Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Shropshire > Ellesmere Hotels > Red Lion Coaching Inn ellesmere shropshire
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Coaching Inn ellesmere shropshire

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
18 Church Street, Ellesmere, SY12 0HD
16th century award winning coaching inn a 30 second walk from Shropshires jewel Ellesmere lake with plenty of wildlife and walks for you to enjoy. A 2 minute walk into the market town of Ellesmere and the Shropshire union canal.

Meals available all day every day noon-9pm. A mixture of standard,en-suite and deluxe rooms available,all rooms with tea/coffee making facilities and freeview tv/video and free use of our video library. We also have free high quality wi-fi available in all rooms and we are proud to have achieved a 5* food hygiene rating.
Picture of Red Lion Coaching Inn ellesmere shropshire, Ellesmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing experience
pub run well by landlord very good evening meal.however b&b side seems to take 2nd place,worst nights sleep i've had in years bed uncomfortable,brown (who still uses brown)polyester unironed bedding,lumpy old pillows.Woolen blanket on bed instead of nice throw.No water / biscuits/tissues in room. Breakfast room scruffy.tables not too clean.i had to sort through several dishes and glasses before finding a reasonably clean one. Everything we touched had a greasy feel,teapot was greasy /sticky.Waitress unhelpful did not clear used dishes despite my husband holding his out to her,had to put on the not too clean windowsill.Same waitress (not the young one the older one with bobbed hair)was very rude to my husband as we were taking cases out to the car barking at him "had we paid" .(We had).We has stayed in several b&b's in the previous week all about the same price but this was by far the worse.Maybe they should stick to the pub/meals side if they are not prepared to put the effort into the b&b side,these days the least people expect is crisp white cotton bedding,bottles of water,small packs of biscuits and tissues,and due to the hot weather all other places had provided a fan.There was dust on ledges in the bedroom and bathroom. Not a pleasant stay and would not return.

Reviewed by
E Dudley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent centre for beautiful area. Ideal for a break with dogs. Patio straight outside. Very comfortable and all we needed. Some might say the hotel is a bit passed its best in some of the decor, and sauna not working well in spa but for what we paid it was excellent. Hotel makes the profit on expensive breakfast but we never ate this - good brunch spots in area! Plenty of space and very relaxing. We did eat in one evening - food really good but service very slow. Would certainly go back.

Reviewed by
Rosemary W

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
A brilliant stay, we had Oaklands (room) ensuite and amazing bed. Staff all so friendly and helpful and the food was amazing.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb service
Great host who despite being fantastically busy in the restaurant on the night we arrived found time to supply us with local newspapers and on the last morning (his day off) sent his deputy a text to ask how we had got on during our stay.

Reviewed by
R Harris

From Steyning, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pub with rooms
This is quite simply a pub with rooms but that does not detract from the warm welcome we received, the quality and portion size of the pub grub we had for our evening meal and the superb full english breakfast that was part of the deal.

Reviewed by
Hilary Richards

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Coaching House
ok for one night Room horrible, but the staff friendly and breakfast was good

Reviewed by
susan irvine

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
Room was good value for money and the food offered at the Bar/Restaurant was incredible. Shared Shower wasn't that large but done the job and it was easy enough to park and locate when I arrived. Wifi wasn't working that great though however should be resolved by the time ive left this review.

Reviewed by
S Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a friendly atmosphere
Our room was a bit dated but we had everything we needed including an electric bed! Mine host couldn't have been more welcoming and the fact that lots of his staff appear to have been there for several years must mean he is a good employer too; the pub was the fullest I have ever seen and that's because of the amazing food-freshly cooked, fantastic quality,cheap and ENORMOUS portions! Plus Mike the landlord bought us a drink-that's a first for us.

Reviewed by
S Maddison

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
exceptional service, fantastic people, beautiful place to stay, food delicious, would recommend this to everyone for 2nd to none service made to feel at home nothing to much trouble. anyone staying here just remember to book your table for evening meal as very popular

Reviewed by
Tammy W

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good pub, with a friendly atmosphere and good beer. parking facilities were very limited but over all good for the money

Reviewed by
d linforth

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next