Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Shropshire > Shrewsbury Hotels > The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Mardol , Shrewsbury, SY1 1PU
The evolution of Shrewsbury has seen the town, first mentioned in a charter dating back to the year 901, develop into a stunning historic and artistic centre, with over 660 listed buildings and dozens of museums and galleries. This historical survival of the fittest would have made Charles Darwin, Shrewsbury's most famous son, proud. He attended school here and gained who knows how much early inspiration, playing by the clear sparkling waters of the River Severn which flows lazily through the town. There is a strong, association with the heavier side of science too. The birthplace of the Industrial Revolution, just outside Shrewsbury, was sparked by John wilkinson's cast iron bridge, now celebrated with UNESCO World Heritage status and plenty of award winning museums and with the magnificent Severn Valley Railway, The Roman city of Wroxeter, Offa's Dyke and a nuclear bunker all open to visitors, Shrewsbury is truly a place with something for everybody. "PLEASE NOTE THAT ACCOMMODATION IS TOTALLY NON SMOKING".
Picture of The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 221 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stuff!
The room was warm and comfortable with a nice view over the river towards the theatre. Access to pub food was handy. Friendly staff. A very enjoyable stay. Great stuff!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
M Ballard

From Banbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Brilliant location, rooms very nice and would stay again :-)

Reviewed by
r williams

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
great stay lovely comfy bed cosey room nice bathroom great decor great food and drinks very highly recommend shall stay again the next time that I vist Shrewsbury

Reviewed by
Kelly B

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little find
Everything about the hotel was great nice room nice food and quiet at night the lady on
Desk was really welcoming cheers will definitely use again

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts, we love to hear from you. Thanks for the great feedback we are glad you had a really good time and look forward to welcoming you again. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
EDWARD K

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Bar open to 1 a.m. so, despite doormen in attendance, car park very noisy at "turn-out" time.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts we have noted your comments about the car park. Our door men always try their best to make sure clients of the bar leave in a quiet and orderly manner but sometimes it is beyond their control. I have asked our pub manager to pass your comments on to the company who are in charge of the doormen and hope that this won't be an issue in the future. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
G Draper

From Llanbedr Pont Steffan, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Excellent. Room was fabulous. Wished we could have stayed longer.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts about your stay we are very glad you had a lovely stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
julia h

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in the Shrewsbury hotel in January
We liked the quality of the room and easy booking in and out.

Reviewed by
Raymond Grant

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomadation.
A great stay at this clean and comfortable hotel. The food in the Weatherspoons pub left a lot to be desired. Very poor, both meals were returned, one being items missing of meal, the second meal was supposed to be large fish and chips. A tiny piece of fish no bigger than a fish finger and 9 chips. This meal was replaced. The following morning breakfasts were a shambles again. Considering we were the only people for breakfast it shouldn't be hard to mix meals up.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Tywyn, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cold room
We arrived in a sleet storm, it was very cold outside, so we were wearing our padded coats. Our room was 208 on the second floor. When we entered the room it was extremely cold, we later realised that the electric radiator (which took several minutes to worK out how to use it) only worked with the lights etc from the room card key. I don't think anyone had stayed in that room for weeks! It was a very small room, ok for a 1 night stay but not for several nights as it only had 6 coat hangers, and no drawers for smaller clothing. Sunday evening was good value as only £39 but £69 for each of the other nights was too high.
The only food available was downstairs in Weatherspoons (which we knew when we booked it) but not the best branch we have been in, the food was not very exciting, the chips overdone and presentation on dark blue plates made it look worse. White plates would really improve the presentation.

Reviewed by
J George

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, great location!
My wife and I came to Shrewsbury for some last minute Christmas shopping. Due to the price we paid for the room, we weren't expecting much. But we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in a family room at the front of the hotel, the room was very spacious and the bed was huge!
The staff in the hotel and in the bar were welcoming and friendly, and the location is perfect for shopping and walking through the quarry. We can't wait to visit again soon!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts it's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you managed to squeeze in some shopping too. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next