No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmer Lawn

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lyndhurst Road , Brockenhurst, SO42 7ZB
Set against the timeless backdrop of Europe's oldest & largest surviving forest, the Balmer Lawn nestles into ancient woodlands on the outskirts of the charming village of Brockenhurst.

Built in the mid 1800s as a coaching inn, the hotel has been host to English & Russian royalty and even an American President. The hotels' tasteful blend of the contemporary and the traditional ensures the perfect combination of old fashioned values and modern sophistication and style.

At the end of a perfect day your comfortable, individually styled bedroom will offer you an oasis of calm to dream of more delights to come, beautifully appointed and with many offering sweeping views across the lawns to the forest beyond.
Picture of Balmer Lawn, Brockenhurst at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

50th celebration
We upgraded our room as this was a special treat but we were very disappointed. Poor view across roof. Strange narrow room, oversized desk In room with chair that would not fit under. Wardrobe door that prevented you passing by bed when open. Only one ceiling light working out of 4.
Strong smell of chlorine from pool in the room?
Residents waking through the Lounge/bar in swimwear?
Long delays between courses in restaurant.
Great location but lots to improve on.

Reviewed by
L Selway

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb weekend getaway!
All staff were atentitive and friendly, when we checked in they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a superior room! So I was really happy with everything. Room was clean, bed was super comfy, we had a stunning view as well! We had dinner in the lounge and that was fantastic too, waiter was incredible too! Overall our stay was hugely enjoyable and everything I anticipated.

Reviewed by
Chloe W

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked on late rooms at good price- when we checked out they increased price by £20!
Booked on late rooms at good price- when we checked out they increased price by £20 because we had a small dog.! I asked them to show me where this increase was shown and they acknowledged it wasnt anywhere! I regret it but i did pay on reflection i should have refused.

Reviewed by
mark c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Happy
We had our honeymoon at the Balmer Lawn 20 years ago and though we would revisit for our 20th Anniversary. All the staff were super efficient, the food was good and the room perfect for us.

Reviewed by
Caroline Cox

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was tired the bathroom was too small

Reviewed by
Glenn Maybury

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cyclists
The Balmer Lawn has now been ticked off our Bucket list,a very pleasant stay,the staff very attentive.The facilitie's,pool,sauna etc beautiful & the location for the bike trail's ideal.We will return .

Reviewed by
nigel s

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money would stay again

Reviewed by
A Adams

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were not impressed with the quality of our room, it was very tired looking with a shabby bathroom. At the hotel we were told it was a budget room but were not told that at the time of booking. It was ok for one night but would not have wanted to stay in the room for longer.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has gone well down hill so disappointed
Rude loud staff, falling apart rooms and no interest when telling them so.

Reviewed by
T Brown

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
A very nice stay my only complaint was the bed was very uncomftable ,did not get much sleep . But the rest was great

Reviewed by
Jay A

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next