No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
63 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AF
*Have a drink on us** with selected BB rates. Enjoy a free drink per person per night until end August 2014. Book our Special Offer room types. SEE EXCLUSIONS BELOW.

Just 100 metres from Chester Rail Station, the Westminster has free Wi-Fi and a contemporary bar and restaurant. A grand, wooden staircase and a stained glass window are features of the Best Western.
Local and regional dishes and a full English breakfast are served in the Best Western Westminster Hotel's air-conditioned bar and restaurant which features a bold and modern decor.
All rooms have a traditional colour scheme and feature dark wood furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in each room.
The historic Grosvenor Park and the River Dee are less than 700 metres from the Westminster Hotel. Chester city centre is less than 10 minutes’ walk away and canal-side pubs and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The M53 motorway is 5 minute’s drive away.
Car parking is available at our Sister Hotel The Queen, £10.00 per night Mon-Thurs and £15.00 per night Fri-Sun. Ample on road parking and low cost pay and display right next door (free 6pm-9am).

Picture of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 224 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Western Chester
Staff were very helpful and polite.
Had to ask to have a room change because the first one was tiny and supposed to be a double, there was no problem with changing, and was moved within minutes.
The overall experience was good at this hotel and would recommend it for short stay.

Reviewed by
K Stewart

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
3* hotel. Staff were very helpful. Room functional and food okish.

Reviewed by
Thomas M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok. Rooms need modernising.
After a long drive we arrived a little earlier than expected (1.30pm). On arrival I was greeted by a not so friendly "jobsworth." I asked if it would be possible to check in now or would I have to wait until 2pm? To which I received a cold reply of "Your room will be ready at 2pm." I asked again, "As it is quite a walk to the centre, could he please ask someone if our room was ready? We may as well check before we leave." Again a robotic cold reply of "Your room will be ready at 2pm." In total I asked 5 times and received the same cold answer . At no point did he ring housekeeping and check if our room was ready. This was not a warm greeting. No consideration is given to how far we traveled or what kind of journey we had. It's a pity that this member of staff was totally rude and unwilling to help as the rest of the staff that we met was very nice and pleasurable to talk to.
The room that we had was very clean and had everything that we needed. The room was quite small and a bit dark. I think less advertising on the T.V and give the rooms a coat of white paint to brighten things up a little. On the whole it was a pleasurable stay. The pub next door does a great breakfast for £5.00 so if you miss the hotels breakfast you can go next door.

Reviewed by
K Spurr

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, very close to train station and city center

Reviewed by
Craig T

From Llandudno Junction, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Was suprised hotel was so close to rail station which we could see from the exit. We were given a warm welcome by the gentleman on reception.Our room on the first floor was cosy clean and warm was appreciated being the first day of very cold windy weather Breakfast was good with a selection of hot and cold food. The staff were all pleasant and helpfull City centre aprox 10 min walk buses available from station to centre £1. Enjoyed our stay and would stay at the westminster again.

Reviewed by
D Francis

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Price but Dated
I can not fault the staff who were very helpful it was a shame that the hotel was very dated and in need of a refurbishment and a bit of repair. The room was small but that wasn't an issue, we were not impressed at booking a double room and getting 2 single beds of different heights pushed together. The tea facilities provided were not clean and the kettle was mouldy and full of lime scale. The rooms were also unbearable hot and they left hardly any toilet roll in the bathroom. The tv also had terrible signal with all the channels being blurry, the tv was also mounted at an awkward angle so you could not sit on the bed or in a chair comfortably to watch it,

Reviewed by
A Wright

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Maybe upgrading the locks and keys to a card system would be better.

Reviewed by
dion williams

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel,great stay , close to station, short walk to town . comfortable room, food excellent,

Reviewed by
janet e

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value, very professional
enjoyed our stay, only one night but everthing was like clockwork, good staff & food was great

Reviewed by
scott Ward

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good service. Exellent value for money .
Warm welcome. Clean and exellant value for money .

Reviewed by
S ELLIS

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next