Reviews - Malmaison Newcastle


104 Quayside, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE1 3DX

Price From 260.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Millard

  • June 2014

A night on the Tyne

Good night's sleep with a great view.

Service a little shaky. I booked the room as a £200 discount rate but the room was very small for supposedly such an expensive room. However it did have a good view and breakfast is superb.

  • Mark G

  • June 2014

Seemed to have lots of new inexperienced staff.

  • A Canham

  • June 2014

Hotel was nice, but not worth the extra

The staff were very pleasant, but the decor was entirely dark black/grey with purple, which reminded me of a tacky but pretencious night club.

Our curtains had a huge stain which looked syspiciously like vomit, which was not pleasant to look at but was so large it was unavoidable. The bed was very comfy, the shower was good and the complimentary tea and coffee was nice too.

  • steven y

  • May 2014

excellent location to enjoy the Newcastle night life.

stunning views over the tyne at night

  • Neil H

  • May 2014

Not as described

The previous time we stayed here we were disappointed but we thought we ought to give Malmaison the benefit of the doubt.

We now realise we shouldn't have bothered. We booked a "deluxe" double room but it wasn't. The "double" bed was two singles pushed together yet still made up with single bedding and duvets. When we mentioned this to reception, the following morning, we were told to take it up with Laterooms re their room description. The beds themselves were hard while the pillows were so soft as to require using the cushions from the chairs under them.The room itself was small and the bathroom was tiny. There was only one bath towel and one hand towel in the bathroom although a further two towels were in the top of the wardrobe. Please be aware that Malmaison does not provide the usual array of toiletries, only shampoo and bodywash. When my wife enquired whether there was any hair conditioner she was given a well scripted response that it was no longer company policy to supply these extras. We usually stay at Hotel Du Vin when we visit Newcastle. The standard is so much better for a similar price. On this occasion we should have saved ourselves the extra £150 and stayed at the Premier Inn.

  • Dawn C

  • May 2014

Excellent stay!

Excellent stay, however booked a deluxe twin with two queen size beds in.......

When we got to room we found two single beds pushed together!. Got it at a good rate, close to qside, however no pubs open at qside now so taxi ride to the gate.

Car parking excellent only cost £4 and there was no time

limit on exiting car park... Would have been nice to have a complimentary water!!!. Prices in room fridge very expensive... So take your own!!.

Overall excellent stay

  • Jennifer C

  • May 2014

Weekend Away

I really liked the look of the hotel and was impressed that it was and old building that had been modernised instead of being knocked down.

The car parking was good, just out the back of the hotel. The only thing I thought was a little strange was how dark it was inside the building, could have done with a miners helmet when trying to find the room down dark corridors. The staff were very helpful and the room was lovely, husband really liked the two TV's in the room !!. Breakfast expensive but very good and lots of choice.

  • Helen G

  • April 2014

Had a great stay, great room, fantastically comfortable bed.

Very happy customer!

  • Alison C

  • April 2014

Last minute overnight

Chic and comfortable hotel, and very good sized rooms.

Bar was very noisy but it seems to be a popular spot for Hen/Stag nights. Staff were helpful when we asked to sit somewhere quieter. Great situation by the river.

  • Neil C

  • April 2014

Poor service

The hotel appears to be run by very young people.

In the bar after 12 midnight three of them were throwing ice at one another and people were waiting an awful long time for drinks even though there were plenty of staff and the bar was not busy. The service at breakfast was very slow and I had to ask them to take my order. Overall, really poor service. Perhaps they should employ some adults?