Reviews - The Cliffeside Hotel


32 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AQ

Price From 81.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (32)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • s Slade

  • June 2014

Don't stay in a back-room

I'm easy-going but early morning deliveries, really loud and random 'air-conditioning' noises and other loud noises ( many bottles being dumped into a metal container?) before 8 a.m are irksome.

I would ask for a room that doesn't back onto the rear car-park if you value your sleep. Otherwise, the room was fine, the staff helpful and the food reasonable. I'm not one who cares about the decor but for the review's sake it is fair to say it is a wee bit dated and faded/worn because some people are affected by this. The location is perfect. I would stay again and that is the bottom line.

  • martyn jackson

  • June 2014

Exceeded expectations

So I booked this hotel for one night as a last minute thing on the day.

Only paid £38 for the room so didnt expect much but when we got there and seen the location and the pool outside we put on a big smile. Once checked in we found out about the free use of the indoor heated pool which we obviously tried out and enjoyed and that breakfast was included aswell which was also very nice. Only a short walk from the beach, pier and town centre it was ideal and definately worth the money.

  • N Boorer

  • May 2014

Hotel very dated in need of refurb.

We booked Superior Rooms, if they were superior I would hate to see the Standard Rooms.

  • A Cann

  • May 2014

One night at the Cliffside hotel

Pleasent staff, Good clean hotel room was a bit on the small side, but was only me so fine really, decor was a little dated.

The room I had got very warm at night , even with radiators off,so had to have both windows open. As in most cases in hotels,coffee/tea making facilities were a bit lacking when it came to amount of milk containers and choice of drink. The early morning was disturbed a bit by outside noise of a truck starting and recycling collection of bottles, but I did have the windows open after all. The best bit was the very nice cooked buffet breakfast, so the room and the breakfast was a very good deal indeed for one night.


  • May 2014


The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Thank you. Unfortunately, the weather changed from warm, dry and sunny; to very wet/rainy cold and gail-force

winds, and there was a terrific draft throught the windows in our room; (I stayed with a family member), leaving us cold. It would have been lovely to have the radiators turned on for this period. Otherwise, a lovely stay. Loved the view from my room!

  • marion f

  • May 2014

sea view???

We were disappointed with the view from a single window having paid extra for the sea view.

The room was quite cramped and needed updating. Also no biscuits with tea/coffee and no tissues in room.

  • Sarah G

  • April 2014

Amazing value, just loved this hotel.

  • C Jones

  • April 2014

Relaxing short stay at The Cliffeside Hotel

We have recently returned from a lovely overnight stay at the Cliffeside Hotel.

Our room was very comfortable and, as requested had a lovely view from a side window over Poole Bay to the Isle of Wight. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We had previously enjoyed a lovely stay at the sister hotel, The Cumberland and so, as before, ate in the Ventura Restaurant, where once again we enjoyed a delicious evening meal. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Alicia h

  • March 2014


The hotel was very welcoming, the staff were impeccable.

I have stayed in many hotels booking last minute deals and I can honestly say this is the best hotel on a budget that I have ever stayed in. Well done the Cliff side and

  • Sharon E

  • February 2014

Nice Hotel

The hotel was very comfortable with a good size room and en suite bathroom.

It was clean and tidy. The customer service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast catered for everyone from full English to continental. Waiter/waitress service was excellent and the room had nice view.