Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Shropshire > Ellesmere Hotels > Red Lion Coaching Inn ellesmere shropshire
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Coaching Inn ellesmere shropshire

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
18 Church Street, Ellesmere, SY12 0HD
16th century award winning coaching inn a 30 second walk from Shropshires jewel Ellesmere lake with plenty of wildlife and walks for you to enjoy. A 2 minute walk into the market town of Ellesmere and the Shropshire union canal.

Meals available all day every day noon-9pm. A mixture of standard,en-suite and deluxe rooms available,all rooms with tea/coffee making facilities and freeview tv/video and free use of our video library. We also have free high quality wi-fi available in all rooms and we are proud to have achieved a 5* food hygiene rating.
Picture of Red Lion Coaching Inn ellesmere shropshire, Ellesmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double glazing and a a little tlc in the accommodation area is needed.
Need to speak to church warden ( adjacent to inn ) to turn the bells off at 10pm - they ring on the hot every hour ....leading to a disturbed sleep for visitors unfamiliar with local sounds

Reviewed by
Michael N

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'basic' really does mean basic, but other rooms are available
I opted for a 'basic' room, and anyone else considering doing so should be aware that they are pretty basic: i.e' tired and worn, and not just lacking a private bathroom. Whilst I was there, I did peep into some other rooms, and they seemed much more commodious. So it's a question of paying your money and taking your choice.
Whichever room you choose, breakfast is excellent and very generous. The pub downstairs is a good one with quality beers and food at reasonable prices. Noise from the pub is NOT an issue here.

Reviewed by
Christopher Roberts

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed stay breakfast food very good didnt like plastic cereal bowls.Room comfortable nice big bed liked the ease to get from car to room . popular pub glad i booked in for meal as a lot were turned away.

Reviewed by
j kelly

From Southport, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay and breakfast included, all for £30 - brilliant
Booked a basic room, think they were full and got upgraded to the suite instead.
Nice inn, good beer

Reviewed by
J Lowe

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab stay
Absolutely fab from the minute we walked into the Redlion the landlord took lady's bag and carried to our room. Room clean bathroom very spacious . Stayed for dinner food 5star . breakfast included in price juice cereal and a cooked breakfast 2nd night stayed for dinner again fish pie yum . Over all a really nice 2 night get a way.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a delightfull location
a wonderful welcome from the staff and the quality and value of the food and accommodation was excellent. many thanks to mike for his welcome. tony

Reviewed by
anthony king

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Coaching Inn Visit

Reviewed by
David S

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts, good value for money
They were so helpful and friendly it really made the weekend there for me. Excellent value for money real pub food and very popular with the locals, properly kept beers and a nice atmosphere. The room was basic but fairly priced - cheap for the area - and breakfast huge. A 5-star food hygiene rating too..

Reviewed by
Alan T

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money with olde world charm and helpful, friendly staff.
The Red Lion is a very pleasant coaching inn in the picturesque village of Ellesmere, situated very close to a most beautiful peaceful lakeside.
The staff were welcoming, very friendly polite and helpful.
The room we had although a liitle tired and dated in its decor, was full of the rustic character of a building of this age with its uneven floor and walls. It was clean, warm and comfortable enough, with plenty of towels, tea/coffee etc in the room, a small tv/video combi, and the free wi-fi is a bonus.
Although there was no en-suite, the room did have a wash basin, and the bathrooms and shower rooms were very close by, and they too were very clean.
The bar area has a charm of its own and is tastefully decorated with several quirky sayings on the wall, some of which made us giggle. Scanning the menu, a great choice of food was available at very reasonable prices.
It isn't hard to see why they have a 5* rating for food - a full english breakfast included in the price was plentiful, perfectly cooked and delicious.
For the budget price of £40 per night for a double room, the Red Lion Coaching Inn is excellent value for money.
My only reservation would be to advise guests to close the windows at night as a lot of traffic passes which disturbed our sleep somewhat - again due to the age of the building there is no double glazing - (To be honest, city/town dwellers probably wouldn't notice this quite as much as we did, living very rurally, with virtually no traffic noise, we are somewhat spoilt by the quietness we're used to!) - other than that we had a very pleasant stay, and I would recommend the Red Lion Coaching Inn to anyone who has ocassion to visit the area.

Reviewed by
Pauline H

From Newcastle Emlyn, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, great people, great food.
Good atmosphere, friendly staff and landlord. Food is great value and very satisfyingly filling. Rooms are spacious clean and what you need for a good nights sleep. I would recommend this inn and cannot wait to return.

Reviewed by
Linda Jones

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next