No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Cambridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Trumpington Street , Cambridge, CB2 1PY
Offering on-site car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Royal Cambridge Hotel is a traditional hotel in Cambridge city centre just a 5-minute walk from the historic Cambridge University Colleges.
The 57 elegant en-suite bedrooms each have a flat-screen TV with Freeview, work desk, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Executive Rooms have a cosy seating area.
High Table Restaurant offers 24 hour food to residents and guests can enjoy fresh coffees and light snacks in the spacious bar.
The Royal Cambridge Hotel is just 200 metres from the Fitzwilliam Museum. The Grand Arcade Shopping Centre is a 10-minute walk, and the lively market square is just half a mile away.
Picture of Royal Cambridge Hotel, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
49% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More potential than achievement
The outside appearance and the immedtate entry are impressive.The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was impressively large but had low beams which could hit anyone under five foot six. It is also necessary to walk up from the second to third floor and no offer was made for assistance with luggage. In the room a large standard lamp was lying on its side, and trapped under a seat so it had not just fallen recently. There was no TV remote and when one was brought it did not match the TV. The water in the shower at 7.15 was tepid. The bed was comfortable and with windows closed the room was pleasantly quiet. This has the potential and staff to be a lovely hotel but it needs some money spent and some care taken so eg the room is properly ready with furniture in order, windows closed in winter and facilities working.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is very comfortable but the bedroom was in need of an facelift. Not a problem but compared with the decor on the lobby and dining room it ended an update

Reviewed by
C Painter

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
A nice building, and well positioned fir the city, but looking very tired. Needs some money spending on the decoration.

Reviewed by
Kevin C

From Doha, Qatar
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
This hotel is in a very good location but the accomodation is in need of some updating and redecoration. The room was clean and had the basic facilities but overall the decor was tatty and I felt this hotel was rather over-priced. In the evening we returned at about 10.30 and ordered drinks and a cappucino - the latter appeared to have been made from a packet mix! i would prefer to have been informed that fresh coffee could not be provided.

Reviewed by
Helen F

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Quality
One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. So tired it was snoring heavily. Damp, dirty and disgusting. Shower leaked so much you could literally shower in it. I would not recommend this to anyone, £107 per night plus £8 parking per day is poor value. I've stayrdc nicer b&bs for a fraction of this.

Reviewed by
Ben G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel
This hotel is in a great location but is generally tired and shabby. The rooms are very basic, windows draughty and cold. Was met and reception by someone who was finishing a mouthful of food. No welcome, just 'Are you in the car park? If so you need to pay £8' - Nice.
Breakfast was fully self service including having to fill your own pot of tea.
Overall one of the worst hotels I've stayed in and not worth paying £140 for on a single room.

Reviewed by
Ian K

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked a luxury room. What I was offered was a tired drab looking room which I did not accept

Reviewed by
stephen R

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable Hotel!

Reviewed by
D C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dingy and run down
Room was boiling when we arrived - all heating downstairs had been full on for days - no occupants. Staff struggling, room not very clean, bathroom big but not clean and needed re-furb.

Reviewed by
Geoff B

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good surprise
The hotel was easy to find and parking on site available and convenient, and walkable to the older colleges and museums, galleries and shops.
The welcome was warm and after sorting out initial problems with the room heating -stifling, the system just brought back into use, we were very happy. The décor was a bit worn and tired but the staff could not have been more helpful. We ate in the dining room on our second night and the food was very good.
We would use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
David G

From Weymouth, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next