No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Horse

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
High Street , Rottingdean, BN2 7HR
The White Horse Hotel Rottingdean near Brighton is located in the East Sussex town of Rottingdean on the outskirts of Brighton. The White Horse hotel is ideal for visiting Brighton and Hove, Newhaven, Brighton University, Brighton racecourse. Dramatically located on the cliffs, the White Horse Hotel has spectacular views over the sea. It is located on the edge of the South Downs During the 18th and 19th centuries, Rottingdean was a smugglers' village - a time
recalled by Rudyard Kipling's "A Smuggler's Song": "If you wake at midnight, and hear horses' feet, Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street... Five and twenty ponies, trotting through the dark - Brandy for the Parson, Baccy for the Clerk." Today the hotel is a favourite holiday location. A good base for exploring the South Coast and surrounding area only a few miles away from Saltdean, Peacehaven. The hotel also has function/conference facilities with disabled access
Picture of White Horse , Rottingdean at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you cant put a price on comfort
If I was being pedantic I suppose I'd say that the white horse has a slightly dated look and feel about it, although that was also strangely comforting in its way, however the staff were all lovely and helpful - nothing was too much trouble, the water was hot, the room was clean, the towels were large and fluffy, the beds comfortable, the breakfast was the best I had in four days stay in the south east and the village was a complete delight. And it was a short bus ride from Brighton. Oh yes I hope to be back, and yes I'll definitely be staying here. Thank you for a super stay.

Reviewed by
BRIDGET HICKMAN

From Gunnislake, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let down by rude staff
Hotel is lovely - perfectly adequate for our needs very comfortable, just a shame the staff where quite rude, we returned to our room 10 mins before check out to find cleaners waiting outside - we said I guess your waiting for us to go and they replied quite rudely yes we are actually!
When we checked out the lady on the desk didn't even look up, took the keys mumbled a goodbye - not exactly front of house manners!

Reviewed by
J O'Leary

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Horse Hotel August 2014
A very nice time was had here. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent - I would stay again - the rooms with the balconies look very nice - we had a two single beds but they were more like small doubles which was a nice surprise.

Reviewed by
C Stopp

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel

Reviewed by
darren s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middle of the road accommodation
We were looking for somewhere outside Brighton at a reasonable cost and the White Horse delivered just that. Hardly exciting,and althought the weather did not help the place did not have any "Wow" factor. The bar was clean but lacked any coziness, the menu unexciting and bland - we ate at a bar across the road that had that friendly feel that the White Horse lacked

Reviewed by
Susan W

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We chose this hotel as it offered better value than the hotels on the seafront in Brighton centre. The centre was easily reached in a 10 minute bus ride and parking at the hotel was free. The breakfast was a very pleasant surprise and exceptionally good.

Reviewed by
J Fry

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay and so close to Brighton
Stayed in a deluxe room, with balcony and sea view. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was superb. Struggled to get wifi, which was very intermittent but other facilities in room were good. Hotel could do with a 'handyman' to fix sticky doors and toilet doors that had dodgy locks but the staff were all very friendly and made us very welcome.. Breakfast was very good, although drinks in the bar were a little expensive. Enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room 113.
The hotel is in dire need of a refurbishment.. threadbare carpets, peeling wallpaper and water stained walls.
Had room 113. Dire, so noisy not a chance to sleep before midnight and woken 6.30 every morning by main road traffic.
The staff are what make this place ... friendly and helpful on the whole. The view from the front of the hotel is breath taking.

Reviewed by
S Callaghan

From Blackburn, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
The white horse hotel was the first place we have stopped at in the Brighton area for 20 yrs
The staff were friendly and helpful food was good but limited main meal choices, excellent breakfast,room was clean and comfortable and close to the sea front in all a very enjoyable stay
Tom Robinson Redditch ,worcestershiref

Reviewed by
THOMAS ROBINSON

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Staff and location
Really enjoyed the sea view room and location. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The decoration of the hotel generally was a little tired, but this was not a problem to us. The staff were attentive hard working and dedicated, Greene King should be proud of the people they employ here. Really enjoyed the meals we ate here including breakfast and the service was second to none. Will be back to stay as soon as possible.

Reviewed by
Keith Higinbotham

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next