No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Cambridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Trumpington Street , Cambridge, CB2 1PY
Offering on-site car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Royal Cambridge Hotel is a traditional hotel in Cambridge city centre just a 5-minute walk from the historic Cambridge University Colleges.
The 57 elegant en-suite bedrooms each have a flat-screen TV with Freeview, work desk, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Executive Rooms have a cosy seating area.
High Table Restaurant offers 24 hour food to residents and guests can enjoy fresh coffees and light snacks in the spacious bar.
The Royal Cambridge Hotel is just 200 metres from the Fitzwilliam Museum. The Grand Arcade Shopping Centre is a 10-minute walk, and the lively market square is just half a mile away.
Picture of Royal Cambridge Hotel, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
49% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two night stay
Very expensive stay in comparison to facilities offered. Room just about adequate but decoration needs attention. Toilet flush not working properly.
Hotel offers reserved parking at an extra cost. However the car park is not sufficient to accommodate all vehicles of guests at the hotel, only having 22 spaces. As the hotel is situated on a main road with double yellow lines surrounding it this is far from helpful. Parking in Cambridge is a major problem so having a guaranteed parking space at a hotel is essential.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Southport, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and dated. building site next door

Reviewed by
Tim S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay shame about the breakfast!!
Both me and my wife have stayed in Cambridge many times, this been the first in this hotel, for us it was a very warm, friendly place to stay, the staff very friendly and helpful, our room was ok, a little outdated in that the décor is in need a refresh, plugs not working and hairdryer no were to be found. Our major sticking point was the food, breakfast was buffet style, left to sit on heating plates or under warming lamps, grease was definitely the word!! Also the cost £13.95 each which when you compared that to Browns, on Trumpington Street, at £9.00 per person or a whopping £6.95 each at the Copper Kettle, on Kings Parade, where I may say the breakfasts are lovely and the lattes very nice and strong!!! To sum up a great place to sleep but better places to eat within 600 yards of it.

Reviewed by
Claire r

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rip off
This hotel charges luxury hotel prices for a room that isn't even 2 star standard!

Reviewed by
Y Hawker

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overpriced, poor quality hotel in need of a major refurbishment and new furniture especially beds
On first appearances, hotel didn't seem too bad but the wallpaper and paint was peeling off the walls in the corridor
A single room whiich gave the appearance of being the servants quarters and the furniture left over from the servants use. Bed uncomfortable and in need of replacing and hotel needs some furniture that didn't come from a charity shop.
Breakfast was poor and overpriced with cremated sausages, bacon you could sole your shoe with and congealled beans and for £13! Fantastic!
However, the staff were very friendly and helpful although this was let down by only one receptionist in the morning dealing with check outs and constantly on the phone
A real shame as this hotel has masses of potential but the owners need to spend money on a major refurb
Premier Inns leaves this place standing is oh so many ways and the owners could learn from them.
All I heard was negative comments

Reviewed by
Sue O

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Given keys to someone else's room, luckily they were out! Full tiny car park, told breakfast was extra cost after being informed it was included at check in. Grubby room, tired hotel staff with poor customer service skills are bad attitude, overall a poor experience

Reviewed by
G Buck

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a lovely hotel in the perfect location with a nice cosy room to go back too. It was close to the town and bars which was perfect for us as we could shop in the day and go out at night . I would definitely stay there again!

Reviewed by
R Carey

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Royal Cambridge hotel
This hotel is very old, and you should not get your expectations very high. There was no no air conditioning in my room, and i found the ventilation in the halls above the ground floor to be terrible. There is zero water pressure in the shower, and barely a trickle of water. My room was on the third floor, and getting water to it was obviously a problem, as the toilet made a lot of noise for several minutes after it was flushed. Hotel location is terrific for being close to Cambridge University, but I believe that is this hotel's only strength.

Reviewed by
P Parsons

From Toronto, Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotrl in the centre of Cambridge is in a very convenient place to stay, but see below.
It is a tired old hotel, which the management try their best to provide a place to stay.
My main reasons for staying at this hotel were that it was near the conference centre and it had good secure parking protected by barrier and CCTV.
I have stayed there in September during the past 4 years, whilst attending an annual conference held in one of the Cambridge colleges.
It is quiet at the back but faces Trumpington Road in the front. Between 2011 and 2013, for two years the very old lift was not working, but on this occasion has been repaired and was working again.
On my arrival this year I was shocked to discover that the hotel secure car park (my main reason for choosing to stay in that hotel previously) was full and half of it was cordoned off. I had had no warning of this development.
I later discovered that the reason for this was because Cambridge University owned the land and the hotel rented this land to provide sufficient car parking spaces for all their guests. Now, the University Engineering Department have repossessed the land to extend their premises. The present car park remained full throughout my stay.
I was referred to the car park attached to the Hilton hotel (on the backs by where you can hire a punt) which charges £2 an hour.
As I arrived when it was dark at around 20.00 hours it was difficult to find and also would have been extremely expensive to stay at the Hilton, which charged far more for non guests, as I was booked to stay at the Cambridge Royal Hotel for 2 days until the Saturday morning.
The Cambridge Royal Hotel car park remained full for the whole of my stay. I was unable to park there, despite checking regularly during my stay to see whether any of the permanently parked cars had left.
Furthermore, there were cars trying to access the car park and also turn around in the very limited space between the barrier obstructing access, which was not visible from the very busy access road. Cars trying to enter the car park, who were clearly unaware of the problems created by the actions of Cambridge University were trying to turn into the hotel car park whilst other cars had to do a 360 degree turnaround to get out of the limited space available to do this.
There was no visible warning to those vehicles trying to get across an extremely busy road into the car park. This road running up from the backs to Trumpington street was extremely busy and the volume of traffic coming into Cambridge both day and night was pretty well continuous.
The receptionist informed me that when the work currently being done by the Engineering department in the cordoned off part of the hotel car park has been completed, that the car park that existed prior to the work being done will not be restored.
Whilst Cambridge University are legally within their rights to commandeer the land currently being developed, the way in which hotel guests have been treated is unacceptable, although I recognise that the hotel had little alternative.
I booked this hotel accommodation in the autumn of 2013, so there was plenty of time for the hotel to inform me and other guests about this problem.
I shall never ever stay in this hotel again after the experience I have had on this occasion.
R L Parsons

Reviewed by
R Parsons

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
Room was fine but general decor of Hotel was a little tired, it seemed in need of a refurbishment.
I felt charging £8.00 to park your car as a resident was outrageous.

Reviewed by
D Dunn

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next