No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel Guildford

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Newlands Corner , Guildford, GU4 8SE
Set in acres of parkland with a superb indoor pool, Spa and gym, the hotel is a well placed for Guildford, Woking and the M25.

The hotel offers comfortable en suite bedrooms with Freeview TV and many also have fine views. A traditional bar and restaurant with a spacious lounge for relaxation. Free Wi Fi is available in the bar & restaurant, (chargeable in guests bedrooms), car parking free of charge. A civil ceremony license and elegant air conditioned function rooms make The Manor House a popular wedding venue.

Substantial on-site free parking and a choice of function rooms with Wi-Fi throughout make The Manor an ideal and well equipped venue for business meetings and conferences for meetings of all sizes.

West Clandon station is 2 miles away, and Guildford station is 3 miles away
Picture of Manor House Hotel Guildford, Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great night's stay
Excellent quality and value for money. Laterooms.com saved me that night as I had nowhere to stay. The hotel was really nice, breakfast was lovely. The bed and room were more than adequate and I had a fantastic night's sleep.

Reviewed by
james c

From Cinderford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst customer service experience ever

Reviewed by
STEVE C

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Stay
I was looking for somewhere quiet and lovely to stay, that wasn't over priced and had a decent spa, so I could chill out on my on for a weekend. Guildford is a place I like anyway, so I was pleasantly surprised to come across this hotel.
Its a very peaceful place, with genuinely friendly and helpful staff. It was obvious the building itself was quite old, as there was some squeaky floorboards, and the plumbing system could be a bit of a struggle, however the both the building and the grounds were full of character. There was even a resident peacock, as well as a couple of deers!
The spa facilities were great, exactly what I was looking for, and the lady who did my treatments was again very lovely.
The dinners I had were extremely tasty, and portion sizes were generous. I felt the continental breakfast was a bit sparse, as there was only really cereals and yogurts; considering continental breakfast was £7pp, I would have liked to have seen some pastries or more fruit available.
Overall, I got the peaceful "Me Time" Stay that I needed. I would definitely consider coming back.

Reviewed by
Sophie J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
My partner & l booked this hotel due to having a previous stay. Upon arrival we noticed a sign saying the pool & spa was not working. This was our main reason for our return. Management did not want to take responsibilty when asked why were we not informed before hand. I will not be staying at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Kate H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old style but charming
It's an old country house style of traditional hotel with lots of going up and down stairs to get to the rooms. Nice gardens, good breakfast all very civilised and rather a nice change from the modern fashion.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too short a stay!
Both rooms were comfortable and very clean. There was resonable storage space in ours and plenty in our daughter's and the view from her room was beautiful, overlooking the rural landscape. The evening meal was good, with a reasonable choice of well-cooked dishes and the "Full Engjlish" breakfast the next morning was excellent!
Our daughter, a fitness enthusiast, used the gym and commented on how well-designed and equipped it was. The space had been utilized very well. Unfortunately, we did not have time to try the swimming pool. There was a notice in reception warning guests that the pool temperature was a bit low - this wouldn't have bothered us, but it was fair to warn families with young children and guests who wouldn not be swimming energetically enough to keep warm.
It is a lovely venue for a wedding.
We would all have liked to have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
C.E. S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We spent three nights at the hotel. The room was spacious and reasonably comfortable, although the decor was dated. The light over the bathroom mirror didn't work, so I mentioned this at reception. Someone came straight away and fixed it, but unfortunately it stopped working again. I didn't like the flashing light on the fire alarm in the room. The food was good value and there was a good choice for breakfast, however we would have preferred a fresh pot of tea rather than getting it from the drinks flask. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
G Adams

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely setting - but hotel in need of updating
We chose this hotel as we were going to a function nearby. Having travelled down from Essex, we planned to take advantage of the Spa facilities. Unfortunately, when we arrived, we were informed that the boiler had broken down so the swimming pool was unheated and the Jacuzzi was out of action. As the main reason for choosing this hotel was the facilities, we were obviously very disappointed.
The rooms, tho adequate, were in need of some TLC - bathroom quite shabby. Bar carpet very dirty. However, the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us.
We would have appreciated a call beforehand to inform us about the problems with the Spa - either from the hotel itself, or laterooms (if indeed that had been informed). Full marks though to the staff.

Reviewed by
Stephen F

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Stay
This is a nice hotel, clean and nice surroundings. There is a nice gym and swimming pool which are free to use. The staff were pleasant even if I was informed twice that I had not paid for breakfast when I had. The breakfast was very nice. Location is a drive to anywhere else but worth a drive to the village of Shere which is only a couple of miles away.

Reviewed by
James S

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather quaint and nicely old fashioned
It's nice big old country house sort of place with a bit of charm and lot of character in a good location.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next