Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Shropshire > Shrewsbury Hotels > The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Mardol , Shrewsbury, SY1 1PU
The evolution of Shrewsbury has seen the town, first mentioned in a charter dating back to the year 901, develop into a stunning historic and artistic centre, with over 660 listed buildings and dozens of museums and galleries. This historical survival of the fittest would have made Charles Darwin, Shrewsbury's most famous son, proud. He attended school here and gained who knows how much early inspiration, playing by the clear sparkling waters of the River Severn which flows lazily through the town. There is a strong, association with the heavier side of science too. The birthplace of the Industrial Revolution, just outside Shrewsbury, was sparked by John wilkinson's cast iron bridge, now celebrated with UNESCO World Heritage status and plenty of award winning museums and with the magnificent Severn Valley Railway, The Roman city of Wroxeter, Offa's Dyke and a nuclear bunker all open to visitors, Shrewsbury is truly a place with something for everybody. "PLEASE NOTE THAT ACCOMMODATION IS TOTALLY NON SMOKING".
Picture of The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 215 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel right in middle of town
Was a lovely weekend away, room was lovely, spacious and clean with a superking bed.
We was not happy about the checking in with the lady on reception as she was very rude regarding the
Checking in process as we had pre-paid through late rooms but she kept insisting that they do not take payment on behalf of us which we insisted the room was paid for as it had been added to my bank statement, but we had to pay again as she did not believe us
When we got to the hotel room we tried to sort the mess out about the booking side of things & went back down to reception where the lady called laterooms & the matter was then sorted after she had been on the phone with them for 10mins! we got a re-fund back what we had just paid, but the lady did not apoligise or say anything regarding the matter to admit she was wrong! This was the last thing we wanted when it had taken 2 1/2 hrs of travelling. We liked the hotel but will not be staying again due the rudeness of the lady when we checked in as we did not need it!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time the send us your thoughts, it was myself whom you checked in with. As I explained on the day I had not come across this method of booking from Laterooms before and after I had had it explained by LateRooms to myself, I then understood that they would be paying for the room. When your Husband came down to have his card refunded I did apologise for the confusion because I spoke to him and said that I had sorted all the payment with them. I can only apologise once again for the confusion. Hope this doesn't deter you from using us again. I will be contacting you in person. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
A Rigley

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Loved it

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts we are happy you loved it. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
h boycott

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Well positioned, just a few yards from the town centre. Easy to find. Car park not that large and difficult to access if, say, a beer delivery is being made. Tremendous range of beers.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. I have let the Bar Team know that you appreciated their beer selection. Hope the car park didn't put you off too much see you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Glyn Carvell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed with our short break
The hotel was ideal for our annual Christmas get together. The rooms were comfortable, warm & clean. Hotel very handy for the shops, restaurants & Theatresevern. We would use the hotel again & recommend it to others.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. We are glad you had a good time and look forward to your next visit. I will pass on your comments to the team Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Alison G

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A must stay
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, it's in an ideal place for central shopping and other local pubs and restaurants .Staff are friendly and the food good value for money .. Cant fault it

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. It's great to from guests who have returned to us. We glad you had a good time again see you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Tracey C

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No negative feedback - room was modern, clean within comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again.
Very satisfied customers. Receptionist was very helpful. Shrewsbury is one of our favourite places so we will definitely stay at The Shrewsbury Hotel again. I will recommend it to my friends. Room was well presented.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts they were great I have passed them on to the whole of the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Gail.

Reviewed by
Sue H

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
D Griffiths

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shrewsbury Hotel - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Concerned when booking about potential noises from bar, especially running up to Xmas. However no worries the room was separated from the Bar and remarkable noise free.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts we love it when our guests are surprized. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Regards, Gail.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas shopping
The hotel is great as usual good service but the room was very small compared to what I have had in the past at this hotel, it would of been better as a single room saying that it was of good standard.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to send us your views. We are sorry you had one of our smaller rooms but we hope this doesn't deter you from staying again. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
ian jones

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night at the Shrewsbury Hotel
Could not fault this hotel - room was spotless and good size with excellent views of the river. Good location for our purposes and very convenient on-site parking. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your views. We are glad you had a good time and hope to welcome you again soon. Regards, Gail

Reviewed by
Russell C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next