No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Cambridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Trumpington Street , Cambridge, CB2 1PY
Offering on-site car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Royal Cambridge Hotel is a traditional hotel in Cambridge city centre just a 5-minute walk from the historic Cambridge University Colleges.
The 57 elegant en-suite bedrooms each have a flat-screen TV with Freeview, work desk, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Executive Rooms have a cosy seating area.
High Table Restaurant offers 24 hour food to residents and guests can enjoy fresh coffees and light snacks in the spacious bar.
The Royal Cambridge Hotel is just 200 metres from the Fitzwilliam Museum. The Grand Arcade Shopping Centre is a 10-minute walk, and the lively market square is just half a mile away.
Picture of Royal Cambridge Hotel, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
49% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel
This hotel is in a great location but is generally tired and shabby. The rooms are very basic, windows draughty and cold. Was met and reception by someone who was finishing a mouthful of food. No welcome, just 'Are you in the car park? If so you need to pay £8' - Nice.
Breakfast was fully self service including having to fill your own pot of tea.
Overall one of the worst hotels I've stayed in and not worth paying £140 for on a single room.

Reviewed by
Ian K

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked a luxury room. What I was offered was a tired drab looking room which I did not accept

Reviewed by
stephen R

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable Hotel!

Reviewed by
D C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dingy and run down
Room was boiling when we arrived - all heating downstairs had been full on for days - no occupants. Staff struggling, room not very clean, bathroom big but not clean and needed re-furb.

Reviewed by
Geoff B

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good surprise
The hotel was easy to find and parking on site available and convenient, and walkable to the older colleges and museums, galleries and shops.
The welcome was warm and after sorting out initial problems with the room heating -stifling, the system just brought back into use, we were very happy. The décor was a bit worn and tired but the staff could not have been more helpful. We ate in the dining room on our second night and the food was very good.
We would use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
David G

From Weymouth, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

elliott was great
The customer care was good from the bar ! The room however, was dated-needing clean upholstery-the bed headboard was not clean the divan beds had no valance and looked poor. The carpet was old and worn.
Would stay again if the rooms were better, I felt the staff were trying hard!

Reviewed by
Y Hargreaves

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Cambridge
Good hotel and great city location with parking, but a few grumbles: my room was facing the main road and I did not get much sleep due to the constant traffic noise! I have previously stayed at the hotel and been given a room at the back - much quieter. Staff were not that helpful on reception - (for example: I had to ask what times the meals were served and they did not tell me I had to pay for the car park when I checked in - I offered to pay only after reading the information in the room!)

Reviewed by
J Thomson

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Cambridge Hotel
The whole hotel is very tired and needs a complete facelift. The lift was not working. There was no porter available upon arrival at approximately 3.30 pm and very much overpriced. I would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone. Breakfast was the only meal that we had which again was overpriced at £10 compared to other hotels we have recently stayed at.

Reviewed by
d colville

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby!
Very shabby hotel! The entrance of the kings room looked like a council estate. The bathroom was about 20 years old and in terrible condition. Spend your money elsewhere.

Reviewed by
jake a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Great location,no way 4 star,too expensive plays on location,breakfast ok.

Reviewed by
a clark

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next