Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Shropshire > Whitchurch Hotels > Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Golf and Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Golf and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
TARPORLEY ROAD , WHITCHURCH, SY13 4HA
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa is proving to be one of the most sought after destinations in the North West of England for golf, leisure and spa breaks. The hotel provides a gateway to Cheshire and Shropshire, amidst 300 acres of beautiful countryside and within 20 miles of both the historic towns of Chester & Shrewsbury; also just 40 minutes from Stoke-on-Trent. The hotel is ideally suited to the leisure guest wanting a relaxing break or a business traveller seeking a peaceful retreat.

All 80 bedrooms at the hotel have modern amenities and a stylish, contemporary design. Many of the rooms offer stunning views across the Championship Emerald Golf course of which some can be enjoyed from ground floor patio seating areas. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The hotel hotel has a Vital Health & Well Being Club and Spa facility, featuring 20 metre swimming pool, Techno gym, sauna, steam room, experience shower, beauty rooms, relaxation room and nail bar. The Spa offers a range of luxury Spa treatments and opportunities for relaxing Spa Days and overnight breaks.
Picture of Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Golf and Spa, WHITCHURCH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Golf and Spa
All staff very friendly. Could not fault a thing.

Reviewed by
A Gitten

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alan C
Excellent hotel. I will be staying again.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Night short stay
We had a good stay, happy with everything about the place.
Didn't play golf but used the pool.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, huge rooms and beautiful grounds

Reviewed by
G McClymont

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, lovely rooms but a few service issues
The hotel is lovely & the rooms very nice, but for the money I paid I would have hoped for better. We were attending a wedding nearby and were told by reception (when they eventually answered the phone after 3 attempts) that they could not order us a taxi, just give us a number. Not a problem so I phoned the number and was practically laughed at by the operator who said they were 30 miles away & couldn't possibly come all that way for a 10 minute journey. I phoned reception again (no answer after another 3 attempts) so gave up and took to google. I phoned 9 different companies non of which could do the job or answer the call. Inbetween all this I was try constantly to phone room service as we were hungry after a long journey and yes you guessed it, no answer! I tried 5 times. By this point I was really angry so stormed down to reception where there was no Queue! I asked to speak to the manager who very kindly offered to take us to the venue if they couldn't get us a taxi. Who knew getting one would take 45 mins and by this time I was still hungry and late getting ready. Room service answered on the sixth attempt. I ordered a chicken caesar wrap which came quickly & was presented nicely. I bit into it and tasted fish straight away. It had dozens of anchovies in. No mention of anchovies on the menu or on the phone to room service. I realise some caesars traditionally have them on but the same can be said for egg & there was non of that. £15 for the pleasure of a few crisps on the side of the plate.
I feel the service let them down which was a shame as it was a beautiful hotel with great facilities. It wasn't too busy so I wouldn't have expected it but even so as a paying customer I don't feel that was acceptable.

Reviewed by
Emma L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
My partner and I stayed for one night whilst attending a nearby wedding, we really enjoyed our stay, the front of house was very helpful and ensured we had a taxi to and from our venue and we also had opportunity to enjoy the spa facilities in the morning before a great breakfast with as much toast and refreshments as we could eat and a vegetarian full english for my partner.

Reviewed by
J Wade

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic rooms great views of golf course and countryside .
Staff very helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
Louise N

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Country Retreat
A peaceful retreat surrounded by greenery! Lovely food and friendly staff! our double room was clean and much larger than expected with balcony doors overlooking the golf course; the en suite incorporated a large shower unit as well as a bath which was great! Really impressive reception area and helpful professional staff.

Reviewed by
Julia J

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
C WOOD

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful short break
Customer service very good and room clean, tidy and after a call to service desk we had milk, coffee etc. Only complaint about room was the bed. Although a wonderful super king size the mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable.
Cooked breakfast was small (quarter slice of fried bread!) and if you requested another slice you got another quarter. Also ran out of vegetarian option which was disappointing. Food in restaurant is pricey and not good enough quality to justify the cost. Hotel facilities are good with a nice warm pool and high quality changing rooms, showers etc.
Would return again but ask for a softer bed!

Reviewed by
HELEN H

From Lampeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next