No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Cambridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Trumpington Street , Cambridge, CB2 1PY
Offering on-site car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Royal Cambridge Hotel is a traditional hotel in Cambridge city centre just a 5-minute walk from the historic Cambridge University Colleges.
The 57 elegant en-suite bedrooms each have a flat-screen TV with Freeview, work desk, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Executive Rooms have a cosy seating area.
High Table Restaurant offers 24 hour food to residents and guests can enjoy fresh coffees and light snacks in the spacious bar.
The Royal Cambridge Hotel is just 200 metres from the Fitzwilliam Museum. The Grand Arcade Shopping Centre is a 10-minute walk, and the lively market square is just half a mile away.
Picture of Royal Cambridge Hotel, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dingy room, expensive stuffy and very hot.
The staff and service were good and you can't fault the location but the room itself was quite shabby and stuck in the 70s. Not what I would expect for £100+ a night even in an expensive tourist destination like Cambridge. The only other plus was that the internet connection worked well.

Reviewed by
Alex C

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lift
The lift was not working. Lucky for us we were on the first floor. We had heard from a firend who had stay that it was not working when they stayed. The staff did offer to carry our bags.

Reviewed by
Sylvia A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT HOTEL - We enjoy our stay
1 night booked with Lateroom.com - The room was very clean (except for the carpet not really clean but ok) - Huge double bed, soft and comfortable. Lot of space in with good decoration and furniture - The area is quiet and we sleep well all night - Nice the heater for dry the towels - Huge bathroom with bath and shower nose. Hot water - Free hot tea, coffee into room - Good large continental breakfast in a cosy colorful dinner room.
VERY GOOD FOR THE PRICE

Reviewed by
Valerio P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

check before you book
initially everything seemed OK the receptionist was polite and welcoming the staff in general deserve a better hotel the manager who i spoke to with regard to the issues. to be fair had raised these issues but it was like Sir Alex Ferguson having a world class team but playing on a pitch with a one in three gradient with them playing up the slope.
It is not my job to tell the hotel how to treat their guests but there should be a basic understanding of what a customer needs and this should be driven from the top down and common sense needs to prevail in some cases some of the issues which are long standing are as follows.
lift not working rooms too hot general tiredness of the hotel and at £89 a night well overpriced.
As of today the Lift is still not working.
If your a fully fit Mountaineer or fitness fanatic it might suit you to use the stairs as part of your fitness programme for us unfit mortals bring an oxygen mask
I read some reviews before booking but like most people accepted that some will get it wrong others will reflect the true state of the establishment. having experienced and lived the reviews I therefore titled my review check before you book.
It will safeguard in most cases you not ending up disappointed and feeling short changed booking a hotel with your nearest and dearest is like booking the day of your wedding if the day is disappointing it stays with you for a long time so check before you book.
And ask questions get deals and upgrades they are always on offer.
it was a shame to have to report such negativity but the fact is people pay good money and should expect and receive value for money we don't complain enough.
On a positive note if money was invested in this hotel it could easily be up amongst the top hotels in Cambridge very quickly
In regard to the review below i would not say i would not stay here again but certainly not as it stands at the moment

Reviewed by
Francis Sheppard

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Obviously a once plush hotel which was now run down and in need of refurbishing
In its day this hotel would have been a very smart building with very smart people staying there. It seemed to us to be in need of some refurbishment and TLC. Although very central it was a lot of money for the room.

Reviewed by
J Skinner

From Southwold, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for visiting Cambridge and took the stress out of shopping and parking. Read reviews before I left and agree with previous guests that the hotel is in need of a refurb. Howver,, reception staff very welcoming and helpful and room was clean despite looking tired. A bit overpriced but to be expected for location and month of August.

Reviewed by
J B

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abysmal Accomadation
a) No hot water but the receptionist gave me a key to another room to use bath and shower facilities.
b) Television intermittent and must have been running on Steam???
c)Lift did not work from day 1 and there was no effort made to rectify the problem.
d) Ripped/torn furnishings in the room (209)
This is the 21st Century and not the dark ages. Its a dark and dingy hotel and might as well represent a Brothel!! All in all for the ridiculous costs I would have been better off in a Bed and Breakfast!! To Charge £10-00 for Breakfast and another £8-00 for Parking is daylight robbery!! The owners need to get out and smell the Latte!! This stay was a nightmare and I would never ever stay there again and would rather sleep on a pavement!!

Reviewed by
Anthony Alphonse

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a

Reviewed by
R Gustafsson

From Deje, Sweden
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs refurbishment, good location but expensive for the hotel condition.

Reviewed by
R Lane

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Continuously dead lift
The hotel is very convenient and our room was ok (although slightly concerned by the stains on the curtains). We were on the third floor and had heavy suitcases. The lift was out of action throughout our stay - I gather that it had not worked for a considerable time. As the weather was hot and the average age of the guests was 60+ this was really not good!

Reviewed by
J Peterson

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next