No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmer Lawn

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lyndhurst Road , Brockenhurst, SO42 7ZB
Set against the timeless backdrop of Europe's oldest & largest surviving forest, the Balmer Lawn nestles into ancient woodlands on the outskirts of the charming village of Brockenhurst.

Built in the mid 1800s as a coaching inn, the hotel has been host to English & Russian royalty and even an American President. The hotels' tasteful blend of the contemporary and the traditional ensures the perfect combination of old fashioned values and modern sophistication and style.

At the end of a perfect day your comfortable, individually styled bedroom will offer you an oasis of calm to dream of more delights to come, beautifully appointed and with many offering sweeping views across the lawns to the forest beyond.
Picture of Balmer Lawn, Brockenhurst at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
A very nice stay my only complaint was the bed was very uncomftable ,did not get much sleep . But the rest was great

Reviewed by
Jay A

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be returning
Really enjoyed staying at the hotel with a very warm welcome, and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Weather was perfect for a drink outside and the entertainment was low key and just what we wanted in complimenting the hotel perfectly. We used the hotel as a base before we went over to the Isle of White (for which its perfectly located) whilst we will be returning to enjoy more of the hotels facilities and the surrounding area

Reviewed by
wayne geoghegan

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced for quality you get
Far to pricey for standard of room we received which was a family room. Hotel needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to decent standard. 4 star is questionable.

Reviewed by
James N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service was good, but the room was not a 4 star room. It was small and had stained headboards, two single beds pushed together to make a double, TV remote not fully functional, no bottles of water, no tissues, very dated decor and windows that rattled.

Reviewed by
Joanna M

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will return here
We had a budget room with an extremely comfortable bed. The rooms were cleaned daily and always looked pristine. The ambiance of the lounge area was very welcoming. The bathroom was adequate, the water was not always very hot. We felt the bed linen was soft and cosy. On this occasion we did not eat at the hotel. All the staff were polite and courteous. During our visit there was a varying degree of clientele. The open air pool was opened for early morning swimmers although it was early May. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
r taylor

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
S Day

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the heart of the forest!
Great location for exploring the local area.
Very clean and modern room (standard)
Good breakfast
hired bikes from the hotel which were newish and well looked after.
really good restaurants just a few minutes drive from the hotel in brookenhurst and lyndhurst.
just a shame that some of the staff really didn't understand us all the time!

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Chigwell, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close...but...
Very friendly staff. Cannot fault them. The sense of history and the location perfect. In execution the quility of accommodation isn't quite there. The decor is short of the standards one would anticipate of a 4* accommodation. The bed comfort is shy of a Premier Inn. TVs are older/smaller than many less prestigious (our remotes were tired and kept throwing up their battery cover and batteries at will).
It really could be amazing but for me the overall VFM was missing.

Reviewed by
J Griffiths-Bownes

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service

Reviewed by
h kitcher

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Overall a great location and nice hotel. Lack of fridge in the room was disappointing though.

Reviewed by
jane l

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next