No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Saracens Head

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
219 Watling Street West , Towcester, NN12 6BX
The Saracens Head Hotel Towcester near Northampton sits in the heart of the historic Northamptonshire market town of Towcester, close by Towcester Racecourse and Silverstone Race Circuit with easy access via the A43 and M1 junction 15a. The history of the Saracen's Head Hotel, stretching back more than four hundred years, is featured in Charles Dickens' first novel, 'The Pickwick Papers', currently blends into the atmosphere and splendour of this restored hotel. The Saracen's Head Hotel is today the centrepiece of modern life in Towcester, as it has been for centuries. Situated on the Roman Watling Street, the hotel is ideally placed for a day at Towcester Racecourse, generally accepted as the toughest National Hunt course in Britain. Silverstone, for racing of a different kind, is just three miles away. Also nearby is Stoke Bruerne, a canal village with cottages and colourful narrow boats. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality, whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The Hotel has a large car park.
Picture of Saracens Head , Towcester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FIRST WEEKEND IN DECEMBER 2014
Very nice hotel with good food, accommodation clean and comfortable. Customer service given 5 rather than 6 as it took time to get help to make radiator in room work effectively.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Kelly

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Only complaint was it took an age for breakfast to be served
Other than that an enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Fraser C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom needs updating

Reviewed by
C Duffield

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

November 2014 stay
I arrived with my wife to stay for 1 night as part celebration for my 60th Birthday. There was only 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel yet we were in a double room, the bathroom towel rail was scorching hot. We booked a table for dinner ......meal took 45 minutes to arrive and chicken was dry and overcooked. At 01:00hrs we were woken up by 4 drunken men brawling outside our window. My wife phoned reception to tell them especially as one man looked badly injured. However nobody answered the phone... despite this advertised as number to use in an emergency! Then we were awoken by fire alarm at 07:10hrs....false alarm! On paying final bill, nobody asked if everything was ok or not .....seemed like 'cant be bothered' attitude. Very disappointing stay!

Reviewed by
Stephen French

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
High quality rooms and good food and drink on offer in the pub / restaurant.

Reviewed by
S Low

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was excellent but the staff in the restaurant were slow at taking our order

Reviewed by
Louise B

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
I am a frequent user of hotels all around the country and staying at the saracens head was the best value I have used in recent years.

Reviewed by
Lynne Stewart

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saracens and Silverstone....good combo.
Great place, good set up and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Ian Newby

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean and comfortable refurbished rooms. Staff not very helpful and no running water for a bath.

Reviewed by
J Snell

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice old coaching Inn, very helpful polite staff, good food and nice room.

Reviewed by
PETER B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next