No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Belfry at Yarcombe

4Visit England Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Yarcombe , Honiton, EX14 9BD
The Belfry at Yarcombe is a wonderful place to unwind and relax. The Grade II listed building is a former village school situated in picturesque Yarcombe. The resident owners, Neil and Sarah-Jane and their cat Saona, although seldom seen, extend a genuinely warm welcome, creating an atmosphere of friendliness and peaceful relaxation. Modern British / gastro food is passionately created and guests may begin the day with anything from a slice of toast to a whole side of smoked haddock, full English or the winter special of eggy panetoné. Dinner guests are asked to choose 24 hours in advance from the menu and their meal will be freshly prepared to order, from the fabulous range of fresh and local ingredients. The restaurant is limited to just 12 covers and is open to non-residents too, so guests are advised to reserve a table should they wish to dine in order to avoid disappointment. A splendid and reasonably price wine list accompanies. With only six, individually styled luxury en-suite bedrooms The Belfry provides a high standard of accommodation blending traditional features with modern comforts. With guest comfort in mind there are thoughtful additional touches including freshly baked goods, mineral water, luxury bathrobes and top quality towels and linens in every room. Additionally, we have just added L'Occitane toiletteries in all the rooms for your enjoyment. Guests are welcome to browse the owners’ collection of books and music to enjoy in the lounge or with each room’s CD player. Surrounded by rolling countryside with stunning views of the Yarty, The Belfry is ideally located to explore the magnificent countryside of England’s South West from the Jurassic World Heritage Coastline to the wide-open spaces of Dartmoor and Exmoor. The Good Hotel Guide 2008 - The Michelin Guide 2008 Please note The Belfry is a non-smoking establishment and does not take children under 13 or pets.
Picture of The Belfry at Yarcombe, Honiton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Belfry was a treat!
Very comfortable room, with added poetry! Charming and helpful staff; the food was excellent.
This is a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Eileen A

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sunday
excellent place but hard to find an evening meal in the area

Reviewed by
Edward Newham

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Sarah Jane and Neil were the perfect hosts!
When I arrived on the Sunday evening completely exhausted, the welcome I received was like I was arriving home.
The room was comfy, (bed amazingly so) and the attention to detail was lovely.
Breakfast was cooked to order and was of a very high standard.
Would definitely recommend!!!

Reviewed by
E Baldwin

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
thanks for a brill stay will be back

Reviewed by
S Drew

From Moreton in Marsh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service but too many negatives for the price
Looks good in the write up and has 4 stars. But... the bathroom was little bigger than the bath itself and reminiscent of a 1970s housing estate that had not been decorated since. The bed was excellent, but the room layout was poor meaning that there was nowhere to sit while watching TV. We moved the sofa making the room a little cramped but more practical. Sleeping was difficult due to the very loud church clock opposite chiming every 30 minutes, and with a little tune you could get heartily sick of! We didn't eat dinner in, but breakfast was OK. All in all not what you expect at this price.

Reviewed by
A Bracher

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth staying here
Excellent place full of charm and character with great hosts . Location was off min road but worth finding through Late Rooms as well deserved previous ratings.Room was excellent with some really nice touches like pillow spray and nice toiletries which makes a pleasant change from the usual mass hotel group experience.Great breakfast and good quality food. Pub opposite served delicious food as well just a little quiet .Cannot fault this B+B .Would highly recommend and if I am in this area again I will be booking here.

Reviewed by
Gill P

From MANCHESTER, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
The owners were away when I stayed and as such the restaurent closed but I was warned of this in advance and given dining aletnatives. (more on that later).
Friends were looking after the business in the owners absence and did a great job making me feel welcome and looking after me. The Belfrey is an old chapel in a very small queit village and I guess was renovated a few years ago and the structure is starting to feel a little dated. Wood chip wallpaper, avocado toilet suite and a plastic shower curtain are really things of the past. That said the quality of the bed lined, refreshments, the free wifi and the breakfast was excellent and overall represented VERY good value for money. I would stay again if I were in the area.
As the restaurent was closed I ate at the Yarcombe Inn just over the road and would just say the food was excellent. Real ale, fine dining in and old inn with a roaring fire.

Reviewed by
Terry W

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place to stay
Would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
kim newitt

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small Country Hideaway
This is a small country hotel, conveniently placed opposite a great country pub. The owners are very welcoming and helpful, they couldnt have looked after us better, nothing was too much trouble. I hate to say anything negative about the stay but we had paid extra for a delux room and in my mind the standard was not as high as I would normally expect. The bathroon is in need of modernisation - it was clean (bar the showerhead) but certainly not 'delux' standard. But forget that, the owners are working their way through the hotel making improvemnets and everything else was absolutely great. Make sure you book dinner. The food is absolutely fantastic, freshly cooked and presented beautifully, I am vegetarian and it was probably the best meal I've ever had, my partner isnt and his meal was perfect too. Breakfast was also of the highest standard. Well worth staying here! I would certainly book again.

Reviewed by
Karen C

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good night at the Belfry
I travel a great deal for work and stay in Hotels/ B&B's all over the country. This one is superb. Run by really nice people who know how things should be done. I stayed in "Tennyson" which has fabulous views in every direction. The room had lots of lovely little touches including complimentary water, nibbles and wine available, beautifully clean and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. The shower is large and really powerful!!! This is the end room nearest the road, a little road noise from a few cars during the night and the church clock tinkles away all night, neither were enough to keep me awake, but if you were a very light sleeper might not be the room for you. There are plenty more. Breakfast cooked to order and superb!!!

Reviewed by
Martin H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next