No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Cambridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Trumpington Street , Cambridge, CB2 1PY
The Royal Cambridge Hotel is a traditional hotel in Cambridge city centre just a 5-minute walk from the historic Cambridge University Colleges.

The 57 elegant en-suite bedrooms each have flat-screen TV with Freeview, work desk, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Executive Rooms have a cosy seating area.
High Table Restaurant offers 24 hour food to residents and guests can enjoy fresh coffees and light snacks in the spacious bar.

The Royal Cambridge Hotel offers complimentary Wifi and is just 200 metres from the Fitzwilliam Museum. The Grand Arcade Shopping Centre is a 10-minute walk, and the lively market square is just half a mile away. On-Site Car Parking is Limited and is charged at £15 per day. For Non-residents the charge is £20 per day. Alternative Car Parking is available at Queen Anne Terrace Multi Storey Car Park ( Sat Nav – CB1 1ND) which is a 10 min walk away.

Picture of Royal Cambridge Hotel, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seen better days
The Hotel was quite tatty, there was a lot of road noise, the staff were not overly polite, the bar was closed early on a Friday night (although you could still get a drink), and it was over-priced for what it was. Extra for parking, extra for breakfast - both of which should have been included in the room rate considering the price.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Lightwater, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
Lovely location but that's about it. turned away at breakfast even though had paid extra through booking site and then on top of room rate they gun you down on car parking!!!

Reviewed by
Leon S

From Harwich, England
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs vast improvements - great location but nothing else great about it!
Because of its great location it seems the hotel doesn't think it needs to worry about anything else. The room was warm and clean but very basic and very small. Do not pay extra for breakfast, probably the worst breakfast I've ever had!

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st room the door wouldnt open fully as it hit the bed! All rooms v tired and need of refurbishment
Bedrooms small, old, need refurbishing. Staff very few around but polite and helpful. 1st room given door hit bed when door opened to go in room. Did not fully open..Single glazed windows so cold despite radiator on.
Second room not much better. But we had paid so decided to stay. It was only 1 night thank goodness. Never again....

Reviewed by
steve p

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
This hotel is very over priced for what you actually get for your money. It is one of the most expensive hotels in Cambridge and my expectations were disappointed. The staff are courteous, friendly and helpful but the rooms are somewhat out dated. There is a lso a hefty daily charge for car parking on top of the high price of the hotel. Other hotels in Cambridge offer better value for money.

Reviewed by
Katie S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Cambridge Hotel
Lovely hotel and room, however, the Internet which I had paid for did not work in my room.

Reviewed by
Kristiane E

From Oslo, Norway
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SOME PROBLEMs
During the night the heating was stopped and the room became cold.
There were 15 bags of coffee but surprisingly there was no tea bag in the room at all.
On the reservation documents there was no information about the breakfast, whether I have requested it or haven’t.
On the adverisement there was a different building on the FOTO, it was missleading. On the FOTO was a much nicer and cozier building.

Reviewed by
G R

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Hotel
I booked this hotel as we wanted to go Christmas shopping and have a meal out the night before in the middle of Cambridge. Parking was not available so we had to park in a expensive car park and walk with luggage for ten mins. The room we booked was up in the loft with no view and a toilet that kept flushing non stop, the décor was tired and dark and the bath had a chip in it. We reported this and another room was found, this was a apartment, with inter-joining doors that could not be locked with the people next door so we could not leave anything in the room, they could walk into our room at any time. The décor was again tired with lights that did not work and fixtures missing, the bathroom woodwork was splintered and very sparse. In the evening we went into the bar for a drink and found the décor in there also tired with wallpaper coming off the walls. We was woken in the morning at 6am by a crying child, which lasted for two hours non stop, the people above us was also woken and started to get up and we could hear them moving about also, so we just got up early and left as soon as breakfast was ready. There is no service at breakfast, you have to fetch everything yourself. We will not stay here again and especially for how much we paid.

Reviewed by
S Richardson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two night stay
Very expensive stay in comparison to facilities offered. Room just about adequate but decoration needs attention. Toilet flush not working properly.
Hotel offers reserved parking at an extra cost. However the car park is not sufficient to accommodate all vehicles of guests at the hotel, only having 22 spaces. As the hotel is situated on a main road with double yellow lines surrounding it this is far from helpful. Parking in Cambridge is a major problem so having a guaranteed parking space at a hotel is essential.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Southport, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and dated. building site next door

Reviewed by
Tim S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next