No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carlisle Swallow Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hilltop Heights London Road, Carlisle, CA1 2NS
Located just one and a half miles from Carlisle city centre is the Carlisle Swallow Hotel. This warm, friendly hotel is the ideal base for exploring the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and the picturesque Scottish Borders.

When it's time to unwind after a day's exploring, our Leisure Club provides the perfect opportunity to relax. The club offers you free use of the indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa and gymnasium.

Dining is available in our Fairfield lounge bar, which serves afternoon tea daily and a variety of light snacks and meals throughout the day. The bar is also an ideal setting in which to enjoy a relaxing pre-dinner drink before retreating to our Langdales Restaurant, where you'll be served a range of fine, freshly prepared seasonal dishes. We also offer you a great selection of fine wines to perfectly complement your meal.

Our friendly staff is always on hand to make your stay both comfortable and relaxing, providing you the very warmest of welcomes and exceptional service throughout your stay.

**There is also a £2.50 card surcharge for the use of credit cards.**

**Swallow Carlisle now offers 'Free Wi-Fi' throughout the hotel**
Picture of Carlisle Swallow Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 398 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great price
Great price for room and breakfast . Nice clean hotel,pleasant staff and use of a pool and hymn. Only one gripe,our room was too warm even with our window open. Hot pipes run along skirting board and couldn't be switched off.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Brechin, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refurbishment. Public rooms furniture grubby. Place seemed dusty and old. Somewhat redeemed by swimming pool and spa.

Reviewed by
Mary

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room wasn't very nice, there was mould and dampness above the bath. There was a lot of noise and fighting going on, on the Friday night and when I mentioned it when I was leaving the lady wasn't concerned with me saying it, she just said the night porter couldn't cope with it! The food was totally disgusting, burnt chips and the fish all slimy

Reviewed by
M Fairbairn

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
We stayed here on our way up to Scotland for one night.
It looked very 60's from the outside but was very nice inside. The room was fine bed comfy, only one armchair for two people tho'. Very good value for money,
Very clean , warm , everything as we expected. Good strong shower . Quiet location just off main road into Carlisle.

Reviewed by
Judy P

From SHIPDHAM, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay, friendly & helpfull staff, good value for money, Hotel would benefit from a revamp

Reviewed by
James B

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Use
The room was very comfortable although some other residents failed to stop their doors from banging closed, but this was early in the evening and was not off putting.
The pool is small but I found the steam and sauna very relaxing later in the evening when most people had gone to the bar.
The breakfast was tasty and although I only ate in the restaurant once the food was palatable for the price and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
There is an Asda and other local shops and take away food within a five minute drive with easy parking that was very handy.
Parking at the hotel was OK and there was always a space available although during my visit, although I feel if fully booked there could be a possible issue.
I would use the hotel again as the hotel is away from the main road and nice and quiet, plus the price is very good compared with other local hotels.

Reviewed by
Ross G

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Consistently good value
Stayed here a number of times, everything as it should be, nice and quiet, no fuss, easy to stay here, plus the leisure club gives it the edge over the budget competition.

Reviewed by
Matthew H

From Duns, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We recently stayed at this hotel fri - sun. The hotel is walking distance to the city centres shops, bars and restaurants. The staff in the hotel were friendly enough and very helpful. We made use of the breakfast option and well as free access to leisure facilities. The breakfast wasnt anything special had the usual stuff cereal, toast, sausage, bacon and so on. Have seen better breakfast menus though. Leisure facilities were nice and clean. Hotel was clean. Room was a bit dated but other wise nice. Would stay again. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Emma M

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
We arrived in a rain storm across a rutty car park and didn't have high expectations for our visit. Hotel looks a but dowdy from outside. However our stay was good, nice staff, good leisure facilities, great breakfasts. We were also surprised by how nice carlisle was a place to visit. Great discount on price made for an inexpensive mini break.

Reviewed by
Philip Ireson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a soild 3 star
this hotel is a good solid 3 star while the hotel is some way out of town its was perfect for us. The advantage of having a spa and swiming pool was good but the hotel decor and its furniture has seen better days.The room was ok and the bed was above average, but the experiance was let down by the tired furniture and a tv that while working looked like it had been brought from the dump.. but on the whole the place looks tired.

Reviewed by
david s

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next