No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Cambridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Trumpington Street , Cambridge, CB2 1PY
Offering on-site car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Royal Cambridge Hotel is a traditional hotel in Cambridge city centre just a 5-minute walk from the historic Cambridge University Colleges.
The 57 elegant en-suite bedrooms each have a flat-screen TV with Freeview, work desk, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Executive Rooms have a cosy seating area.
High Table Restaurant offers 24 hour food to residents and guests can enjoy fresh coffees and light snacks in the spacious bar.
The Royal Cambridge Hotel is just 200 metres from the Fitzwilliam Museum. The Grand Arcade Shopping Centre is a 10-minute walk, and the lively market square is just half a mile away.
Picture of Royal Cambridge Hotel, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and tired
Both externally and internally, the hotel gives the impression of having seen better days. When we arrived, the room was very hot and remained unpleasantly so throughout the night. The presence of a , fairly useless, fan with attendant instructions in the room implies that this is a common problem. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient; the breakfast staff seemed more concerned with clearing used plates than in welcoming or guiding guests. That said, the food was reasonable and the coffee drinkable!

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers In Cambridge
A sad and tired hotel. We had a third floor room and the plumbing was non existent - shower dribbled and toilet would not flush and the camping type system pumped intermittently all night. The clothes cupboard was falling apart and to use the kettle meant putting the kettle on the floor. The lift did not go to the third floor and there were paper stickers glued to the switches for floor numbers. Breakfast was indifferent as were the serving staff. All in all poor value for money

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in need of a serious redecoration and fast!! However the hotel very central and parking very reasonable at £8 per day.

Reviewed by
Jayne Wilkinson

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing.
We had to wedge the window open with a waste paper bin to get some ventilation. The decoration was good but the curtains were dreadful, and the bathroom ones were not long enough to cover the clear glass window. We asked for a bulb for one of the reading lights but although the staff were very helpful they did not have one, and it was not replaced the next day either. Springs were sticking through one of the mattresses. Not good enough for the price we paid although the hotel is in a good position.

Reviewed by
Anne R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location for Cambridge Centre with parking (charged extra), may well have some nice rooms but the one I stayed in needed refurbishment. Didn't eat at the Hotel, so cant comment on food.

Reviewed by
J Kail

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
Clean and comfortable accommodation. Old building, well maintained.

Reviewed by
Anne P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking Sat Night off season, great breakfast, friendly staff, but hot room & tired deco
Very friendly Staff, although when we arrived the checking in lady seemed very flustered on the phone to her manager, it was a shame as it didn't make a great first impression. However she was so friendly that the impression was soon redeemed (perhaps two on the desk on a Saturday evening in case the phone rings?). We chose the Royal Cambridge for the price and the vicinity to the centre of Cambridge. We chose the Superior Double Room rather than the budget version as I assumed that Superior would have been a slightly higher quality room (it may have been as we didn't see the budget version) the room was very spacious and although it was clean and the bathroom was more than adequate with a good shower, the room (406) (which in times past would have been beautiful with ornate features plaster work/rose etc.), the room suffered from two problems :-
- Despite all the radiators being off there seemed to be no way to regulate the room temperature (it felt as if we were next door to a very hot boiler room), it was far too hot, as such we had to open the window on the ground floor (but for security and privacy we closed the window before going to sleep). A large fan was supplies but that isn't particularly pleasant if you are not used to a fan noise all night and the sensation of being blow-dried all night doesn't feel great if you need to sleep off a heavy night's party. (Perhaps air-conditioning) The room had received some serious damage to the ceiling which had been covered up "temporarily" by a couple of large plaster board sheets (aesthetically not very pleasant). The rest of the ceiling was cracked and stained and there were re-filled holes in the wall where old features had been removed (perhaps mirrors, hair dryers or similar). we also noticed similar (age related) damage in the restaurant.
The hotel felt clean but very tired regarding maintenance and décor (the style is not the problem as it suits the style and age of the building, but the condition of the décor urgently needs a concerted refresh programme). I am sure that they could perhaps close a room a day and decorate it refresh it on a rolling renovation programme. I will say it again, very friendly staff, very good full English breakfast and overall not a negative experience. We can't complain at the price.

Reviewed by
Daniel C

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stuffy
Helpful, friendly staff but decor is a little dated and general atmosphere was stuffy. Although the room was clean and tidy, the room was very hot and the mattress was very uncomfortable, with springs visible through the thin padding. I put the duvet on the floor and slept on that! I often work in Cambridge and this hotel is the most expensive and worst value I've experienced. Staff helpfulness and efficiency almost made up for this though and the location is great.

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sub standard bathroom/bedroom
The room (supposedely a double), was so small that the door could not open fully because of the bed. The bathroom was very shabby, the toilet was reluctant to flush and the toilet seat was cheap plastic and slid around when used. It all needed redecorating and quite frankly was not what we expected for the high prices.

Reviewed by
R Thornhill

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next