Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Shropshire > Shrewsbury Hotels > The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Mardol , Shrewsbury, SY1 1PU
The evolution of Shrewsbury has seen the town, first mentioned in a charter dating back to the year 901, develop into a stunning historic and artistic centre, with over 660 listed buildings and dozens of museums and galleries. This historical survival of the fittest would have made Charles Darwin, Shrewsbury's most famous son, proud. He attended school here and gained who knows how much early inspiration, playing by the clear sparkling waters of the River Severn which flows lazily through the town. There is a strong, association with the heavier side of science too. The birthplace of the Industrial Revolution, just outside Shrewsbury, was sparked by John wilkinson's cast iron bridge, now celebrated with UNESCO World Heritage status and plenty of award winning museums and with the magnificent Severn Valley Railway, The Roman city of Wroxeter, Offa's Dyke and a nuclear bunker all open to visitors, Shrewsbury is truly a place with something for everybody. "PLEASE NOTE THAT ACCOMMODATION IS TOTALLY NON SMOKING".
Picture of The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 194 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely rooms
Lovely comfortable hotel staff were really polite and friendly.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback it is much appreciated and we are glad you had a lovely time. Hope to see again soon. Jane Clarey, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
Jackie L

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shrewsbury
Excellent room , good for town centre and free parking

Reviewed by
Alan L

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room 101
we looked up on trip advisor and room 110 was given a bad review as to the noise from the alley way under, as for the room we stayed in room 101 and as the program as to what you would take into room 101 ear plugs would be good idear as outside of the window is a very large extractor. they have tried to put secondary glazing to the window but this dose not work, when brining this up with the hotel i was informed they had to put the extractors some place. real shame as everything else was good.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know about your visit. Sorry to hear you had noise from our extractor fans. Next time you come to stay just let the hotel know prior to your visit that you would like to be away from the fans and we will do our very best to sort that subject to availability. Jane, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
J Imms

From folkestone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would use again
The only fault was the service in the bar area. 3 members of staff went on a break at the busiest time leaving a lovely young girl on her own who had only been working there for a week.
when one girls came from break , she never even jumped in to help serve. By then we had been waiting 20 minutes to be served. This girl saw the queue and just started tidying bottles.
apart from that the stay was really good.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on Laterooms I will endeavour to pass on your comments to the Bar Manager and would like to offer our apologies for the service you received in the bar. We hope this did not spoil your visit too much and we hope to see you again soon. Jane Clarey, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
H Smith

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
Hotel was clean + comfortable. The staff were friendly + helpful. Food in bar was good. Only problem was noise outside so we had to sleep with the window closed which was stuffy.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for the nosey revellers but hope this didn't spoil your stay too much look forward to seeing you again soon Jane Clarey Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Rooms small but comfortable, bed comfortable, on-suite nice but shower fixed don't like that. Convenient for town, got parked OK, view of ventilation system not pleasant and did smell a bit. Overall pleasant and allowed us to have a nice weekend with friends.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on Laterooms. We appreciate you taking the time. We will investigate the issue with the air ventilation with our maintenance contractor. We look forward to welcoming yourselves again soon. Jane Clarey, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
Diana M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location with free parking, ideal for a short break with plenty of bars, restaurants, shops etc close by.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback we are always please when guests take the time to let us know what they think Jane Clarey Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
M Rae

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant Hotel
A pleasant hotel set very close to the banks of the Severn. Somewhat awkward to drive to due to Shrewsbury's ill thought out one way system so have patience. The receptionist was brilliant, talking me in when my satnav got confused. The room I had was a little small considering what you pay and the bathroom was so narrow you could sit on the loo with your shoulder hard against the heated towel rail and your opposite leg hard against the side of the bath. To me the high point was the bar/restaurant. the food is fine but the real ale is wonderful with many guest beers and on my visit a local micro brewery was exhibiting its products with ½ pint free samples...mmmmmm beer.
Breakfast was a weird experience where you queue at the bar to get a cup and a bowl, place your order and pay, no table service here!!
the bottom line it isn't a bad hotel and i would happily return

Reviewed by
Glyn D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.
Nice small room but very cosy. Comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Have stayed here before and would return again.
.

Reviewed by
Lois Lowans

From Caerphilly, Wales
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel very central to srewsbury very clean and well maintained, friendly and helpful staff, and being a wetherspoons establishment it has great food with plenty to choose from and all ways available, will definitely stay again and have no problems recommend to any one

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviews it is always good to hear that we are providing a service our guests enjoy. Management

Reviewed by
i jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next