No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Willow Bank Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
340 Wilmslow Road , Manchester, M14 6AF
***Two Free Drinks - Friday - Sunday *** See exclusions below

~~NEW FOR 2014 - Our fully refurbished Gallery Restaurant and Enigma Bar and Lounge~~

With smiling, friendly staff, free Wi-Fi throughout, ample secured parking and selected rates including our Fantastic Full English & Continental Breakfast, the Best Western Willow Bank is an ideal base for your visit to Manchester. Ideally located just 3 miles (10mins) South of the city centre along the Oxford Road Corridor, we are just a short drive from a host of popular attractions - Old Trafford, The Ethiad, The Aquatics Centre and the MEN arena to name a few. Frequent and numerous buses from just outside the front door make journeys around the major city simple. The main University Campus', the Christie Hospital and Manchesters Childrens, Dental and University Hospitals are all within easy reach of the Hotel. Manchester International Airport is just a fifteen minute drive away.

Two Free Drinks promotion is only available Friday - Sunday,best available B & B rates. All promotional - advance purchase and stay and save rates are excluded. Full Terms Apply, contact Hotel.
2 Selected top branded drinks available per person per day until 2300 Hours.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Willow Bank Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 144 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Lovely hotel, pleasant and helpful staff and free upgrade of room was much appreciated.

Reviewed by
D Rigby

From Tidworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for city break or visiting student on bus route into Manchester
Stayed for 1 night at short notice. Staff very friendly but room in old part had a small double bed ok for just one but too small for 2 for the price they usually charge. You have to pay more to upgrade to get a good size bed. The plumbing made noise when toilet flushed or tap turned on a load knocking sound. I left early and didnt stay for breakfast or eat there so cant comment on the food. I booked at short notice and so got a favorable rate but if I had paid full price I would have been very disappointed. Overall a good stay but only at the right price

Reviewed by
Angela M

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay and value for money!
Very nice setting, outside parking, great customer service and super value for money.

Reviewed by
L Layden

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parents visiting student
Great location great welcome fantastic breakfast. Accomdate don't my son joining us at reasonable cost. Result great family breakfast home from home.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we initially went to stank of disinfectant, so much so that we asked to move. The second room, despite a no smoking sign on the door, smelt heavily of smoking, when we went in. Unfortunately there was on free parking at the front of the hotel so we had to pay to park in the hotel. When we returned from a function at 1.30 it took over 5 minutes and 4 to 5 rings on the bell before the night porter let us in. A good breakfast with excellent service, but overall poor value for money and we won't be returning.

Reviewed by
Jerry C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Willow Bank Hotel
Everything you might expect and hope for from a good hotel.
We parked over the road to avoid the parking charge!

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Egham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I absolutely loved our stay at the Willow Bank Hotel. The atmosphere in the dining/bar and lounge areas was very relaxing and homely. The décor added real character to the place, especially the bookshelf wallpaper. It felt like home from home. The hotel is even nicer than the pictures on-line! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. Perhaps a few more milk portions in the room would be very welcome, but that is a very trivial comment to add to what was a thoroughly enjoyable stay in Manchester. Thank you.

Reviewed by
wendy t

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
We had a pleasant stay here but agree with other reviews about the creaky floorboards.
The food was very good.

Reviewed by
A Thompson

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, but rooms need updating
We stayed at the Willow Bank for 2 nights for a friends wedding reception at a total cost of about £190
Upon arrival, a very friendly receptionist offered us a free upgrade as we'd not stayed before.
First impressions of the front of house/bar/restaurant were of a modern/newly renovated hotel with smart décor.All in all, a good start!
However, upon entering the room (in the old part of the hotel) I was taken aback by the standard of the rooms décor and fittings. Whilst not dirty, the room decoration seemed fairly run down, dull and smelt a little stale. The bathroom was pretty underwhelming too. Dare I say it all looked a bit "tired"? (The smell could have been explained by the actions of the previous occupants, who had put a plastic bag over the smoke detector!) The windows were wide open but the detector was still covered up, so no doubt some of the smoke was still lingering in the fabric of the room itself.
We went back to the reception desk and explained that we weren't too keen on the room and the receptionist instantly offered us a new room in the same area of the hotel. We were given the keys to the "Mackall" room (number 3).
First impressions were that it was a lovely large room with a more modern bathroom. Whilst an improvement on our previous room, I must admit that I was still expecting maybe a little more.
Again, the rooms decoration/general state seemed very tired (marks on the walls/gaps in the wallpaper) / Tired carpet / hooks hanging of doors etc.
There is no air-conditioning in the hotel and in spite of turning all of the radiators off, the room was extremely hot. The staff were able to give us a desk fan but even with the windows open, we were still sweltering!
We stayed for dinner on the Friday night and were impressed by the friendly waiting staff and the quick service (wasn't sure about the soup, but the steak was awesome!)
On the final morning of our stay, the hot water supply to our room failed completely. Again, the staff were very helpful and found us another room to use, but we were told that all the hot water in the older part of the hotel had gone off.
All in all, I can't fault the staff for their attentiveness and willingness to help, but I can't help but feel that the old part of the hotel needs some love and attention to bring it up to the standard set by the front of house and the excellent staff.
If they can update/re-decorate the rooms and tidy up the general décor / plumbing of the old building , then we'd consider coming back, but as things stand, I think I'd stay elsewhere in future.

Reviewed by
Colin H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, disappointing room.
The standard of the room really let this hotel down. The staff were friendly and helpful, food was great and parking was complementary. However, the room was tiny. The bed was not a double size, the decor resembled that of the inside of a caravan and there were cobwebs everywhere (although the bed was very clean). The glass in the window had also failed and there were bird dropping all over it. We did have a pleasant stay here and it is ideal as a budget hotel, however, the hotel is in need of updating and small things like the cleanliness of the mugs in the room need to be addressed (new mugs were promptly provided though. Breakfast was good and the communal areas of the hotel are of a good standard.

Reviewed by
Victoria W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next