No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Saracens Head

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
219 Watling Street West , Towcester, NN12 6BX
The Saracens Head Hotel Towcester near Northampton sits in the heart of the historic Northamptonshire market town of Towcester, close by Towcester Racecourse and Silverstone Race Circuit with easy access via the A43 and M1 junction 15a. The history of the Saracen's Head Hotel, stretching back more than four hundred years, is featured in Charles Dickens' first novel, 'The Pickwick Papers', currently blends into the atmosphere and splendour of this restored hotel. The Saracen's Head Hotel is today the centrepiece of modern life in Towcester, as it has been for centuries. Situated on the Roman Watling Street, the hotel is ideally placed for a day at Towcester Racecourse, generally accepted as the toughest National Hunt course in Britain. Silverstone, for racing of a different kind, is just three miles away. Also nearby is Stoke Bruerne, a canal village with cottages and colourful narrow boats. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality, whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The Hotel has a large car park.
Picture of Saracens Head , Towcester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant staff nice room but breakfast was a half hour wait

Reviewed by
PAUL C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
food good. slept very well

Reviewed by
jennifer manion

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous room and a lovely night sleep.
I arrived late but was greeted by a helpful and polite member of staff who gave me details about breakfast and check out. Went to my room to find a cosy and really gorgeous room - the decor was lovely and the room had everything I could have needed. The ensuite was modern and immaculate and the shower was great. Gorgeous, cosy little room, Absolutely loved my stay here - great value for money and very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
H Clark

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saracens Head
Only observation was the rather huge bedside light that negated the usefulness of a space beside the bed. - looked good though.

Reviewed by
g mosey

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel of Character
The room was very clean and much larger than you would get in some chain of new build hotels. The room had charm and character. We were both very pleased with the rom.
The overall trip was marred by the food quality. Whilst the breakfast was average only the evening meal was ok but disappointing. This was made unnacceptable by having one poor waitress seemingly running around doing everything for the evening diners whilst two male staff seemed to be able to walk around doing little. When other diners decided it was ok to change thier babies nappy in the room there was little the waitress could do and the two male were not to be seen
We enjoyed out stay in the end as we simply had meals elsewhere. I would recommend staying here but would say eat your evening meal elsewhere, there is plenty of walking distance choice.

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saracens Head
First impression of the hotel was good. After checking in, we went to the bar/restaurant, and then it was very disappointing. Tried to order some drinks. They had ran out of Prosecco, so we ordered a vodka. They had also ran out of vodka. Moving on, we tried to order some food. We wanted steak and ale pie, they had ran out of that, so we went for the Lamb Shank. And yes, they had ran out of that, too. That's where we left it, and went elsewhere to eat.

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FIRST WEEKEND IN DECEMBER 2014
Very nice hotel with good food, accommodation clean and comfortable. Customer service given 5 rather than 6 as it took time to get help to make radiator in room work effectively.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Kelly

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Only complaint was it took an age for breakfast to be served
Other than that an enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Fraser C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom needs updating

Reviewed by
C Duffield

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

November 2014 stay
I arrived with my wife to stay for 1 night as part celebration for my 60th Birthday. There was only 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel yet we were in a double room, the bathroom towel rail was scorching hot. We booked a table for dinner ......meal took 45 minutes to arrive and chicken was dry and overcooked. At 01:00hrs we were woken up by 4 drunken men brawling outside our window. My wife phoned reception to tell them especially as one man looked badly injured. However nobody answered the phone... despite this advertised as number to use in an emergency! Then we were awoken by fire alarm at 07:10hrs....false alarm! On paying final bill, nobody asked if everything was ok or not .....seemed like 'cant be bothered' attitude. Very disappointing stay!

Reviewed by
Stephen French

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next