No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Saracens Head

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
219 Watling Street West , Towcester, NN12 6BX
The Saracens Head Hotel Towcester near Northampton sits in the heart of the historic Northamptonshire market town of Towcester, close by Towcester Racecourse and Silverstone Race Circuit with easy access via the A43 and M1 junction 15a. The history of the Saracen's Head Hotel, stretching back more than four hundred years, is featured in Charles Dickens' first novel, 'The Pickwick Papers', currently blends into the atmosphere and splendour of this restored hotel. The Saracen's Head Hotel is today the centrepiece of modern life in Towcester, as it has been for centuries. Situated on the Roman Watling Street, the hotel is ideally placed for a day at Towcester Racecourse, generally accepted as the toughest National Hunt course in Britain. Silverstone, for racing of a different kind, is just three miles away. Also nearby is Stoke Bruerne, a canal village with cottages and colourful narrow boats. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality, whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The Hotel has a large car park.
Picture of Saracens Head , Towcester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was excellent but the staff in the restaurant were slow at taking our order

Reviewed by
Louise B

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
I am a frequent user of hotels all around the country and staying at the saracens head was the best value I have used in recent years.

Reviewed by
Lynne Stewart

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saracens and Silverstone....good combo.
Great place, good set up and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Ian Newby

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean and comfortable refurbished rooms. Staff not very helpful and no running water for a bath.

Reviewed by
J Snell

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice old coaching Inn, very helpful polite staff, good food and nice room.

Reviewed by
PETER B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel..shame it had 'run out' of essentials
Cant fault the history and charm of the Saracen's...We had driven 130 miles from Lincolnshire and arrived at 12.20. The young receptionist said the rooms weren't ready as they were waiting on delivery of clean linen which she hoped would be before 4pm..anyway, she remarked, check in wasnt til 4..I thought her welcoming skills lacking. In the end we were able to fteshen up in a different room which was ready.
We entered the hotel restaurant which seemed v understaffed to be told there was a 45 minute wait..so we ate out.
At breakfast I ordered eggs benedict..no ham...was offered bacon by the waitress who was charming and helpful. The third person in our party was really looking forward to toast and marmalade as a treat as she resides in France..guess what? No marmalade..
Final gripe..mean soap dispenser bottle for use as bodywash and handwash..Dispener was faulty.
I know this is a list of seemingly minor gripes but combined they impacted on our experience of the hotel and did nott truly reflect a 4 star or 3 star experience which is is a real shame. There didnt seem to be any member of staff over 26..I think managing staff and resources to be essential

Reviewed by
Robyn S

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good experience
Charlotte, who was on duty in the restaurant, was very very pleasant polite and helpful. All the staff were very friendly. The room was super. My breakfast was very good, my husband was disappointed. The scrambled egg was more like chopped up omelette. The cakes were very poor.

Reviewed by
Christine Pugh

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
The staff at the Saracens were extremely helpful, cheerful and polite. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them

Reviewed by
George H

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good hotel
a great hotel

Reviewed by
S Parker

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spoke to staff before arrival about an early check in due to a wedding but they said they may not have cleaned the room before we got there. When we arrived the room was completely ready.

Reviewed by
W Hill

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next