No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carlisle Swallow Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hilltop Heights London Road, Carlisle, CA1 2NS
Located just one and a half miles from Carlisle city centre is the Carlisle Swallow Hotel. This warm, friendly hotel is the ideal base for exploring the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and the picturesque Scottish Borders.

When it's time to unwind after a day's exploring, our Leisure Club provides the perfect opportunity to relax. The club offers you free use of the indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa and gymnasium.

Dining is available in our Fairfield lounge bar, which serves afternoon tea daily and a variety of light snacks and meals throughout the day. The bar is also an ideal setting in which to enjoy a relaxing pre-dinner drink before retreating to our Langdales Restaurant, where you'll be served a range of fine, freshly prepared seasonal dishes. We also offer you a great selection of fine wines to perfectly complement your meal.

Our friendly staff is always on hand to make your stay both comfortable and relaxing, providing you the very warmest of welcomes and exceptional service throughout your stay.

**There is also a £2.50 card surcharge for the use of credit cards.**

**Swallow Carlisle now offers 'Free Wi-Fi' throughout the hotel**
Picture of Carlisle Swallow Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 344 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful nights sleep
Our stay at the Swallow Hotel was very enjoyable.We were staying in Carlisle for our sons Graduation.
I normally don't like hotels as I find them too hot, on the hottest night of the year so far this room was wonderfully cool! quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good.
Would definitely stay here again.
Many thanks

Reviewed by
S Brooks

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food dire, service equivalent especially breakfast.
Bar staff probably the most exciting of the experience, even bombay sapphire had to be returned.

Reviewed by
Andy H

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

place to get your head down
the hotel is needing a bit of a upgrade. room was a bit dated,bed was not comfy, you sink to the middle,we came here for the races,dont think we will stay here again

Reviewed by
paul f

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a one night stay
Hotel appeared dated and in need of a good sprucing up. Corridor to our room smelt and not in a good way. Receptionist not particulaly helpful when we were trying to arrange a taxi and periods where no staff at the check in desk so guests waiting to be attended to. Breakfast was tasty. Overall an ok stay but wouldnt book for more than one night.

Reviewed by
julie r

From durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
We were going to Carlisle races so were looking for somewhere reasonably priced that was nearby and would provide breakfast so the Swallow was satisfactory for our purposes. The hotel looks like it could do with refurbishing in certain parts and the shower curtain had definitely seen better days but overall the room was OK. Breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swallow, Carlisle
Shabby and out of date, room furnishings were at least 20 years old and in poor condition. Decoration was tatty and needed several repairs. Bathroom was in poor condition

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over stay
Served it's purpose for us as a stop over before continuing or journey to Mull.
Room was adequate breakfast was good and ample. Staff were helpful. Bar service was slow and not readily available.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'I can offer you a less stained room."
This hotel should be bulldozed. It is, without doubt, the most appalling overnight experience we've ever had. For a start, the place is falling apart. There are moon crater-sized potholes in the car park, bits are hanging off the prefrabricated exterior. The interior corridor ceilings are all bowed by damp and age. The first room we were offered smelled damp. So did the second. At which point the manager intervened and offered us a "less stained room." There were signs of neglect everywhere and no attempt to repair/replace anything. Someone had clearly punched a wall (in frustration?) and broken the plyboard. It was not new damage. The linen was clean but the bed was very old. We had booked for two nights, but left after one (we lost half the money we had paid in advance, but somehow getting out mattered more). We simply couldn't stay there. Avoid like the plague.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Although the building is in need of some updating, the staff were very pleasant, the room clean, and the snack in the bar was good. Nice wee pool to have relaxing swim too. Overall a great overnight stopping off point.

Reviewed by
J Young

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very dated and tired looking although very clean. Evening meal portions were quite small for adults. Starter of garlic mushroom came in small ramicins with 3 large crisp like toasts. Deserts again very small 4 profiteroles with squirty cream. Apple crumble again in a small ramicin and a tiny jug half full of custard. Breakfast on the other hand was first class good selection of cereals,
Fruit, yogurt, juices and a large range of hot cooked items. This would have given food top marks if dinner had not been so small.

Reviewed by
C Hill

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next