No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
63 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AF
*Have a drink on us** with selected BB rates. Enjoy a free drink per person per night until end August 2014. Book our Special Offer room types. SEE EXCLUSIONS BELOW.

Just 100 metres from Chester Rail Station, the Westminster has free Wi-Fi and a contemporary bar and restaurant. A grand, wooden staircase and a stained glass window are features of the Best Western.
Local and regional dishes and a full English breakfast are served in the Best Western Westminster Hotel's air-conditioned bar and restaurant which features a bold and modern decor.
All rooms have a traditional colour scheme and feature dark wood furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in each room.
The historic Grosvenor Park and the River Dee are less than 700 metres from the Westminster Hotel. Chester city centre is less than 10 minutes’ walk away and canal-side pubs and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The M53 motorway is 5 minute’s drive away.
Car parking is available at our Sister Hotel The Queen, £10.00 per night Mon-Thurs and £15.00 per night Fri-Sun. Ample on road parking and low cost pay and display right next door (free 6pm-9am).

Picture of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 222 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thumbs up from us
This hotel is a little dated and in need of some refurbishment however our priority when booking was a hotel close to the train(5min walk max) easy to get round city from with clean rooms and a decent breakfastbreakfast. All of the above were available at the Westminster. Its has a friendly attentive staff ready and willing to help, a breakfast to satisfy the healthiest appetite and the guest room we had was perhaps not the most exquisitely furnished or biggest but has a good comfortable bed. If your out and about all day in Chester and are looking for a place to lay your head the Westminster is good value for money. If your looking for a hotel with gyms , 3 restaurant and a cocktail bar then I suggest you pay the additional £400+ and go stay at Abode or the one of the other astronomically priced hotels that have features you probably won't have time to use. Westminster hotel we will be black,thank you for our stay..

Reviewed by
Elizabeth W

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived early and were able to leave our luggage while we went off to Chester zoo with the discounted tickets we purchased from the hotel. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly.will definately return.

Reviewed by
j pimlott

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad, not great, but not bad
Entrance, reception, welcome and breakfast room were fine. The room was as small as it looked in the picture, but the bathroom was nice. The ceiling was definitely looking worse for wear - we found out why when it started leaking rain on to my trousers. We got an apology from reception when we left.

Reviewed by
Adam H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outdated
room needs updating badly poor value for money wont be going back

Reviewed by
p barraclough

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food was good cleanliness of room poor
Needs updating I tripped over the tear in the carpet in my room the cupboard door was hanging off big dirty spill stains on wall and you could pick the tiles up off the bathroom floor the grout had all crumbled away everything was dusty felt ripped off paying £149 for 1nite including breakfast ihave paid less than that for better wont be going back

Reviewed by
T Caden

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were upgraded so my reviews are for your sister hotel Queens which was excellent
All staff very attentive and couldn't find fault with anything

Reviewed by
M Ward

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
As soon as we got there someone walked straight in to re tune the tv, no knock!! Several times went to reception and no one was there!

Reviewed by
r spencer

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Good value for money, although old fashioned decor. Building site at back of the building outside our room started making a racket at 08.00

Reviewed by
Robert D

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really nice
very good rooms foods nice rooms are clean and staff are nice to talk too i will be going there again very soon thanks.

Reviewed by
s edwards

From crosby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Hotel
We stayed here for a special occasion coupled with visiting a local restaurant. The lobby and bar and eating areas of the hotel are all air conditioned which helped a lot in the heat! The staff were very attentive and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The only thing for improvement would be the room did require a little updating, the bathroom was fine but the room itself needed a lick of paint and possibly furniture changing. However it was clean and fit for purpose and we slept relatively well considering the heat.

Reviewed by
Kirsty J

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next