Reviews - The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


Mardol, Shrewsbury, SY1 1PU

Price From 81.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (158)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Pauline C

  • November 2015

Excellent value for money

Good room, and everything we needed, although a tad in the small side, although this did not bother us, and will stay again if passing through.

Good bed, but standard double, with good pillows. Plenty of tea, coffee, and biscuits, and also water. Bath and overhead shower. Difficult for us to find the hotel in the dark, as our sat nav had packed up, and when we did see it, it was very difficult for us to find how to access the car park.

  • Juliette W

  • November 2015

A 50th Birthday Stay

Nice room, toilet seat wonky, clean.

Charged for a bottle of fizz that was in the room we thought was complementary.

  • lisa v

  • October 2015

Perfect location

we had room 208 very nicely decorated and clean was nosiey at night but when we closed the windows our room was very warm, I should also mention the stairs all 37 of them maybe you could mention this to customers.

  • Rebecca E

  • October 2015

Sunday night stay

We stayed here on a Sunday for the really cheap price of £39.

On first impression room was fine, it had modern decor & was a good size, however if you looked beyond this it had not been cleaned very well, there was hairs on the bathroom floor. We were in room 101 & the view was of huge pipes & the generator so there was a constant humming. It also made the room very hot, the bed was also very soft so did not get a good night's sleep. The room was very cheap so you get what you pay for but would pay more to stay at a different hotel if we return to Shrewsbury in the future.

  • S Carey

  • October 2015

Lovely hotel

Lovely hotel.

My room was very stylish. Clean with lots of tea and coffee ... ideal for a Base to see Shrewsbury.

  • Lutz H

  • September 2015

Very relaxed stay

Shrewsbury Hotel is an historical building, very cosy and nice rooms.

All needs fullfilled, the bar staff even the reception is very friendly and helpful. Very reasonable prices at the bar for all drinks incl. Mixers and for breakfest. If I come there again it will be my 1st choice to find accomodation. Thanks to all in this nice house!

  • C Owen

  • August 2015

Shrewsbury break


  • s parker

  • August 2015


We stayed here after travelling 100miles to see Chesney Hawkes play.

What a perfect choice. It was very clean and welcoming. Will visit again next time I'm in Shrewsbury.

  • J Wilding

  • July 2015

Shrewsbury Hotel

An excellent value for money stay with extremely nice staff, clean room with tea/coffee etc would recommend

  • Jill H

  • July 2015

Great base to stay

We were looking for base to attend a family event.

We arrived late in the evening and received a warm welcome by reception. The room was small but very well designed to meet all our needs. The bathroom had a bath was well as a shower which was a very welcome bonus. Room was spotless. Plenty of towels and pillows provided. No need to request more. Met all our needs. Did not expect exceptional quality food but had a lovely jacket potato with a fresh tasty green salad. Sounds basic but so difficult to get it right - and they did.