No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
63 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AF
*Have a drink on us** with selected BB rates. Enjoy a free drink per person per night until end August 2014. Book our Special Offer room types. SEE EXCLUSIONS BELOW.

Just 100 metres from Chester Rail Station, the Westminster has free Wi-Fi and a contemporary bar and restaurant. A grand, wooden staircase and a stained glass window are features of the Best Western.
Local and regional dishes and a full English breakfast are served in the Best Western Westminster Hotel's air-conditioned bar and restaurant which features a bold and modern decor.
All rooms have a traditional colour scheme and feature dark wood furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in each room.
The historic Grosvenor Park and the River Dee are less than 700 metres from the Westminster Hotel. Chester city centre is less than 10 minutes’ walk away and canal-side pubs and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The M53 motorway is 5 minute’s drive away.
Car parking is available at our Sister Hotel The Queen, £10.00 per night Mon-Thurs and £15.00 per night Fri-Sun. Ample on road parking and low cost pay and display right next door (free 6pm-9am).

Picture of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 207 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location
Walking distance from town and the station

Reviewed by
C Lowe

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but room poor quality
This hotel is in a great location right near to train station however expected nicer room from. Best western. The room was a double room the wallpaper was coming off the walls we were on the third floor and the window was knee height so on opening it went right out with no safety catch on it very dangerous.
Breakfast was nice traditional English breakfast.
Checkout was fine.

Reviewed by
K Murray

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Western Westminster Hotel
We stayed at this hotel as a treat when we went to Chester races. There were 4 of us who stayed and we booked 2 rooms which at £130 per night you would expect some standards.
The room had wallpaper hanging off the wall and the bath had tea stains in it and hadn't been cleaned.the room was in need of updating. Our friends room on the 3rd floor was better however it spoilt our stay.
The breakfast was poor and the plates were small where you thought where are the dinner plates?
The staff were not very friendly and training was an issue.
When I checked out I brought these matters to the reception who offered us a 50% refund. No apology.
I can honestly say never again if the hotel is going through an update they should make it clear not adverise rooms that look nice when they are not.
I am hoping this will be addressed.

Reviewed by
matthew t

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower broken...
We have stayed at this hotel before and had a good experience. However, this time we were disappointed to be in a very small room with a small bed and a shower that was broken. We reported the problem with the shower but it was not repaired whilst we stayed there (2 nights).

Reviewed by
Lynne G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a very good stay
I booked 2 nights with this hotel and was not happy at all I booked a dbl bedroom and when we went to bed the beds where on different levels meaning we where separated for most of the time and the beds where uncomfortable the following morning I told the reception they assured me I'd move to another room with a dbl bed that evening I fond it wasn't and was moved again till I finally got what I paid for also the evening meal on the second night was rushed and service was not very good and wasn't offered an afters like id paid for the following day the breakfast was not very organised I was not tacked to a table or informed of the set up a server asked if I wanted coffee and I received a cup but not asked about toast the fresh orange had ran out and the alpen also but neither replaced I don't think people had a clue what they where doing which was a disappointment cause this could be a great hotel

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom
Missing light bulbs
Missing curtain hooks

Reviewed by
Helen M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

compact!!!
I booked a single room, i expected the room to be smaller than a double but it was TINY!!! I paid quite lot for the room and felt disappointed with the overall size and cleanliness. The shower was also cold:(

Reviewed by
john w

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably priced very noisey with the traffic and pub next door . Also parking fees rather pricey.

Reviewed by
Peter Barlow

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was "alright"
I'd describe my one night stay as "alright"! Nothing to get excited about but nothing to really complain about. Location is good , a 10-15 minute walk into the town centre . I'd stay again but would search for a slightly cheaper rate than I paid so that "alright" was more acceptable !

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Sheffield , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i ask fpr tyhe best view possible ..... we got a view of a construction sight. I know the best view was probabley the street but tht was better than what we had sight of and it also woke us up at 6am on a saturday morning.

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next