No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cliffeside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
32 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AQ
Located directly on the ocean front overlooking Bournemouth Bay, The Cliffeside is a more intimate hotel with a unique warmth, ideally positioned overlooking miles of sweeping coastline and golden beaches on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff. Many of the modern rooms offer panoramic views of the ocean as does the harbour bar terrace. Superb global food is served in the contemporary restaurant, we pride ourselves that while we offer exceptionally high standards of service and cuisine we are still able to maintain a cozy atmosphere.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Cliffeside Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice view from room although room smaller than expected of a double room. Towel rail dangerously hot. Carpets outdated and in need of some attention. New ones would be nice. On our last morning, cold water stopped running while I was having a shower, health hazard!!! Nearly got scolded by the very hot water when the cold water suddenly stopped!! That also made it extremely difficult to be hygienic as the toilet would not flush and one could not wash their hands post toilet use. Excellent customer service at the reception desk; not so good with the catering staff! Overall, excellent location, would stay again but not at full price!

Reviewed by
I Hahn

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very old and squizing

Reviewed by
Vv V

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room too small
the room i got put in was a box room at the side of the hotel when i booked a sea veiw, my first thought was the bed a small 4ft 6, I've not long had a spine operation and there would be no way 2 adults would be comfortable in this bed and room was so small, the reception lady on the desk was really nice and helpfull and ask to look at another room which i did but once again to small. So they phone the sister hotel next door and the rooms and bed were much bigger and we had a nice stay in the next door hotel.

Reviewed by
stuart knights

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful surprise
We have stayed in a number of hotels in Bournemouth, but this was my favourite. The weather helped, of course, but so did the staff who couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. A few problems, such as limited no. of sunbeds with two broken and some repair work needed around the pool. We did burn ourselves on the towel rail and reported it, but it wasn't attended to. Otherwise, a lovely experience and will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Roger Barber

From Horsham, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service was extremely good. Location excellent. Food very good value for money. Overall a very good experience and would stay again

Reviewed by
j farahnak

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

being able to use the facilities of all 3 oceana hotels was fantastic.
the reception staff were witty, the restaurant staff were attentive and jovial, and very welcoming

Reviewed by
ellen b

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very shabby room, cobwebs and not properly vacuumed, smelt stale. Very dissappointing for a chain ho
Ordered breakfast 2 veggie sausages and poached eggs.
They forgot to pass order to kitchen, when they realised I was informed it will be a few minutes. When it finally arrived some 15 minutes late without eggs. Veggie sausages were potato croquets!!! Ended up eating another crossant as the toaster was burning all toasts.
Self service buffet, food looked dry as if standing for a long time.

Reviewed by
K Mistry

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first ever review.
quiet and hospitable very frendly staff.could do with a bit of refurbishing , but i believe that is on the cards .. otherwise very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
d christie

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room had a double bed in it but there was not very much for two people to walk round. Bathroom could do with an update not enough shelving for toiletries etc. window hard to open.
Room looked a little tired.

Reviewed by
Denise N

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wish I would of stayed longer..great place, great staff amazing town. will come back again

Reviewed by
steven dee

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next