No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Malmaison Newcastle

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
104 Quayside , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3DX
Multi award winning, super stylish hotel bar and brasserie on Newcastle's stunning waterfront. Some great river views with the celebrated Millennium Bridge on the doorstep. Relax in our striking individually designed rooms, cable tv, great amenities and interesting art. Then enjoy our busy buzzy Brasserie and Bar, serving great French cooking and fantastic wines or pamper and tone your mind, body and spirit, in our fitness and treatments boutique, Le Petit Spa. The Rooms are an oasis of calm amid the bustle of a great city. Individually designed rooms many using a rich pallet navy and cream, or red, black and cream, all with the complete set of Malmaison ingredients. Great beds, big beds, slinky light, real bathrooms, power showers, cable TV, personal bars, drinks you'll want to drink, serious wines, naughty nibbles, vroom room service, interesting art, two line phones, data ports exclusive toiletries. Stunning Brasserie and Bar, combining light and style, French in structure, reflective of contemporary tastes, serious about wine and the best of produce.
Picture of Malmaison Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday weekend
Was on a single night stopover but had failed to realise it was bank holiday. Hotel, and vicinity very busy. Bar staff very helpful, firstly in finding out whether there were any tables free in restaurant; there were not, and then suggesting alternatives.
Also helpful and friendly check out early next morning

Reviewed by
john c

From Johnshaven, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy!
The hotel was lovely, staff were excellent, food amazing. The main issue was that the pub across the road played ridiculously loud music (you could hear it with the windows closed, the bathroom door closed and your head in bath water!). This started at 10am and continued until at least 10pm.

Reviewed by
M King

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel experience
Upon arriving we were greeted by the receptionist who was both friendly and accommodating. We arrived over 2 hours early to check in date and he was able to book us in without any trouble. We were a group of 6 ladies all arriving at different times so he not only checked us in together but moved the rooms so we would be together. Stunning location with our room looking over the river Tyne. Would definitely se this hotel again

Reviewed by
Karen B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

found the stay very relaxing and restful would stay again
Enjoyed the stay very much

Reviewed by
k hardy

From cramlington northumberland, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, good service

Reviewed by
A Muirhead

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

package deal
We booked a package deal last minute for a 3 course meal bed and breakfast for 139. Great value we had a lovely room with side view of the river. Lots of couples in the restaurant seem to have booked the same package. Enjoyed the food we upgraded to the main menu and paid the extra. Breakfast is waiter service full English and my wife plumbed for the eggs Benedict. Would certainly book again.

Reviewed by
colin h

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous!
Malmaison was a great hotel with a fab view. We asked for a river view and we certainly got it! We were overlooking the millennium bridge! The receptionist was warm welcoming and chatty and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was compact but very clean, contemporary and comfortable. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
L Davison

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jo west
We were allowed into our room early the room was huge two queen size beds, and a sofa as well. It was very clean and welcoming
There were excellent facilities a DVD player iron and ironing board which was so useful
The bar area is lovely with beautiful sofas and chairs you can snuggle into
The restaurant was well set out and the menu had a wide choice
The staff were very polite and helpful
It's was my partners birthday and on our return to the room we were greeted with a birthday card and vouchers for cocktails which was so nice
Loved the whole experience

Reviewed by
Jo West

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Malmaison- Newcastle
A good hotel in a convenient location

Reviewed by
Paul J

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Weekend
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the staff were friendly and welcoming especially the staff working the breakfast shift the day we were due to leave. The location is superb and is easy access for the local bars, quayside and there was a Farmers Market along the quayside which was an added bonus. The only negative was there could have been a better clean before we checked in (there was a sock left behind from the previous guest!) and maybe a touch-up on some paintwork.
Despite this I would stay here again if I was staying in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
D F

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next