Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Shropshire > Shrewsbury Hotels > The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Mardol , Shrewsbury, SY1 1PU
The evolution of Shrewsbury has seen the town, first mentioned in a charter dating back to the year 901, develop into a stunning historic and artistic centre, with over 660 listed buildings and dozens of museums and galleries. This historical survival of the fittest would have made Charles Darwin, Shrewsbury's most famous son, proud. He attended school here and gained who knows how much early inspiration, playing by the clear sparkling waters of the River Severn which flows lazily through the town. There is a strong, association with the heavier side of science too. The birthplace of the Industrial Revolution, just outside Shrewsbury, was sparked by John wilkinson's cast iron bridge, now celebrated with UNESCO World Heritage status and plenty of award winning museums and with the magnificent Severn Valley Railway, The Roman city of Wroxeter, Offa's Dyke and a nuclear bunker all open to visitors, Shrewsbury is truly a place with something for everybody. "PLEASE NOTE THAT ACCOMMODATION IS TOTALLY NON SMOKING".
Picture of The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 218 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Bar open to 1 a.m. so, despite doormen in attendance, car park very noisy at "turn-out" time.

Reviewed by
G Draper

From Llanbedr Pont Steffan, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Excellent. Room was fabulous. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
julia h

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in the Shrewsbury hotel in January
We liked the quality of the room and easy booking in and out.

Reviewed by
Raymond Grant

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomadation.
A great stay at this clean and comfortable hotel. The food in the Weatherspoons pub left a lot to be desired. Very poor, both meals were returned, one being items missing of meal, the second meal was supposed to be large fish and chips. A tiny piece of fish no bigger than a fish finger and 9 chips. This meal was replaced. The following morning breakfasts were a shambles again. Considering we were the only people for breakfast it shouldn't be hard to mix meals up.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Tywyn, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cold room
We arrived in a sleet storm, it was very cold outside, so we were wearing our padded coats. Our room was 208 on the second floor. When we entered the room it was extremely cold, we later realised that the electric radiator (which took several minutes to worK out how to use it) only worked with the lights etc from the room card key. I don't think anyone had stayed in that room for weeks! It was a very small room, ok for a 1 night stay but not for several nights as it only had 6 coat hangers, and no drawers for smaller clothing. Sunday evening was good value as only £39 but £69 for each of the other nights was too high.
The only food available was downstairs in Weatherspoons (which we knew when we booked it) but not the best branch we have been in, the food was not very exciting, the chips overdone and presentation on dark blue plates made it look worse. White plates would really improve the presentation.

Reviewed by
J George

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, great location!
My wife and I came to Shrewsbury for some last minute Christmas shopping. Due to the price we paid for the room, we weren't expecting much. But we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in a family room at the front of the hotel, the room was very spacious and the bed was huge!
The staff in the hotel and in the bar were welcoming and friendly, and the location is perfect for shopping and walking through the quarry. We can't wait to visit again soon!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts it's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you managed to squeeze in some shopping too. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
No further comments

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback I have passed on to team. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel right in middle of town
Was a lovely weekend away, room was lovely, spacious and clean with a superking bed.
We was not happy about the checking in with the lady on reception as she was very rude regarding the
Checking in process as we had pre-paid through late rooms but she kept insisting that they do not take payment on behalf of us which we insisted the room was paid for as it had been added to my bank statement, but we had to pay again as she did not believe us
When we got to the hotel room we tried to sort the mess out about the booking side of things & went back down to reception where the lady called laterooms & the matter was then sorted after she had been on the phone with them for 10mins! we got a re-fund back what we had just paid, but the lady did not apoligise or say anything regarding the matter to admit she was wrong! This was the last thing we wanted when it had taken 2 1/2 hrs of travelling. We liked the hotel but will not be staying again due the rudeness of the lady when we checked in as we did not need it!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time the send us your thoughts, it was myself whom you checked in with. As I explained on the day I had not come across this method of booking from Laterooms before and after I had had it explained by LateRooms to myself, I then understood that they would be paying for the room. When your Husband came down to have his card refunded I did apologise for the confusion because I spoke to him and said that I had sorted all the payment with them. I can only apologise once again for the confusion. Hope this doesn't deter you from using us again. I will be contacting you in person. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
A Rigley

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Loved it

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts we are happy you loved it. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
h boycott

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Well positioned, just a few yards from the town centre. Easy to find. Car park not that large and difficult to access if, say, a beer delivery is being made. Tremendous range of beers.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. I have let the Bar Team know that you appreciated their beer selection. Hope the car park didn't put you off too much see you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Glyn Carvell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next