiter/waitresses couldnt do enough

  • Eivind N

  • October 2014

.

.

  • anthony k

  • September 2014

Race day stay.

The hotel is not far from the town centre.

The first room was not a good standard room but was moved without a problem when we said the room was not up to standard. There is no parking , but if you drive 100 yards down the road near train station you can park for free .