Reviews - The Cliffeside Hotel


32 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AQ

Price From 107.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (35)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Fiona c

  • August 2015

The Cliffeside Hotel

room was advertised as standard double.

it was actually 2 beds pushed together. The room was also dark and smelt terrible. I complained and they said to start with it was a zip bed and could be either a twin or double room. I explained that a double to me meant a single bed that was double in size without a ridge down the middle caused by pushing 2 beds together. They finally agreed to change the room to one with an actual double bed and it was actually a much nicer room that didn't smell and was nicely decorated. If I had gone straight to this room I would say it was value for money but based on the first room and the price they charged, it was not good value. I wouldn't stay here again. I had spent the night before in a much nicer independent hotel which cost a similar amount and had superb breakfast included in the price and a room with sea views which was also in Dorset but not Bournemouth. You honestly could not compare the two.

  • R O'neill

  • July 2015

Not for my liking!

Hotel was old and in of updates, plus they took to long dealing with requests!

  • Remo D

  • May 2015

Not bad for a 3* hotel

The floors were creaking a bit.

The walls and floors were not very much insulated. The television socket aerial was damaged and the water taps in the bedroom were the wrong away around.Everything else was fine. Not a totally bad experience after all.

  • B Dawson

  • April 2015

Overnight stay

Excellent stay.

The room was very clean but just needed a little TLC with some paint but otherwise a lovely bright airy room. Staff we're impeccable and very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again

  • ALAN H

  • April 2015



  • Richard B

  • January 2015

post Christmas stay

A friendly hotel - able to check in early which was a bonus - able to leave bags on last morning.

In general a good stay - floor boards creak but that is to be expected for older hotel.

  • Don Carter

  • December 2014

Great break

First thought was how good could it be for the bargain price booking though, answer EXCELLENT.

Super service great views across Solent, excellent food. Only complaint would be the heating which had the power or a Swedish sauna.

Great break would do again.

  • M Ryan

  • November 2014

I went with my daughter for a weekend break my first time at the cliff side hotel in Bournemouth it was an excellent location .

my only two gripes was the room was quite hot , I couldn't open a window . and at breakfast the staff hovered nearby so I felt rushed

  • Dawn M

  • November 2014


Everything was lovely, staff, hotel and excellent breakfast.

The only problem was our room was above the function room so we were kept awake until gone 1 am.

  • Mark L

  • October 2014

A pleasant stay in Bournemouth

A very good hotel, offering excellent value for money.

The staff are very good and I really can't find anything bad to say about the experience.